Mission 782 Floorstanding Speakers

782

3-Way Reflex, Floor Standing Speaker - 6.6 inch (165mm) Driver - Silk Dome Tweeter

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
Manuel Ribeiro   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 2016]

I've been reading most reviews here... All are important as bit by bit they all make quite a story.
Truth is that these are excellent speakers... way better sounding than their price range.
Are they perfect? NO
Can you make them perfect? That's the good news... you can!

David Tudor: the original Woofer is Nomex made so it will endure abuse but require some serious push to show it's brilliance... as Huyoo claims, you need a good A class with some serious gut to make them work. My Denon 4306 for instance is just enough not to overdrive nor under-drive.

PhilNZ: Spot on on the bass/positioning of the speakers.. that is because both the bass driving and bass reflex exit the speaker sideways on the same side... not sure why mission did it like that but will dig into it whenever i have the time.
Almost there... regarding the problems these speakers have...the drivers did not burn... they corroded the soldering to death! Check by article on how to solve that for good.

Turist: yup the mid drivers have a design flaw. That is why they all fail and that is why you can buy these speakers cheap and with 162gbp and 3 hours of work you can make them into masterpieces... check my article on that.

Bigsound50 : positioning is the key.

Northener, Ervin: the excessive bass and treble is sounding more and more like the mid's are failing or failed unbalancing the package. Also, direct bass on a small room is not what i would do with the 782... try facing the woofers to the wall at 20 to 30cm distance... but get those mid drivers fixed first.

gokhan senturk : you need to read my article. Been there!

The article I created about how to repair the 782's http://totaltechtalks.blogspot.pt/2016/02/mission-782-repair.html

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Tudor   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 30, 2014]

Whilst i have had to change the woofers and tweeters I think the items I've replaced them with are much better quality than the originals and look as if they last.

I mention this because even though I've had to replace them, the sound they produce outweighs the faff of doing so.

I only run them from a really naff mini hi-fi amp and they still sound pretty darn good to me.

Now that I have 2 kids I can't really justify the cost of an £800 amp but I'm looking forward to the day when i do so that I can listen to how these guys can really perform....and I know they can because i heard them coupled with some serious kit when I bought them.

My aim is to bi-wire with the Roksan Kandy.....that'll do nicely thank you.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
huyoo   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2011]

I brought the speaker for around $650 for a second hand
I would say this speakers sounded PERFECT and i would say it would really worth more then $2500.
I have read some of the review here and others site as well stating the drivers have problem or the mid is a bit thin and the bass is out of control but please look carefully this is a monitor series speakers. If u drive it with a under power amp all the above problem will come. The min power to drive this speakers should be at least 150w pure class A then it will surely sing like a bird n i would say this speakers are power hungry anything less then that this speaker won't sound good at all.
my equipment:
Mission 782
Denon AVR 3802
Threshold T200
Denon DCD 2800
KEF C90
KEF 30B
Spendor 2/2
Ven Den Hul The Second
Audioquest Midnight 3 Hyperlizts

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
PhilNZ   Casual Listener [Aug 10, 2009]

I bought my 782's second hand in London, after getting some Mission 780 bookshelf speakers at a Hi Fi show in Bristol. I loved the sound of the 780's and wanted to expand the set to become my Home Cinema / Listening room setup.

The 782's have been awesome and despite their size, fill my room quite nicely for sound and movies. I dont have a Sub - but have never really needed one.

The positioning is tricky, and the bass can be a bit dissapointing if setup incorrectly. My primary bugbear is that the MidRange drivers stopped working for no good reason. So I replaced them both only to have my wonderful children knock one damn speaker over and smash the magnet off the driver. So now I'm onto my Third set. I think I need to make a wider base as thats the second hole in the wall created by the speaker falling over (they're heavy and make a big hole).

I've found that the 780's suffer the same problem, and the voice coils in the main driver have blown on these twice now too. Its getting annoying. You'd think the replacement drivers would have addressed the weaknesses in the design. I'm thinking of repairing these and trading them for something a little more robust.

Aesthetically the 782 speakers are very pleasing on the eye, and had you asked me before I'd had to have so many repairs, I would have said - they are the "ones". Now however I would think twice before buying them.

I'm going to give mine one more chance (if they didn't look and sound so good they'd be out the door yesterday).


OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
turist   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 07, 2009]

I have owned these speakers from new for atleast 5 years. I have when the speakers where working liked the sound they produced. I have not over powered these speakers either by amp species 100wpc or have I listened to them too hard, the truth of the matter is. The midrange speakers DO have a FAULT, I also noticed another reviewer noted the same issue. I have replaced multiple sets at my own expense. Now, at the moment with them not working once again I have no choice but to consider replacing the speaker units for another brand. The anoying thing is that these speakers came highly recommended but if I had to evaluate my listening pleasure for my buck, these speakers are I feel greatly over priced. Also after being told by a supplier that the midrange speakers do have a fault I emailed the new Australian importer with my issues, after resending the message twice got a email back saying that they can supply replacement midrange speakers at the standard cost, YES very helpful. I am not one to write reviews on items that have not impressed me, actually this is my first. But in this case I felt an obligation to fellow users of these types of reviews to assess whether or not they should buy these speakers and my advice for you is simple " BUY THESE SPEAKERS AT YOUR OWN RISK"
I must add that I have had all these faulty speakers tested and the report identified the cause of the damage not to be due to running them at extreme levels. To be honest upon inspection of all the failed speakers I noticed what looked like "the best way to describe it" a very noticable coffee spill stain on the voice coil material, which the speakers still working didnt have. I believe this to have something to do with the speaker failure.

Strengths;
Compact
Looks
Bass
Clear & Precise Vocals

Weakness:
Midrange speaker constant failure - as noted above
Lack of after sales support- "Australia " may differ in other countries.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
biggsound50   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2007]
Strength:

beautiful spkr and great mid range .superb clarity in acustics and vocals.

Weakness:

the bass units are to low to the floor, and dont like pure class a amps with a lot of current to spare.

i agree to an extent with northerner,, the 782's are a bit bassy!.especially as im driving them with a mf 1000a which as i've found out dont like low positioned bass speakers. nore need them. in fact it was more controlled with my tannoy e11's although they could not keep up. ive decided to move to a pair of quad 21l's. which having heard on a rotel amp which was very modern and light felt a little weak on bass. i'm hoping the mix will be a 'proper job'.by the way, the musical fidelity 1000a is amazing.no many amps can destroy missions, but these do.probably the best amp ever built bar none.the 782 spkrs are very good though, i tried them with a mates quad amp and they sounded much better.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Northener   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 12, 2006]
Strength:

Build Quality
Design
Looks
Diminutive size

Weakness:

Tonal cohesion
Flat mids (totally opposite to the 780's!!!)
Sharp, splashy trebble
Too much bass, ploddy and slow
Need serious amplification (then maybe I'm totally wrong on all accounts...doubt it)
Positioning
Need room

I was looking for a sonic upgrade to my trust-worthy KEF Q35.2's, which have served me well over the last 6 years. My system comprises of a CYRUS III Amp, Marantz CD63 MKII KI SIG CD player hooked up with QED Biwire. I was looking for an advancement in soundstage, bass response, treble quality and overall musicality. I've been wanting some Miission 780se's for a while now and when I saw a pair of 782's in perfect condition for the same price (320 Euros), I took a leap of faith. Having heard the 780's and been mightily impressed with their weight and scale, I thought I'd be getting more of the same only with maybe a dollop of low end extention. I got more than I bargained for.

Now, my room is not tiny, at 5x7m and the KEF's sound fine, with no real trouble with bass distortion or booming. Attatching the already burned in 782's was really a shock. A tight compressed sound all round, splashy treble and flat mids. Bass extention was extensive and tight but at the expense of cohesion with the mid and upper levels. I experimented with all kinds of positions, trying to find a sweet spot for the low mounted bass woofer, facing to the wall, facing in, but to no avail. A couple of hours in, and I couldn't listen to them anymore. Maybe I'm impacient (although it took me all of 15 mins to fall in love with the KEF'S 6 years ago), but after switching back to my KEF'S, heaven retuned and I was greeted with what I now describe as a broad soundstage, total tonal cohesion, no sweet spot problems and a level of 3d realism that cannot be compared. The proverbial "chalk and cheese" sonic experiance.

Now, I'm not bashing these speakers. The build quality is excellent, they have a weighty, solid feel to them and look pretty cool. I think what it comes down to is what works best for you. There are many reviews here that say these speakers are fantastic. I believe them, just in my room, with my set up, they simple don't work.
My amplifier is also (probably) not powerful enough to reign in the bass drivers and keep them under contro, or to deliver and kind of midrange or topend lovelinessl. In my opinion you need at least 100 Watts RMS into 8Ohms to run these puppies. I got a spankin 50-60 and it aint enough. A PSX-R upgrade might help out, or a smartpower, but I can't see the difference being that substantial. It came down to the room more than anything.

My advice is not to rely on reviews and reviews alone. Trust your own ears, and try before you buy! What you like and what somebody else like are two different things. A bargain may seem like a bargain at the time only to realise you just wasted a lot of time and money. I listened to the Quad 11L's recently. Rave reviews everywhere. My opinion, the KEF Q1's or the Wharfdale Diamond 9.1's are better at half the price. Can you feel the slight bitterness in my tone >;O)

The search for pure sonic nirvana for me is over for now. My stereo sounds bloody good as it is. So for now, all the missions can do is sit back and weep while my KEF's blurt out music the way it should be done. I'll upgrade the next time I have three grand to spare...or when I move into a smal,l disused, city hall.

Similar Products Used: KEF Q35.2 (Sighhh...)
Magnepan Flatpannels Various
Mission 760's (corkers)
Accapellas
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Porsche_Fanatic   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 25, 2005]
Strength:

Clarity Price Size

Weakness:

Bass isn't as powerful as some may like but Frank never sounded so good :-)

In a word..INCREDIBLE! I don't pretend to be a audiophile but I know what my ears like and if you want to hear what you've been missing in most of your music I can't think of a better pair of towers in this price range that I've had the pleasure of auditioning. The sound is simply crisp and the soundstage created fills my living room. The midrange is everything I've always wanted and it fills the void that I've been complaining about. The bass won't blow your doors off but that's not why you should buy these for in the first place. These speakers replaced my Polk Audio RT1000P's as my main listening speakers for music and Home Theatre use. i don't have any idea what these might have retailed for new, and if anyone could point that out to me I'd appreciate it, but for 400 dollars I couldn't be happier with the units. I wish I could throw some technical jargen in here for you but I can't. Believe me if you are used to Best Buy or mom and pop audio store sound these will blow you away. If you are a Audiophile there are likely better out there at a higher price point but we have other obligations and priorities to spend out money on.

Similar Products Used: Polk Audio RT1000P Mission 703 Mission 704
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ervin   AudioPhile [May 07, 2003]
Strength:

very compact, that's all

Weakness:

virtually every aspect of the sound

i don't own this peakers and i'm glad i didn't. i followed my friend to an audition of these so-called 'highly-reviewed' speakers and both of us found the sound hugely disappointing. the treble is very splashy and over prominent and the midrange sounded flat and shut-in. vocals sounded strained and nasal. the bass was detached from the mid and sounded lumpy though generous for its size. the salesman then showed us some jm lab chorus 715 at $1000 and my friend bought them. the jm labs blew the missions away with a treble that is extended, open and sweet. the midrange was much more transparent, open and 3-D. vocals were out of the box and floated in space. the bass while a little less was much tighter, controlled and natural. i have a feeling british speakers got their good reviews through advertising and i'm sure i'm right.

Similar Products Used: jm lab chorus 715, b&w dm603s3
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
craigb   AudioPhile [Nov 11, 2002]
Strength:

Solid 3-d image, fantastic resolution of detail at all volume levels, natural timbre on instruments and voices

Weakness:

In my room, the bass is a bit shy when listening from a seated position. If wanted to stand up all the time they’d be some of the best speakers I’ve ever heard. “Legless” performers. Add another $300 to the price and they might not stand up to the musicality of the Meadowlark Swifts.

Purchased from Audio Advisor in Michigan (www.audioadvisor.com) for $700, with a stated list price of $1400. I see in British publications that list is £700. I know the exchange rate isn’t *that* bad, so I’m assuming there’s a fair bit of markup due to importation costs, and maybe a slightly inflated list from Denon, their North American distributor. I say all of this by way of suggesting that these might not stack up against what American consumers consider $1400 speakers, but for $700 up to about $1000, they are *awfully* good. They’re solidly built (although I did have a shipping-induced problem with the first pair I received), beautiful to look at (at least in beech, the only finish I’ve seen first-hand), and extremely detailed in their sound, with rock-solid imaging and a 3-dimensional soundstage. After reading about all of the problems users have had positioning these things, I started out with them at least 40 inches from side walls, about 30 inches from their backs to a 10 inch deep bookcase, and about 70 inches apart, with about 120 inches to the listening spot. The speakers are toed-in about 2 or 3 degrees (a little less than half of what would be required to “aim” them at the listener). The speakers are paired so the woofers fire toward each other. This setup seems to work pretty well. I was also expecting from my readings here that the initial sound would be less than great, but that hasn’t been the case. Bass is just a bit shy, but not overly so, and the mids and highs are not at all shrill or unnatural. It’s a wonderfully cohesive and well-balanced sound. So far I have about 85 hours on them. From the very first playing, I found myself listening to the music rather than the speakers. We’ll see how things change over the next couple of weeks. Cantus’s “Let Your Voice Be Heard” is astonishing on these speakers, as is the fabled “Cantate Domino” disc on Proprius (try track 9, “Julsäng”). There’s no question these things excel on vocals, with no evidence of nasality or chestiness at all on male or female voices. And played through these speakers, the Reference Recording orchestral sampler “Tutti!” is as life-like a classical recording as I’ve ever heard. Diana Krall’s “All for You” and “Love Scenes” present a remarkably vivid and 3-D image. I’ve found two slightly troublesome anomalies: one is the vertical dimension of the soundstage. Given the towers' relatively short stature and the signature Mission array (tweeter below midrange driver), the tweeters are substantially closer to the floor than my ears are. This, I believe, is causing the vertical dimension of the soundstage to be shortened. On classical music it isn’t so bad, since it very easily brings to mind looking down on the orchestra from a first-rate balcony seat. But on popular music it has the effect of cutting off the legs of the performers. This may be a psychological thing that I’ll eventually get over, since it goes away to some extent when I close my eyes, but it’s worrisome for now. The second problem is, as I suggested before, a slight lacking in bass. But there’s a really weird aspect to it: when I stand up from my listening seat, the bass and lower mids fill out beautifully. This happens all over the listening room. I’ve had to deal with overly excited bass nodes before, but this is the first “suck-out” I’ve experienced, and the first of any kind that only appears in the vertical dimension. I’m not sure what I’m going to do about it. Let me know if you have any ideas. For your reference, the system consists of: B&K ST-140 Adcom GFP-710 Sony SCD-CE775 SACD player (modified by Matt Anker) Denon DRM-750/Infinity Black Widow/Sumiko BPS LAT International IC-80 Mark II (SACD player) and Straight-Wire Symphony II (pre-out/power-in) interconnects Audioquest Type 2+ (single run) speaker cables

Similar Products Used: Past speakers used: Magneplanar MG-I (original version, ca. 1978); Cambridge Soundworks New Ensemble (ca. 1994) Auditioned: B&W DM602.5 S3, DM603 S3; Dynaudio Audience 62; PSB Image 6t; KEF Q5, Q7;
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com