Mission 734 Floorstanding Speakers

734

Reflex 3 way, two 7in woofers, 7in mid, 1in tweeter

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 14, 2016]

Ah, my old Mission 734s from when I rented a flat in an old Georgian building with a huge living room space..

Firstly, these represent the best value way of filling up such a space with decent quality hifi sound.

I paid around £75 for mine locally in great condition, which is real value for the way they perform.

The thing to watch with all 73* speakers when buying is cracked drivers - the brittle polymer fatigues on hard worked examples, so try not to buy from a head banger.

So moving on to the sound - they look like boom box speakers with the OTT port, but actually - given space - they're very even handed in a budget context.

I think they should be seen as budget speakers despite the £500+ price tag new; it's a lot of speaker for the money in relative terms. Certainly, what you are getting is a big version of what many of the better budget speakers of today can offer.

They sing with electronica, but give a good account with acoustic material too, with strong clarity and separation.

Many swear by sand filling these too - I never got around to this but spikes and some marble slabs probably helped mitigate any bass resonance issues.

I would imagine they might be the wrong choice for the average UK living room - I had to move mine on or risk eviction - but man they were fun!

Most of the low price floorstanders are pretty poor - especially Missions 70* series - but these are outstanding budget boxes you might keep for some time.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 2016]

I got the Mission 734i and I have to say that I love them, They produce a very detailed deep soundstage.
They can sound boomy as described in some of the reviews on here, but that's purely down to placement..I use the Bose 601 series 3s as my main system (which in my opinion you can not compare) But it has made me realise through the sound of the missions that there's a whole new world I have not tapped into when it comes to true audiophile stuff as I love the missions natural sound so much! You need to have them towed in towards the listener and at least 1ft away from a back wall. They are like a Ferrari with the speed of the response you can get from them...it's a sound I'm not used to! Again this is the first time in 20 years I've ever experimented with other speakers other than Bose..(I don't like the cubed stuff) I'm on about the bookshelf and floorstanders...These are classed as bottom of the line audio speakers and like I say I'm actually blown away at the thought as to how good a couple grand speakers must sound! But I'm Very impressed with these if you see a set buy them! Absolutely awesome with dance and classical music (you'll feel the performance) and even badly recorded music sounds good and never dull...Just place them properly and you'll be rewarded with an addictive sound 5 stars from me based on the £500-£600 original price

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jack Johnson   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2016]

I dont find them harsh with quality equipment, nothing you will ever find in a block store. Great sounding pretty well balanced speakers, They are crisp and detailed but never harsh. The bass is ample but not annoying, contrary to other opinions. Perhaps some readers are using poor quality source material and or amps, or system synergy just isnt there. Room acoustics could be in question also. Excellent bang for the buck speaker here (no surprise being an English make and all :)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
chris r   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 14, 2015]

Got the mission speakers a while ago now and there great and now I need to get a new part for one of the speakers so I need some help to find parts for it needs a speaker because one of my friends kids poked the speaker

Model 734

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ashley   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 05, 2012]

I have had these speaker a few months now and they sound really good for what I payed for them deep bass and sharp vocal i recomend these speakers you can get hold of these very cheap now i only payed £40 but needed new tweeters witch I found for a £10

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dielis   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2010]

I have these speakers a few months now in my possession, and I must say that I am very satisfied. Now I have not paid too much for it like a 150, = euro and so is my price-quality ratio a 5. As the sound I regard a 5 to because these speakers really sound great, even without the modifications listed here in the revieuws. The condition is, that you have a good amp with enough power and you must use the spikes that came with the speakers because that makes a real difference. It is strange that the 734 is not in the list to the missions in audiorevieuw with al these others? The 734 has 2 woofers each box instead of 1 like in the 733 as the extra woofer in the 734 take the bass to his account and therefore it is absolutely unnecessary to use a subwoofer to. The negative criticisms mentioned here I really can not find myself in this it sounds to me really unfair for these speakers. This is probably the saying of "garbage in = garbage out" So if you can find these baby's and you want to have a very good speaker, I say definitely buy them you will not be disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bobbymellor   AudioPhile [Aug 16, 2005]
Strength:

Cheap nowadays. Look good. Brilliant performance if positioned correctly with a good amp + bi-wired.

Weakness:

Not suitable for cheaper amps. Must be setup with care or you will loose performance.

If you are the kind of person that spends thousands of pounds on hi-fi equipment, then your not going to be interested, but now with these speakers being a few years old, if you can get hold of a pair...DO IT! I bought these speakers off a friend and traded in my 701's. For a mixed music listener these are great...a really balanced sound. Some reviews say they're too trebely, but if you can mount them properly, with descent spikes and add a bit of wight i.e. sand etc...they really shine. I have bi-wired them and would recomend this to any users as it really helps to balance out the tones. I would also only recomend these speakers to someone that has a descent amp as they struggle on lower powerd amplifiers. Plus they also look sh*t hot. I use them with an arcam amp and a technics turntable and it sounds so much more vibrant than any cd player under £1000.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Colin Crawford   Audio Enthusiast [May 23, 2000]
Strength:

I bought this speaker because I wanted deep and heavy bass, it can do this but only when positioned close to a wall!

Weakness:

Distortion in the treble and colouration in the mid-range, please read on for a cure.

I bought these in a sale, reduced from £500 to £350. I liked the heavy bass response so I kept them, but quickly began to loath the treble. So I opened up the speaker and saw that they were wired up with cheap rubbish, so I bought some decent speaker cable and rewired them being careful to observe polarity...........the treble is now fine. I then could notice colouration in the midrange so I bought a thick rubber floor mat from my DIY store and cut it up and glued it to most of the surface of the inside of the box. This cleaned up the midrange and also added weight to the box. The speaker is now a good all-rounder. I can strongly recommend these tweeks to all owners of Mission 734i's. However my opinion of Mission is now very poor because no decent manufacturer would have been so lazy and penny pinching!

Similar Products Used: Tannoy R2s........a clearer more detailed speaker but always disappointed in the bass region; drivers too small!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Daniel Charlton   an Audio Enthusiast [Apr 05, 1999]

I paid $350 CAN for a pair of used 734's. I think they sound excellent. I don't understand why so many people complain of "harsh" treble on these units. They just sound "crisp" to me. The bass is quite deep, and makes my Mission AS-1 sub unnecessary.Agreed, the list price for a new pair is a little high compared to similar sounding speakers like PSB and Energy, but in my case the price was right!
I highly recommend these speakers if you can get them at a discounted price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Patrick Spader   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2001]
Strength:

Scale of sound, clarity and and build quality.

Weakness:

Slightly harsh treble.

This is my second review of these speakers, having now owned them for 4 years.

I stand by my original comments, that is: they have harsh treble and need high wattage amplification/volume to deliver deep bass. I'd still give them a rating in the 3-4/5 based on their build quality (havent skipped a beat yet) and the scale/clarity of the sound.

I agree with the post below as i too have performed several mods to them, they are now quiet exceptional....heres what i
did

1. Added weight (5Kg of sand bags atop each speaker (this CURED the treble probs and added thump to the bass)

2. Changed internal wiring with CAT5 (this made the sound richer with cleaner bass)

3. Added damping material to the interior of the cabinet (polyester batting) - this tweak increased detail substantially

4. Added blu-tac to the metal basket of the drivers (carful too much blu tac will make the sound too etched).

With these mods, the 734's are truly great speakers, making them sound by far the best speakers at their original price point. Soon, i plan to change the caps in the crossovers and i'm hoping to get similar improvements.

Similar Products Used: BW 603 Wharfedale 500
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com