Monitor Audio Bronze 1 Floorstanding Speakers

Bronze 1

The Bronze 1 is a compact bookshelf or stand mount speaker using a 5.5" MMP woofer and 1" Gold dome tweeter.

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Jarvis   AudioPhile [Sep 21, 2016]

The BR1 has to be the very best in this small size. Superb sound definition and projection, deep fast and clear bass, perfect middles, and highs to fight for. These speakers are so capable, that will do a very good job even in very expensive setups without sounding like a poor relative. Highly recommended!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
LI150   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2009]

This review is for the new BR1's with the rear port and single pair of binding posts.

I needed a small set of speakers for my kids room and my dealer sold me his, brand new, personal set on a whim for somewhere around half price.
Before installing them in the kids room I put these in place of my Wharfedale Diamond 9.1s which are very highly reviewed. I personally could find no reviews on the BR1's so here is my review.

In the end I found the BR1's to be a much better speaker than the 9.1's, the clarity and speed of the BR1's is much more to my liking. The tweeter technology that Monitor Audio is using in these little units is light years ahead of most other products in this price range. The speakers let through/reproduce tonnes of detail and nuance. I can tell the difference between cabling very easily with these as well as the reverb settings Moby is using on different tracks on his Hotel album.

They do take the prescribed 100 hours for break-in. At first the tweeter can be very piercing but once things settle down they have a very 'live' sound. Not the warm cozy British type sound of the Wharefedales.

The front to back imaging is where these affordable speakers cannot keep up with say a $1000.00+ pair of speakers. However the price I paid and what they can do, and do right, for the money is simply stunning.

I will say that these are not the speaker for everyone. I am driving them with a $2k amp so dropping them in a system with a less than ideal amplifier match could very easily sound harsh.

In the end I let the Diamond 9.1's go. (Kids room still needs some speakers.)

Highly recommend a listen. Make sure your dealers lets you take them for a home audition.

USED WITH:
Squeezbox 3
Beresford DAC (V6)
Sim Audio Moon i-3 Amp.
Atlas Questor Inter-Connect
Supra Ply 3.4 Speaker Cable

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
oriww   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2004]
Strength:

detail,real hifi sound,best highs,good bass,wall mount option.

Weakness:

rear port blocks open sound when near wall, need volume to start sound good.

i got the b1 for my bedroom , they have a real good sound compare to their size. detail and bass are very good especially for small rooms. i mounted them on the wall but because of the rear port they sound much better on shelf or stand. they have a little bit lack of openness , but this is because their small size. any way if small size is a factor, these are the best. i use it with creek amplifier.

Similar Products Used: mini system
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jsrtheta   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 17, 2002]
Strength:

Detail, liveliness, bottom end.

Weakness:

None. I mean it.

These have got to be the best speaker deal going. I use Monitor Audio Silver 8is in my main system, and needed something for the bedroom. The Mordant-Short MS202s that I was using really didn't cut it. Traded them in for these babies, and I can't believe my ears. They are rated down to 55hz, but sound like they go deeper. They have the detail of my floorstanders. They are loud, crisp, rich and detailed. In fact, they're like having my floorstanders in my bedroom. These are, without doubt, the best small monitors I have ever heard for the money. Peerless.

Similar Products Used: Mordant Short MS202s, Whatmough P-10s, Boston Acoustic, Paradigm Mini-Monitors, Paradigm Mini Mk. IIIs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Roberto Digby   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 11, 2002]
Strength:

Awesome speakers for size and price

Weakness:

My equipment

Purchased based on reviews. Listened at dealer with audiophile equipment, audiophile interconnects and cables, and situated perfectly in room. These speakers were AWESOME for the size and price. Bought them immediately. Hooked up to my unit, Aiwa receiver, JVC DVD, next to TV for front speakers for home thater and stereo. Sound only 75% as good. I am doing these speakers an injustice, but at this price who cares.

Similar Products Used: never used bookshelf speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
open_book_test   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2002]
Strength:

Price, highs, bass, construction

Weakness:

None really, the drivers look an awful lot like the PSB drivers in the Sony store

I bought these speakers after reading the fantastic reviews they received and was not let down. Although I have replaced them with Bronze 3's for mains, they were excellent for almost any music.

Similar Products Used: Bronze Centre, Bronze 3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bcboyer   Audio Enthusiast [May 13, 2002]
Strength:

Full rich detailed sound. Cabinet design is top notch. Highs and Mids are very laid back, yet very detailed and they aren''t even broken in yet.

Weakness:

The ports blow a lot of air at high volume, but who really cares.

I bought the entire Bronze 1 line as my HT setup, including the ASW100 sub. They are about as big as I could go for wall mounting. These speakers sound great for HT, and the sondstage and imaging are fantastic for the money. I auditioned quite a lot of speakers, and the MA''s just seemed to shine above all the others, especially for the price. I would highly reccomend them to anyone.

Similar Products Used: Listened to: B&W 301/302, PSB Alpha, Energy Take 5.2, Warfdale Diamond 8.2, NHT Super Zero, M&K K7, Paradigm Atom, and Phase Technology Teatro.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pete   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 07, 2002]
Strength:

Sounded The Best To Me, Quality Build, Easy To Place, Small Size, Great Value.

Weakness:

Take 60 Hours To Break In, But worth the wait.

I¹m using the Bronze 1 speakers as fronts and rears of my system. My center channel is Monitor¹s Baby Center, which is from the same "family" of speakers. It blends perfectly. If space had allowed, I would have purchased the Bronze Center, but the Baby does a fine job. A Definitive Technology Pro Sub 100TL provides a solid bottom end for both music and movies. I drive my system with a Denon 2801 AVR. The Bronze 1 speakers are my solution for a "better" sub/sat system. Throughout my research, I¹ve listened to all the sub/sat systems available. At the end of the day, I wasn¹t happy with any of them. The best was Monitor¹s Baby Boomer System. However, with the Bronze 1¹s, I get the same sound, but with increased dynamics. They are front ported, which is an important design element for my application. I¹ve mounted the fronts and rears to a 10-foot ceiling, in each corner of a mid-sized room.(I hired a professional installer to ensure they were hung safely) The Bronze 1¹s are small enough, and light enough, to get away with this. The Omni-Mount brackets afford flexibility to pan and tilt the speakers. I searched many months for speakers that gave me the most pleasing sound. There¹s something about the Bronze series that my ears really love. It¹s a very clear and clean sound. Details stand out, even at low to medium volume. At $300 a pair, they are packed full of value. I¹m surprised more people don¹t know about these fine speakers. I listen to CD¹s and DVD concerts about 50% of the time, TV 25% and watch movies 25%. These speakers do a solid job with all formats. If you are interested in learning more, there is an informative article on Monitor Audio¹s web site. It features a comparison of the Bronze 1 to similar speakers. Hope this helps. Enjoy!

Similar Products Used: Researched all popular Sub/Sat Systems, along with B&W 300 Series and Paradigm Atoms.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pete   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2002]
Strength:

Clean Sound, Quality Build, Easy To Place, Great Value.

Weakness:

Take 60 hours to break in, but well worth the wait.

I¹m using the Bronze 1 speakers as fronts and rears of my system. My center channel is Monitor¹s Baby Center, which is from the same "family" of speakers. It blends perfectly. If space had allowed, I would have purchased the Bronze Center, but the Baby does a fine job. A Definitive Technology Pro Sub 100TL provides a solid bottom end for both music and movies. I drive my system with a Denon 2801 AVR. The Bronze 1 speakers are my solution for a "better" sub/sat system. Throughout my research, I¹ve listened to all the sub/sat systems available. At the end of the day, I wasn¹t happy with any of them. The best was Monitor¹s Baby Boomer System. However, with the Bronze 1¹s, I get the same sound, but with increased dynamics. They are front ported, which is an important design element for my application. I¹ve mounted the fronts and rears to a10-foot ceiling, in each corner of a mid-sized room. The Bronze 1¹s are small enough, and light enough, to get away with this. The Omni-Mount brackets afford flexibility to pan and tilt the speakers. I searched many months for speakers that gave me the most pleasing sound. There¹s something about the Bronze series that my ears really love. It¹s a very clear and clean sound. Details stand out, even at low to medium volume. At $300 a pair, they are packed full of value. I¹m surprised more people don¹t know about these fine speakers. I listen to CD¹s and DVD concerts about 50% of the time, TV 25% and watch movies 25%. These speakers do a solid job with all formats. If you are interested in learning more, there is an informative article on Monitor Audio¹s web site. It features a comparison of the Bronze 1 to similar speakers. Hope this helps. Enjoy!

Similar Products Used: Researched and tested all popular sub/sat systems.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pete   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2002]
Strength:

Clean Sound, Quality Build, Easy To Place, Great Value.

Weakness:

Although these speakers sound good right out of the box, the full break in period takes 60-90 hours. It''s well worth the wait because the sound only improves with time.

I¹m using the Bronze 1 speakers as fronts and rears of my system. My center channel is Monitor¹s Baby Center, which is from the same "family" of speakers. It blends perfectly. If space had allowed, I would have purchased the Bronze Center, but the Baby does a fine job. A Definitive Technology Pro Sub 100TL provides a solid bottom end for both music and movies. I drive my system with a Denon 2801 AVR. The Bronze 1 speakers are my solution for a "better" sub/sat system. Throughout my research, I¹ve listened to all the sub/sat systems available. At the end of the day, I wasn¹t happy with any of them. The best was Monitor¹s Baby Boomer System. However, with the Bronze 1¹s, I get the same sound, but with increased dynamics. They are front ported, which is an important design element for my application. I¹ve mounted the fronts and rears to a10-foot ceiling, in each corner of a mid-sized room. The Bronze 1¹s are small enough, and light enough, to get away with this. The Omni-Mount brackets afford flexibility to pan and tilt the speakers. I searched many months for speakers that gave me the most pleasing sound. There¹s something about the Bronze series that my ears really love. It¹s a very clear and clean sound. Details stand out, even at low to medium volume. At $300 a pair, they are packed full of value. I¹m surprised more people don¹t know about these fine speakers. I listen to CD¹s and DVD concerts about 50% of the time, TV 25% and watch movies 25%. These speakers do a solid job with all formats. If you are interested in learning more, there is an informative article on Monitor Audio¹s web site. It features a comparison of the Bronze 1 to similar speakers. Hope this helps. Enjoy!

Similar Products Used: Researched and tested most popular sub/sat systems.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com