Mission 751 Floorstanding Speakers

Mission 751 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Reflex loaded 5.25in woofer, 1-in tweeter bookshelf speaker

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 29  
[Jun 13, 2016]
Tom
Audio Enthusiast

The (non-freedom) Mission 751s are magic, magic speakers.

Firstly, forget any preconceptions formed by listening to other Mission speakers you may have heard - these would compete with anything of a similar size up to about £750 new I would imagine.

Clean, agile, accurate, the list goes on.. But most importantly, musical!

Genuinely one of those hifi epiphanies when you first hear them, without wanting to sound like a snake oil salesman!

I currently also own PMC TB1s and have had Dynaudio Audience 42s in the past.

These are definitely competition for the TB1s and I would say they are the equal of the Dynaudios (similar size), according to my subjective tastes.

I will add that I miss those Dynaudios!

On my system as it is, the differences between the TB1s and the Missions are mostly down to size. The PMCs are probably more accurate in a 'studio monitor' sense with the obvious bass advantage, while the Missions are more cohesive & musical - in the way many small speakers are - but would probably be useful in a studio environment themselves.

Don't hesitate to pick these up in good condition at anything up to £150, though sub-£100 is not difficult.

Try finding Dyns for double that!

My near-minters cost me a 3 hour drive & £45 from a nice elderly couple who didn't even know how to take the grilles off.

Frankly, it felt like stealing!



OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 27, 2012]
corbacho
AudioPhile

Hallo everybody,
so,...here's my short history, i am a audio entusiast for over 25 years now,i have build a few pair of speakers and turntables,i have had (i have actualy counted them-a night without nothing to do),32 pairs of speakers , that's right 32,....i know it sounds crazy and problably is,but apart from that , what that gave me , was a bit of experience of what speakers do sound like , and the conclusion that there are few really magical designs around there,..the more i know speakers ,the more i am into ''out of ordinary designs'', or simple two way loudspeakers,(i must admit a soft spot for good mini monitors).
let me tell you ,.in my humble opinion the mission 751 are for shure on of those special designs that are magical,i have had from the big tannoy hpd series arden, to berkeley,the m3000 also from tannoy....etc,..etc,..to some expensive alternatives, very correct in everything but that simply in one way or another(at least for me)don't seem to connect with music,the missions surely do that , and in what a way,these are unbeatable speakers in their class,even for todays standarts ,we are often taken away by one parameter or another of performance with other speakers , but when we look for perfection , somehow many times we lose the real objective of this crazyness with audio equipment , that is enjoyment of music , the mission 751 thakes me back to that , despite not being perfect, (no speaker is).the 751 were not my first serious loudspeaker, but were in fact the speakers , that connected me with music for that elusive first time, in a special way,more than 20 years ago, at that time with a marantz pm44mk2 se amplifier and a marantz cd-63 , anad what a system that was, i sold them and regreted until today, .....that's my i have just bought a rosewwod pair in second hand in perfect condition,and let me tell you , even if i upgrade my main pair of stereo loudspeakers ,i will not sold this mission again, even for the garanty that when i come back to them i always get music instead of demos.
just an advise , if you want to buy this second hand ,be shure to invest in good stands, and don't expect a lot of bass from them, for the rest just seat back and enjoy.
-also please,..please ,..don't modified them,...yes i have done that with a second pair that was in bad shape a couple of years ago, and regret it, you ear more from eveything,but that special balance between warm and microdetail, that makesthem so special was gone,..these are part of that class of speakers that for plain luck , or avery speacial designer truly hit the spot musicaly speaking, and if modified turn into another speaker,not the 751 anymore,(at least that's what i find),it's like a child that you know behaves badly, but it's more enchating because of that, that's how the mission 751 are.
good auditions.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 28, 2011]
Adam
Audio Enthusiast

These Speakers Are Truly Fantastic! My Dad Has Had These Speakers For 16 Years Now, And I have Always Adored Them! Especially, Hooked Up To A 'Cyrus'! I Bought These Speakers January, And Oh Do I Love Them! Connected To My 'Arcam' System, These Spekers Produce A Punchy, Cristal Clear Fantastic! I will Never Get Rid Of These Beauties! Amazing, 100%, 5*

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 01, 2011]
Audionaut
Audio Enthusiast

Absolutely wonderful! Fast, dynamic, precise - faboulous soundstage, great bass. Slightly on the dark side, in a good way. Great bass - can easily fill my living-room (35 m2) at normal listening levels. I use it with a Naim Nait XS, rather powerful little thing, but the 751 also perfroms with my smaller bedroom amp. Paid appr. 180 USD and it feels like the speaker bargain of my life :-)).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 14, 2010]
Bob Barton
Audio Enthusiast

Great little speakers and I do mean great. It's 2010 and people here are still reviewing what must be one of Mission's greatest speakers; rightly so, they're fabulous. Still plenty out there on the second hand market.

So what they like? Hooked up to a half decent amp, try a Cyrus or an Audiolab these speakers shine. Clarity, detail and just a touch of warmth to bring it all together. Excellent bass for their size, I have a sub in my system but I don't need it for the Missions. I have been through quite a few speakers in the last twenty odd years but I won't be parting with these. It's hard to choose between the originals and the Freedom version, I'd recomend either.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 14, 2010]
Bobet Faune
Audio Enthusiast

I just bought a pair Mission 751 Freedom speakers here in Doha. It was an unsold items from the previous dealer here in Qatar old stock but brand new still in a box. I saw it in their clearance sale. I sold my B&W VM1 and bought this. No regrets at all. Great sound. Actually better sounding than my Polk's RTi4. Clarity is superb. It's a legend.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 09, 2010]
Mr High-End
AudioPhile

I have always admired the Mission 751 speakers. I listened to them in the mid 90'ies and loved them. I went for bigger speakers back then, which where a better choice for me at the time.

I have resent moved into a small apartment, and needed something smaller. I browsed the used marked and found the 751 and I knew I had to listen to them once more. I went home to the guy that was selling them and listen to them on his high-end setup, where they performed excellent. So I got the pair for about 200$ and went home.

I have tried them out at home and they fit very well into the apartment. The sound is still amazing, as they where for 15 years ago! New products come, new materials are used, and they come out all expensive! The last years, design has become very important to the vendors, but not to me, and the sound and value you get from the 751 are making them a best buy even today!

As of all speakers in this size, the bass is not as powerful and deep as you get from a bigger speaker, but you dont need to be a rocket scientist to figure that out!

I guess I always will keep the 751 for all future reference in my setup. Other speakers may come and go, but these will stay in my possession for ever! (easy to store also! So small)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 03, 2009]
Mr Goldsmith
AudioPhile

Truly amazing pair of speakers,i have many expensive set`s of speakers although one must say that the Mission 751`s really do beat the crust.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 24, 2009]
BURROWS1978
AudioPhile

Small in stature, grand in performance. These are very heavy speakers at 6kg each! and boy do they have a heavy punch aswell. Paying for and owning these speakers is like asking for basic Fish & Chips and a bottle of Coke and then being sevred Yangchenglake Da zha followed by a bottle of Louis Roederer's Cristal Champagne!!!

Quite simply,outstanding speakers Made in England.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 21, 2004]
Peej
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound - open, neutral, fast, detailed. Looks - sexy speakers, unique style Build - Solid, good size and dimensions. Quality finish. Biwirable Partnered with better components, these shine even more.

Weakness:

Not the deepest bass. Very revealing of source components. Some may find too forward sounding.

Should have written a review on this a long time ago. I've had these babies for almost 10 years now since it first burst into the scene early 90's. The first time I viewed them on what hifi magazine and read the reviews, I went to a local hi-fi store to check it out. I was already familiar with the Mission sound as at that time, I owned a pair of 760i bookshelf ones. But I needed a fix. Heard these blocks at the store and after a short audition, I snatched them up without any hesitation. Was the best purchase I made and never regretted buying them. There are a few things that made me fall in love with them. Firstly, the appearance. Style - with its upside down driver/tweeter combo which I thought was unique. Sound for sure. Clear, open, detailed, fast and agile. Able to follow transients in music with remarkable poise. Tight bass. Voices sounded like they were leaping from the speaker itself. Build -solid feel to the cabinet, elegant finish with good dimensions and weight. Doesn't look cheap. These I hooked up to my Audiolabs on top of Atacama stands and boy, did these give me years of listening pleasure until I relegated them to HT as rears....(that's another story)....Overall, a great buy and can accomodate almost any kind of music you want. Provides sufficient bass but if you're looking for real deep monster bass, then look elsewhere.

Similar Products Used:

Mission 753/753freedom, 751c, 760i, cyrus 780, 761i, wharfedale delta, Kef coda 7

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com