Mission 735 Floorstanding Speakers

Mission 735 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

3 way, ported loudspeakers

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-7 of 7  
[Oct 26, 2017]
Joe
AudioPhile

Not sure what year these are as they were given to me in around 2008. I ran them initially off a cheap Cambridge Audio amp of about 30W, and they performed really well with plenty of depth and clarity but lacked punch at lower volumes. Later I bought an old NAD c370 and hooked them up and I was amazed at the performance across all genres and even watching movies, but at higher volumes they are definitely a bit heavy on the top end.
However, I more recently blew the NAD and bought a modern Yamaha Amp of about 85W (RMS) and they sound AMAZING!
I recommend these speakers wholeheartedly, but try to match with an amp that isn't too toppy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2017]
Claude
AudioPhile

chez moi , a l écoute , elles avaient une erreur de focus et manquaient de basses , j ai enlever les woofers du haut pour me rendre compte que les woofers étaient mal installé, les connecteurs des woofers étaient vers le haut , se qui ne doit pas etre , car l aimant du tweeter viens interféré sur les connecteurs positif et négatif des tweeters .... apres avoir installé les connecteurs vers le bas , la sonorité est devenu parfaite. aller voir sur Google Images pour des Paradigm Mini Monitor v1 et on voit tres bien que le montage des woofers se font avec les connecteurs vers le bas , pour ne pas interféré avec l aimant du tweeter. ( dans mon cas c etais soit une erreur au montage , ou quelqu un d autre les avaient manipulé.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 20, 2015]
GARY PUCKETT
Audio Enthusiast

PICKED UP A SET OF MISSION 735 3-WAY REFLEX SPEAKERS AND I WANT TO SELL THEM. IF ANYONE INTERESTED CALL ME (765)748-9887. USA NUMBER

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 05, 2010]
TIM
Casual Listener

I bought these for £200 and was excited as I love Mission speakers generally and this was huge over 1m tall. However I was really dissapointed on initial listening and noted the harsh treble as commented in other reviews. This doesn't make my Denon F10 system shine but for the price it is probably worth 4 stars. However, it does occasionally produce spine tingling realism for that reason I have held onto these. My suspicion is that these will really sing with higher end seperates but for average or mid range hi-fi proably buy only if you are able to hear them beforehand. By the way, the bass on this despite the size is very tame and much too controlled. I disagree here, with the other reviews.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 13, 2000]
Cheung Zeeman
Audiophile

Strength:

An Economy Floor Stander, Musically and Influential; Extremely Fast Response; Deep and Dynamic Base; Clear and Open Mid Range; Great for Jazz and Pop (AC3/DTS).

Weakness:

Harsh Treble; Not Detail Enough; Worst Sound Stage; Lazy High-mid; Badly built Speaker Terminals and Long Run-in time.

So many weakness commented, it don't worth to get five stars but I've still given, WHY? Because it costed me only HK$2,800 (US$1 = HK$7.753) 6 months ago to get this pair of Floor-standing mission for my new AC3/DTS System.

This Mission is really musical and better than my 4343 so far since the 4343 is a MONITOR acting as an expert for the work of performance monitoring but not musical enough! Base is deep and dynamic but aware of boomy since it has two drivers for Low frequency, so space must be taken into consideration before deciding to own a pair of this mission.

The moment for this mission started singing, it really made me disappointed as it performed really bad overall, there were no details; no soundstage; harsh treble; missing mid-high; but still very powerful enough to shake my AV Room (NO Subwoofer installed).

The sound from this mission became listenable in 2 months' run-in period (around 200 hrs). It is now the 6th month that working with my AV system and it has done a very well job so far. If you've already owned a pair of 73 series Mission, please be patient to run your mission for a longer period before having your final judgement.

Unfortunately, it is rarely low in it's sensitivity (around 85db) and so, Tube Power Amplifier is not recommended. Transistor made Power Amplifier with higher Power Output (>100W RMS) would be more appropriate for this mission.

This speaker is highly recommended for Audio Enthusiast but NOT an Audiophile. Especially for someone who wants high quality sound played from one pair of speakers for both CDs and Movies without setting up two pairs for them. (Trust me, it is absolutely better than all Tannoy Mercury series).

Floor-stander selling at this Price, What else do you want?

The Partners for my Mission 735i (Spike installed):

AV Amplifier : SONY STR-V929X
DVD Player and CD Transport : Pioneer DV-515
DAC : Alchemist TS-D-1/MF X-DAC
Digital Cable : Synestic Research Video 1
Analogue Cable : Audiocraft
Speaker Cable : Bi-wired (MIT + Denko Dragon)

Similar Products Used:

JBL 4315; JBL 4343; Infinity Reference 20; Tannoy M1/M2/M2.5/M3; Celesion 0.5; Mission 700; Mission 701; Bose 301; Dual...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 22, 2000]
Roy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Deep bass which sounds excellent and responsive, good high

Weakness:

Mid-range doesn't sound musically enough

First of all, my system:

Amp: Kenwood KA-V7700 Dolby pro-logic
CD: Pioneer CDM-703 (6 cd-changer) and Philips CD-603
Front speakers: Mission 735
Center: IQ Ted 5.1
Rear: Mission 760i
I'm looking for a better cd player now. Probably a Marantz.
(CD-17)


The bass of these 735 is excellent. Deep, responsive and not too much bass. The tweeter also sounds like it should be. Maybe a bit harsh, but I like the overall sound of the tweeter. Untill now it would have been 5 stars. But then
the mid. When compared to my center the mids are not bright enough. Especialy vocals don't sound "live". This is the reason why I listen most music in Dolby 3 channel mode.

Overall the speaker isn't to bad at all.


Similar Products Used:

ASW ????, Magnet ????, B&W V201, Jamo D120

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 17, 2001]
Ian Wilkinson
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Bass, dynamics when used biamped, detail with high-end equipment,

Weakness:

mid range could be better, missing the rythmn of the very best

For recommended retail price it does not quite deliver, however for $500 still a very good speaker, probably best suited to dance / house music, although competent across the board, however probab a lot of competition with newer models out now!!!

Similar Products Used:

Tannoy R2 Floorstanders, Eltax LR6.5

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com