Mission 783 Floorstanding Speakers

783

3-Way Reflex Speaker - 8 inch (200mm) Woofer - Silk Dome Tweeter

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Chelvam   AudioPhile [Jun 19, 2003]
Weakness:

I posed a specific question to Mission Loudspeaker i.e. whether the problems with the midrange of Model 783 series were due to poor workmanship or bad design. Mission has not replied to this specific question and it seems that they are not going to.I have also received emails from other Mission owners that they too encountered leaking Ferro fluid through the midrange. My dealer too said he had received several complaints before. In the circumstances, it is my opinion that Mission should give an explanation as to why there were several Mission speakers with leaking Ferro Fluid. And I think it is to their advantage and good business practice to replace or recall the defective midrange drivers without waiting for the customers to complain.

Good sound. Smooth bass. In fact I would happily recommend for speakers below $2000.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Benjamin   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 2003]
Strength:

at below $1000, its a batgain with the detail and imaging it gives.

Weakness:

it's heavy.....as the UPS delivery man quipped : these speakers are heavy!

I upgraded my 773es to the 783s and it was all worth it. It gave more detail and imaging compared to my 773es. The award-winning 773es were good speakers but the 783s made my all-Arcam set-up sing ! My friend, who is a paradigm and M&K fan, couldnt believe his ears---he absolutely loved it and got converted to the mission sound.

Similar Products Used: Mission 773es, Mission 701s, Mission 700s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
connor reed   Audiophile [Dec 05, 2000]

I am currently selling this new line of mission speakers, email me if you are interested at HiFiGuy111@aol.com

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lenny   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2001]
Strength:

Outstanding sound,stylishly good looks - especially in beech.

Weakness:

None

You can pay a lot more but you won't get as good as sound...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Lau   Casual Listener [Jan 20, 2002]
Strength:


Imaging, Natural Balance, Soundstage, Articulate bass.

Weakness:

None

I recently owned the Mission 782 and after a year late i upgrade to the Mission 783 for the deeper bass. The mission 783 is one of the great bargains of Hi-end when is properly matched. It´s very valve friendly thanks to a fair impedance curve and suits perfectly the "sound character" of the vast majority of SET designs. I run my pair with a Audio Research VT100SKII and drives me to audiophile heaven. The sound it´s VERY transparent and sweete, with a cavernous and hyperprecise soundstage plenty of ULTRAmicroscopic detail.

Similar Products Used: Mission 782
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
FRANZ DACOSTA   Audiophile [Sep 05, 2001]
Strength:

EXCELLENT HIGHS,MIDRANGE TUNEFUL,CAPABLE OF HANDLING POWER,
VERY COMPACT OVERALL SOUND.

Weakness:

This part i shall elaborate in summary

These are truly audiophile speakers though can be used for
home theatre but will be a waste(the later).These speakers
are extremely tuneful and detail.
Those that call these speakers less fast on the woofers then they should try 'AL GROMER KHAN' their notions
are bound to change.I also have a pair of DYNAUDIO 82'S these speakers are totally a different league,but the
midrange is close to the mission apart from this the mission
hardly compares.
Now to the weakness-I used these speakers for 4 months
and all through those months the cones(midrange) started
sweating of some sticky substance, which i thought had something to do with humidity.I decided to mail mission they had some realy interesting thing to say,which was they claim a batch fault.Now how come a company lets a pair of speakers go untested out of its premises.This i find very
strange so i have to keep my fingers crossed and hope that
these speakers come back to me(new ones) without faults.
After much scrutiny i found the oozing from the sides of the spiders of the midrange.
Conlusion check the midranges before you buy these
speakers,otherwise great speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Roger Hurst   Audiophile [Oct 06, 2001]
Strength:

Natural, soundstaging, imaging, bass

Weakness:

The spikes provided don’t penetrate carpet well

When Jeff from The Audio Consultant delivered my 783’s for a trial, I already had a pair of JBL L7s and a pair of well run in Proac Response 2.5s on loan, as well as my old KEF 104s. He told me that the 783s would need 100 hours of running in before they would start to sound good. For the first 20 hours they sounded new and a bit tight. Even then they had good sound stage depth and “disappeared” leaving me totally absorbed into the music, not perceiving the sound as coming from the speakers. This effect was not noticeable at all from the Proacs with my system – I was always aware that the sound was coming from the Proacs.

Gradually they ran in with more bass coming through, and the highs becoming sweeter. After the 50 hour mark there was no way I was giving them back to Jeff. After 100 hours they were sounding wonderfully natural with sharp imaging creating a strong illusion of having the singer in the room. I was impressed with the bass extension and articulation, especially coming from such a slim and elegant cabinet. The bass is not as powerful as from the JBL L7s, the plates in my cupboards don’t rattle as much, but the 783s are not boomy like the L7s. And, as unfair as the comparison is, the 783s are well ahead of my old KEF 104s.

I found that the slimline design didn’t give much width for stability, so I added a steel plate with wider spike spacing. This improved the bass punchiness, and I found it an inexpensive and worthwhile tweak.

Now that I have had the 783s for a year I still love them, they are a delight to listen to with classical, rock, jazz, techno and dance. I am running them with a Musical Fidelity X-Ray, PSS Quartet Interconnects, roger.charles Xenon amp, bi-wired with Interdyn Crystal Cable, in a 7m by 7m room with a 4m ceiling.

When listening to my system the hours pass like minutes, thanks in no small part to the 783s. They are incredibly good value, and you’d have to spend a lot more to match these speakers.



Strengths. Natural, soundstaging, imaging, bass
Weaknesses. The spikes provided don’t penetrate carpet well.

Similar Products Used: Proac Response 2.5, JBL L7, KEF 104AB
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 18, 2001]
Strength:

3-way design, very transparent

Weakness:

none for the price

Very detailed, yet very gentle sound. Lows are not booming and highs are not drilling into your ears - if you know what I mean. Perfect for classical music, great for rock, too. Are these the best? - Of course no! But for the price - I would say that I cannot recall any sub-$4000 speakers that would sound better.
Currently used with the following gear:
Pro-Ject 2.9 Wood with Benz Ruby;
Arcam FMJ CD23
Creek 5350SE wirt SE phono corrector
Kimber Kable 4TC
DIY silver coaxial interconnects.

Highly recommended - a real bargain at 1250 plus shipping I paid for them and even at list.

Similar Products Used: Mission 775, 754, ecaluated quite few
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vishal Dawar   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 16, 2000]
Strength:

Incredible clarity ,bass response ,focus and soundstaging

Weakness:

Requires some time to break in and really open up .

When i first went to the store i had thought of reviewing the 782's since they were the ones which were really being talked about as being great speakers and yes when i heard them they were indeed great but then i turned the volume upa lot on the 782's and they seemed to lose a little bit in their transperancy and detail there . So i tried the older brother 783's . And in less than 5 minutes i was in love . I had been to a lot of retailers and spend numerous hours trying to find that right sound which would be open ,clear ,with tight bass and response and finally i had found what i was looking for . I think the only speakers in the price range that i would say are comparable are the B&W CDM 7NT . Both these speakers have clarity and amazing focus and midrange but the 783's in my view are better on the bass response and depth here . The only problem with the 783's is that you need to have medium to large size room for them to really open up . I would happily suggest these to any one . And of course the are fantastic looking . One small piece of advice though - when and if you do buy these speakers please ensure that you check the serial numbers on both boxes - as they come in two seperate boxes and i made the mistake of not checking - the reason being as they come in matched pairs and if the serial numbers do not match then you will have a mismatched pair . I had to take them back to the store and get them changed - was a real pain .

Similar Products Used: Jamo , B&W 603 S2's ,B&W CDM 7SE , Heco Mythos 700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audiophile [May 06, 2000]
Strength:

Looks, Build, midrange

Weakness:

Bass, treble

These speakers should NOT be listened to with the grills on. When I heard them with them, they sounded muffled to such an extent that I could have been using (gasp!) a mini system to drive them. But when removed, the sound opened up quite a lot, and they displayed a good soundstage with an open midrange. The treble though was still dulled, almost as if someone has attenuated the top end above say 10-15khz. The bass is a bit slow and muddled, especially (and surprisingly) with solo instruments as well as orcestral pieaces. These are really quite easy to listen to, but just lack real drive and energy, especially in the treble. Not a bad speaker then, but not as good as the 753F (Yes the 753F is a bit bassy sounding as well but does have quite a good treble and dynamic range.)
I feel that, if mission had used a more conventional bass system, rather then a side mounted woofer near the floor, the speaker would probably have opened up more and sounded a bit quicker on it's feel, and I would have given it 4 stars for value and sound. As it is, I think it's slightly lacking compared to the best at the price, and so I give it an average 3.

Similar Products Used: Mission 753F, 754F, Ruark Crusader, Solus, Prologue One
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com