Mission 732 Floorstanding Speakers

732

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 13, 2016]

This is a very good budget speaker, though perhaps not as good as some here are suggesting.

I'm arriving at these speakers having owned 734s, 751s and briefly 702s, and my current main set are PMC TB1s.

The TB1s are in a different league, as are the 751s. Both these speakers are much better than the 732 in terms of clarity, accuracy, balance, etc., and actually they highlight the exaggerated bass on the 732. But then again, they're significantly more expensive too..

The 702s are like cheap subwoofers, and any 73* should be way superior.

Compared to the 734s - surprisingly - to my ears the exaggerated bass is more prominent here; though obviously the floorstander should have more bass overall.

I should add that those were used in a much bigger room and with more budget electronics - this time I have a Sony ES amplifier with capacitor upgrades.

Anyway, there's decent clarity on offer here for the money, and to label these boomboxes (a la 702) would be unfair - but I bought them as fun speakers anyway, for which they deliver!

Ultimately, these are a great speaker to go loud with without compromising audio quality, and are still a great bargain & a credible alternative to most of the newer budget stuff available.

They would probably be better suited to gear of a similar budget too is my hunch.

The best part is, mine are near mint and they cost me £20 and a 3 hour drive! Expect to pay £60 for yours though - which is still worth the money.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Glenflame   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 30, 2009]

This is the best bookself size loud speakers ever heard. I really appreciate the original owner who didn;t realize the true value of the pair as I will keep them as long as long I could. It is so powerful that I even drove them using max. 110 watt without any issue.

The bass is good and it is so rich and crisp....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 11, 2009]

I bought these speakers almost 10 years ago when my second pair of KEF Codas broke after less than 2 weeks of use. I paid AU$580 for them and have been in love with them ever since. I've had them hooked up to a variety of sources but my favourite so far is a Rotel 980BX amp and 945BX CD player with Audio-Technica solid core cabling and NeoTech connectors. I also use them with a Thorens TD166/ADC Armed turntable which sounds utterly creamy.

The clarity and sound staging is incredible, and every time I have tested possible replacements I have walked away empty handed. I'm not saying that better speakers don't exist, but I do think you'll have to pay a hell of a lot more than $580 to beat these babies. The grille construction is stupid and placement is critical, but good stands and a little experimentation yield good results. I did find that these speakers don't seem to like wood floors.

As a side note, one of my amps went A/C and cooked one of the drivers, Mission were able to supply an new pair of drivers, fit them and run them in for a reasonable price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DMR   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 02, 2006]
Strength:

Cheap and cheereful ($300 Aus) and with the right mods really clean sound. So far they seem to be bulletproof.

Weakness:

When pushed hard you can hear box colouration in the base. Top end treblecould be a bit more detailed, but at this price ???

Re wire them internally with Audioquest CV6 and secure them with Bluetack to a good and solid pair of stands( mine are Travertine marble) and they just sing. sure they are not perfect but for AV and good party music they are great. Mine are teamed up with M&K's smallest active sub for extra base slam.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
soinie   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 12, 2004]
Strength:

Great sound for classical, opera.

Weakness:

A little bass shy; the grill assembly is flimsy

A 3.5 rating for the 732s? Ridiculous... I've had these speakers for more than 6 years and every time I think of selling them I give them a good listen only to realize how much I like their sound. It took a serious amount of time to break them in and placement on a pair of stands is essential to their playing up to potential. But they're one the best $250 audio investments I've made. They are not the most detailed speakers I've owned but they are exceptionally clear and effortlessly smooth.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent, rich sound.

Weakness:

Can get a bit muddy in the midrange with overly complicated pieces of music. Grill covers are poorly designed.

It took me 4 years to move these off of the bookshelf and on to stands, and I'm just beginning to appreciate how good they sound. They're beautifully flawed, have a great deal of character, and generally sound much better than the price I paid for them. It's unfortunate the grill covers are so flimsy but that can be easily remedied with a bit of velcro. If I had a better amp I'm not sure how much better these would sound but I'd love to find out.

Similar Products Used: Polk, B&W, Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Carlos   Audiophile [Jan 07, 2000]
Strength:

Good bass, reasonable highs. good overall for the price ($300.00 cdn)

I purchased these on a whim at the Adventure Electronics
going out of buisness clearance. (275.00 Canada)
I am currently using them in my office, they sound great for
the money.The bass is reasonably tight, but the highs can
be somewhat "disjointed" at times.The mids are quite good. They seem to be sensitive to the style of music being played on them ie: great with blues, not so good with some rock.
(But I am sure that is in great part due to the less than ideal production quality of many cd's out there.)
Overall based on price, these are a 5, & 3.5 without price.

System :Teac VRDS-9 cd player
Carver TFM-6cb power amps (bridged)(no pre-amp)
Wireworld Equinox cables & interconnects

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
JRG   an Audiophile [Oct 07, 1999]

Bought the Mission 732's a year or so ago as my surround speakers. They were heavily discounted demo models ($299.00 cdn.) at the now defunct Adventure Electronics. Well after a couple times of taking my 12 ga. speaker cables on/off the terminals, the positive banana jack stud broke off!!!! The sound quality is muddy in the midrange and the highs are rolled off but excellent bass definition for such a small box. I too have tried them out as my main speakers but they were not as good as my homemade loudspeakers. Back to surround duty the went.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
Herbridge Mo   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 11, 1999]

Seriously flawed speakers with congested midband, worse than Tannoy Mercury 2.5.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
Iver van de Zand   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 01, 2001]
Strength:

The Mission 732 is a really easy listner, producing a warmth and smooth sound.

Weakness:

The 732 really need quality stands and decent cables to perform. I am disappointed in the quality of the front-panel.

Having bought the excellent Onkyo CR70-R receiver/CD player, I decided to go for a pair of loadspeakers that werer easy to drive and have a warm, 'english' sound. I compared the 732's to B&W 302 and thought the Missions sound easier.

The Onkyo/Mission combo plays for sevral years now, and I never doubted this choice. However, I am currently planning to replace my complete system for a Linn / Naim combo together with the Manley Mabs Stingray tube amplifier. However my 732's will get a place in my bedroom.

My current system consists of:

- Receiver / CD player: Onkyo CR70-R
- Speaker Cable: Monster
- Spikes: Monster

Similar Products Used: - IMS Impact II
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com