Mission MSM73 Floorstanding Speakers

Mission MSM73 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Mission Floor Standing Monitor Speakers - MSM73BK/ Inverted Drive Geometry/ 2-Way/ Micro Fiber Dome Tweeter/ 48 Hz - 20 kHz/ 90 dB/ 8 Ohms/ Magnetically Shielded/ Anthracite Black/ Priced Per Pair

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Jul 09, 2003]
bentran
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

*Great build quality (just lift them up and you will see they weigh more than other speakers in their class) *High tech. fibre glass mid driver not the ordinary paper type *Bi wireable *Attractive case *Great sound *magnetically shileded, can place next to TV without problems

Weakness:

*Rear port needs to be at least 20cm from a rear wall or base may sound distorted *Only one mid/base driver so mids and bass will be limited when compared to other speakers (usually more expensive) with an extra mid/bass driver. All in all these weakness are only small and should not affect your decsions to own a pair of M73i

I purchased the M73i for $520Aus (the "i" is for improved the M73i model superseeds the M73)at the local hifi shop during one of their sales. On reflection it was an impulse buy, since I did not do any research on speakers before parting with my cash. They sounded pretty ordinary until I upgraded my amp from a sony to a NAD 741. The amp made the speakes come alive. The sound imaging was fantastic, my wife commented that the music was coming from the centre and not from the speakers and you do get the impression that the music is coming from many different directions and sources and not just from the speakers. The speakers have very high definition in the high frequencies, voice and singing are crystal clear. If you can afford a bit more then I recommend you go for the M73i bigger brother the M74. The M74 has an extra mid driver and will provide more bass and mid range than the M73. I was really impressed with the M74 but did not have the extra cash so I settled for the M73i (Don't get me wrong the M73i are great in their price range and class). One more thing make sure you have a good amp and and adequate CD/DVD player before buying the M73i or any other speakers. A great speaker with an ordinary amp will sound ordinary.

Similar Products Used:

Tannoy mx3, Jamo470, Jamo650

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 07, 2003]
Jason
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

All-around clean, neutral sound. Highs and mids are just right and they can all the bass you throw at them on their own (for music).

Weakness:

This is a tough one... It'd be nice if they came with rubber feet for hardwood floors.

These speakers are incredible. You simply cannot beat them with anything else in the price range. In fact, they sound better than some more expensive speakers. I've had to do very little to maximize their sound... just a little toe-in and taking the grilles off. I'm more into using them for music but they've impressed me on movies as well. Oh, and don't spend the extra $ on the m74s... no need to, believe me.

Similar Products Used:

A pair of old-school Advents that were decent but can't even touch my m73s.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 07, 2002]
Adam Williams
AudioPhile

Strength:

Value for money. Look good in 'beech'. Sound quality. Good start for a HT set-up.

Weakness:

Can overwhelm small rooms. Covers interfer with sound.

Get it right with these speakers and you will be richly rewarded with the characteristic 'Mission sound'. Detailed treble, ample bass and expressive mid-range. These speakers really are excellent value for money. Getting it right involves; mass loading; spiking or finding good rubber feet to lift the speakers off the floor, finding the right position in the room so that the bass is controlled w/o using the bungs, toe-ing in a little, taking the covers off for serious listening, and using reasonably good quality electronics that a free from 'spit' (I recommend blowing the money you save on these speakers on an Arcam CD72T).

Similar Products Used:

Mission M74 KEF Q3 Sony something or others

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2002]
bromley80
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity, detail, looks, thunderous bass

Weakness:

The neighbours

I bought these to replace my ageing Wharfedale Diamonds. They sound absolutely phenominal over the whole frequency range. They will play very hard with little distortion, but it is at low volumes that they impress the most - the amount of detail is unbelievable for the price. They are quite sensitive so even with my 35 Watt Denon amp they shake the windows out of their frames. I've seen them on line for £136 - buy them!

Similar Products Used:

TDL Nucleus 4, Wharfedale Diamond 6 & 7.1, Mission 702e, Rogers LS7

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 21, 2002]
John
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Quality, smooth sound, excellent bass, great sound for price.

Weakness:

None at this price range.

I found these speakers on Ebay for a great price. While they are relatively inexpensive, the quality and looks is outstanding for the price range. I was lucky to find them in Beech color (not sold in the US). As far as sound is concerned, they are a great match for my Marantz CD player producing a smooth, sweet sound, not harsh or bright. The bass is excellent, in fact, it could be too much for some people but you can always plug them with supplied foam bungs or mass load them to suit your taste. They seem to take quite loud volumes with minimal distortion. For those of you who care about these things, Consumer Reports rated it best mid-level speakers and these have also won several awards in Europe. I highly recommend these for anyone''s entry/mid-level home theater setup.

Similar Products Used:

Pinnacle PN8+ speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 21, 2002]
PeterB666
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Extended range, crisp, full sound. Magnetically sheilded makes placement near TV or magnetic tape not a problem.

Weakness:

None compared to speakers in thier price range.

The Mission M73 represent outstanding value for money. They provide a crisp top end, a full bodied midrange and an extended bottom end. These are amongst the best sounding speakers at their pricepoint (Aus$599 - approx. $285 US).

Similar Products Used:

Cerwin Vega R12 and Realistic Minimus 20.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2002]
pshuttle
Audio Enthusiast

I own a pair of M73s in beech and boy am I happy with them. Tight anc controlled, and with such a clear open sound, these speakers cannot be faulted for the price I paid for them (£150UKP). I am very happy with them, particularly becuase of the excellent separation in the stereo channels. A fantastic sound. Try Dire Straits''s Water of Love and you will see what I mean.

Similar Products Used:

Eltax Liberty 3+

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 07, 2002]
bluefish43035
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

The sound that comes out of these is awesome.

Weakness:

None

I had a 12 year old set of Mission 763''s. I upgraded to surround sound need to match all the speakers. THe m73''s are great!!! Karen Carpenter sounds like she is in the room right in front of me. The base was a little loose in the very low end. For movies I just uped the crossover on my sub, but for music a 25# bag of lead shot tightened the base right up. I am very pleased with my purchase. THey sound great and look great. Mission is the only way to go for this price range!!

Similar Products Used:

Tried everything under the sun before I bought. I could have got a little better sound out of speaker that cost over three times a much, but why?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 14, 2001]
Teck Hong Wong
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Value for money. Can handle a wide range of music pretty well.

Weakness:

None at this price range.

When I moved in into my new home in June 2000, I did some extensive research on which DVD player & A/V receiver to purchase for my home theatre system. I did not do any research on which front floor standing loudspeakers to buy…no research at all. In fact I intended to re-use my old Akai floor standing loudspeakers to pair with Kenwood center & surround speakers. Eventually I decided to get a new pair of speakers simply because my 20 years old Akai speakers are really worn out. For the moment, I do not intend to buy an expensive pair because I'm afraid my little boy will damage it one fine day. My other requirement is that these speakers will double as the front speakers in a home theatre set up & as stereo main speakers in a hi-fi environment.
I bought the Sony DVP-S745D DVD player & the Yamaha RX-V1000 A/V receiver; both are not so highly rated by some of the popular hi-fi magazines. Have I made the wrong choices? When I was buying the Yamaha A/V receiver, I asked the shopkeeper to recommend a pair of low budget speakers & he showed me the Mission M73. I heard of the brand Mission but not the model M73. On site testing sounded pretty fine for me, good-looking too so I reached out for my wallet.
After some hours of run-in, I cannot believe how good they are at this price range. To begin with, at this price, these speakers can be bi-wire, can be mass loaded, magnetically shielded and come with spikes, slim front view & sport a new age design. Have 8-ohm impedance & a sensitivity of 90 dB/W/m. The solid cabinets are well built & finished. The main mid/bass driver is 125mm in diameter while the tweeter has a 25mm fabric dome. Port-loaded at the back of the speaker, foam port-bungs are provided to block the port if the speakers are placed too close to the rear wall. These speakers follow Mission's traditional inverted driver arrangement whereby the tweeter is located below, rather than above the mid/bass driver.
Connect the M73 speakers to my Houston Mini 1998 tube amplifier for some hi-fi listening & the result is acoustic material is delivered with superb detail. Clear & open. For pop/rock music, bass is good & punchy with good timing too. May sound a little forward & bright. For jazz, vocal is clear & smooth, may lack a bit of warmth here.
Connect it to my Yamaha A/V receiver for some home theatre experience & the result is just as great & fantastic. Wide sound field, precise, clear & with good speed.
Lately, I bought a pair of QED profile 4x4 bi-wire speaker cable & tried out the bi-wiring. The sound quality was further improved. More clarity & more sonic detail. I have yet to mass load them, wonder how will they sound? These speakers do not flavor toe-in as stated in the manual so I keep them facing directly in front. I also keep them about 33cm away from the rear wall & about 2 meters apart. If not because of my long cabinet, I would have moved them closer. I did not use the foam port-bungs provided simply because the bass is just nice.
Conclusion is that I'm lucky, a great buy without any research. M73 is capable with a wide range of music & they are quite musical. Value for money on hi-fi & home theatre use. Now, most of the leading hi-fi magazines describe the Mission M73 as a good buy, 5-star award.

My current components are -
1) Yamaha RX-V1000 A/V receiver (see my review on the A/V amplifier section)
2) Houston Mini 1998 tube amplifier
3) Sony DVP-S745D DVD player (multi-code) (see my review on the DVD player section)
4) Pioneer CLD-D580 LD player (with AC3 RF out)
5) Sharp VC-H81 NICAM stereo VCR
6) Mission M73 front L/R speakers
7) Kenwood CRS-15 center & rear speakers
8) Infinity RS-10 powered subwoofer
9) Toshiba 34N9UXE 34" TV

Similar Products Used:

Old Akai floor standing loudspeakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 20, 2002]
martin
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

M74: the best all around speaker in this category.
sound dynamics, image, musical, reproduce sound naturaly, simply the best, no echoes, no fuss, simply good reproduction.

Weakness:

little week on bass

Put a good Jazz album, Diana Krall, etta james, close your eyes and listen....the singer is in front of you, she's in your living room, so realistic!!!!!!!!
put the eagle's hell freez over DVD in DTS and you'l see where all the musicians are!!!!! the show is real!!!!!

please don't buy de M73 and go for the M74 right away, you won't regret it...

Similar Products Used:

paradig, bose, jbl, mirage, b&w (better but twice the price),

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com