Mission 733 Floorstanding Speakers

733

Reflex loaded design, 2 7-in woofers, 1-in tweeter

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
Wayne   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2012]

Hello. Ive owned a pair of 733i's for 15 years now and im still as pleased with them as the day i bought them. The sound that comes from these speakers is absolutly fantastic. If places a minimum of 20cm from the rear wall and 8ft appart the sound stage is realy good they have a quite warm sound once they have burnt in but can handle realy good deep bass and mid,treble is also very clear. I think is all down to the quality of the recording in the first place that makes a good pair of speakes shine. (i have a sub but don't need it with these speakers).. I listern to a lot of diferent types of music from rock to chill and the speakers dont fail to please. I auditioned the speakers with insomnia by faithless at Huddersfield Hi-Fi centre. I first listerned through a pair of TDL floor standers and the song blow one of the bass cones out of its seating and got stuck there. The Missions blew the TDL's away no comparison!! Its a shame that the modern speakers these days in my opinion don't seem to have the same sound and build quality as the older ones. To get a decent pair your talking a £1000 upwards. So for that reason im keeping my budget Missions im very pleased with them and if any one out there is looking for a pair of good second hand ones go for it you won't be dissapointed. Wayne aged 47 Huddersfield.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 23, 2011]

I bought these speakers late 90's together with a NAD receiver en cd player. Worked the whole summer for this set, speakers where i think 700 guilders (E300). Receiver and cd player have been replaced by Yamaha e730 and a Ipod classic 160gb with lossless wav. The speakers are still in my living room. Excellent sound, natural and clean, high's nicely seperated form lows. Painted them white some years ago and think they will be in my living room for quite some time

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Hugh Williams   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2008]
Strength:

Soundstage
Ease of positioning
Looks
Enjoyment!

Weakness:

Bass a little flabby
Treble seems slightly thin and unconvincing

I recently saw a pair of these in my local papers classified ads, and needing a pair of speakers for an AV setup, I thought why not! I can tell you, for £40 they are not half bad! When auditioned in my main system alongside my trusty Kef Q60's, they hold their own.

It has to said, that if you see these at a good price, snap them up, although be warned, the grille mounting system is rubbish! (neither speaker still has the top plastic retainer).

I do not know if it is because mine may have been in storage, but they have really opened up in recent usage and the problems i felt initially detracted from them (REALLY loose bass) and an almost tinny sound, have to a certain degree sorted themselves out.

Being a floorstanding speaker, these create a fair amount more bass than my Q60's, but I feel there is room for just a little bit more accuracy. I have to say that the tweeter in this speaker is its weakpoint, if there is one, it just does not sound convincing enough.

I am running these of a highly modified marantz PM66KI

Similar Products Used: Kef Q60
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
leon   AudioPhile [Apr 01, 2007]
Strength:

great and expansive soundstage
musical
sound great with top equipment

Weakness:

bass not allways tight

I knew these speakers from the past as good sounding for the money.
Resently,I bought a pair second hand for a friend of my,who has no car,so I picked them up.
At my place,I hooked m up on my set,wich is way up the missions league.
My (tube)amplifiers cost 10 times the retailprice of the missions,to give you an idea.
I just put them in front of my own speakers(apogee)en plugged the cables.
What I heard was truly magnificent!
A very large and deep soundstage,with realistic images,wich I din,t expect.
The bass was natural sounding,just a little loose.
The amps realy made the missions sound like I never heard them before.
Music was floating trough the room,even image heigt was in good proportions.
Voices stood upfront,60 cm above the baffle,in the centre of the soundstage.
The amps let the missions breathe,with a lot of air and spacious sounstage,what,s a credit of the easy to drive missions.
I bought a pair for myself allso.
They don,t have the top end of the apogee,but the performance for such a budgetspeaker is fab.

Similar Products Used: many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
simmi chauhan   Casual Listener [Apr 04, 2003]
Strength:

All round performance and good looks

Weakness:

Low end bass

I swapped these speakers for Morduant Short MS904's, these were slightly cheaper and a few people I know had said they were very good. The Mordaunt Shorts had better bass at higher volume levels but these speakers are definately better all round. The tweater is crisp but yet not too crisp and the mid is spot on however I must say that the Bass isnt as deep as it should be at lower levels and at High volumes seems to get lost. At a moderate volume these are good speakers, I also noticed that it took them a while to bed in and after two days of playing they did sound alot different.

Similar Products Used: Mordaunt Short 904 and Eltax, Nad 350 and 320bee
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Wim   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 19, 2002]
Strength:

bass, overal soundspectrum

Weakness:

this awfull grille they've used.. and the treble unless hooked up with decent cables and plugs..

Being my first real audio set back in 1998, this was like an audiophonic revolution to me. the speakers can still handle every genre from hard pumping drum and base to a fine piece of classical music. the speakers are hooked up to a Rotel amp and I recently changed the appearance bij spraypainting them and using new rosewood like texture on the frontpanel (i always thought the light wood texture didn't suit the interior) Now i have great sounding, and great looking speakers.

Similar Products Used: b&w, kev
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Thomas   Casual Listener [Nov 13, 1999]
Strength:

cheap price for floor-standing speakers

Weakness:

not heavy enough, though you can add sand to it

After replacing the receiver, cd player, I find replacing the speakers is the most valuable. The sound is totally different. What others said is right: among a hifi system, speakers distort the most. So buying a good speaker is the most desirable upgrade to an ordinary hifi set.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Gary Thomson   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2000]
Strength:

Price performance, build quality, excellent overall reproduction.

Weakness:

Grille mounting.

I've owned these loudspeakers for nearly 5 years now, ran them until recently with a Rotel 930-AX amp. In this configuration I have enjoyed them greatly, and really cannot fault their liveliness, excellent mid-range and tight crisp bass response. I auditioned them against a KEF model (can't remember which!) in a similar price range, and the Mission's came out on top regarding mid-range and build quality.

The only downside I've encountered is the pretty miserable grille mounting system - the lateral posts snap off very easily due to the low-grade plastic used. I've overcome this problem by gluing the posts back on with contact adhesive, then slipping a short length of shrink-tubing over the whole post (carefull not to melt the surrounding grille frame!) before replacing the rubber grip. This "fix" has so far lasted 8 months without any problems.

I've recently retired the Rotel and installed a Denon-AVR1800 Digital receiver. What a pleasant surprise! The Mission's are astounding me once again with their ability to reproduce mid-range frequencies I've never heard before in my music collection. The bass seems a little surpressed however, although I'm still playing with the Denon's configuration!

My Mission 733's will certainly be with me for the next 5 years, I would recommend them to anybody, so if you see a pair in a garage sale or obsolete stock clearance - buy them!

By the way, to complement the Mission's, and on advice from my dealer, I purchased a "Magnat Vector Centre 13". A very tidy little centre, 2-way, speaker which gives great general performance for a sub $100 unit; surprisingly well built (in Holland) too. Check them out.

I'll give the Mission 733 5 stars for performance/value, and 4 stars for overall rating due to the awfull grille mounting.

Similar Products Used: KEF, B&W
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Russ   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2000]
Strength:

Good All Around Sound, especially hits highs well while not ignoring bass.

Weakness:

None

I was looking for a good quality speaker at an affordable price. Not too uncommon! I ran into these speakers on a show room floor. This was my first exposure with this brand of speaker. The salesman had a pair in his own home and could not say enough about them. I decided to go ahead and pick a pair up, and have not regreted that decision since.
They act as a great audio (casual listening) speaker while serving very respectfully as my front left and right in my HT system. I have had friends with infinity, Polk, etc. and I would put this speaker up against any of them anytime. For my somewhat novice ear, they cover the sound spectrum without flaw. They can shake the room with a hard driving bass line, or reproduce an aquistic quitar solor.
You can obviously spend a lot more money, and get much better speakers (but would be hard pressed to hear the difference). But for the person who needs quality, but has other priorities in his life (wife, children), you can't beat the quality and value of Mission.

Similar Products Used: Bose, infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CRAIG YATES   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 1999]
Strength:

THE 733 ARE FINE SPEAKERS I PICKED UP A PAIR FOR 3OO$ I DUE NOT BELIVE YOU COULD DO MUCH BETTER.GOOD AS AUDIO FOR ROCK MUSIC,AND VIDIO MAINS.THESE SPEAKERS PRODUCE GREAT BASS ,ALL AROUND GOOD SPEAKER.

Weakness:

I LIKE CLASSICAL MUSIC AND JAZZ THEY ARE NOT AS SPACIOUS AS MY AR CLASSIC BY WIRE MODEL # 18 ,BUT THEY ALSO DID NOT COST 2000$. HOWEVER I THINK YOU COULD FIND BETTER SPEAKERS FOR 650$ FOR CLASSICAL MUSIC

HAVE NOT FOUND A SPEAKER THAT DESEVED A 5 STAR RATING.
IF YOU CAN PICK UP A PAIR USED BUY THEM YOU WILL NOY REGRET IT.

Similar Products Used: INFINITY RS2, POLK R1,DEFINITIVE BP8,BP1,AR CLASSIC #18
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com