Mission 701 Floorstanding Speakers

Mission 701 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

2 way Stand Mounted

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 53  
[Aug 23, 2013]
Jrnkrauss
AudioPhile

After reading the other less than stellar reviews given, I figure I must have gotten a great pair of Mission 701s!(?) Purchased them as a close out price of around $350 in 1995, I wouldn't stack them agains high-end speakers like quads, Gale GS401s, or Magnaplanar, but hey, apple to apples, they are fine speaker. Bass well defined and doesn't roll off til probably about 60 hz, never tempted to want a sub-woofer. Top end smooth, not quite as bright as i tend to like--unless im listening to cD's symbol crashing at 44,000 Hz. sampling rate (yuck, ear fatigue). Great depth and imaging in mid-range with my Luxman, Rega tone arm and cheap Grado cartridge, dont feel they necessarily shine in one genre of music, great detail with Jazz and classical. Not sure what source/electronics other reviews are using, but if you can get a pair for $200 or less I think you'll be satisfied as they sound excellent with mediocre electronics and phono cartridge/CD player

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 14, 2013]
Craig
Audio Enthusiast

These speakers must have been designed for the boom box crowd, next to a Boston or a Polk they sound horrible, don't be fooled by the reviews like I was, unless you like washed out mids with muddy booming bass, can't wait to get rid of them. the only good thing about them are the looks.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 15, 2004]
chemer
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good bass , nice sound colour

Weakness:

need a lot of power to awake kevlar bass

good speakers for paid money, verz good when playing classic gitar, latino... low on rock music when i play Armik thez bring me smile

Similar Products Used:

Wharfedale Diamond 8.2

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 02, 2003]
vbaglivio
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound. Solid highs, mids, and lows.

Weakness:

The finish is easily damaged.

these have to be one of the best speakers that i have heard in the under $400 price range.

Similar Products Used:

Infinity, JBL.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 07, 2002]
lee farnan
AudioPhile

Strength:

cost good at low levels (volume) "sweet midrange"

Weakness:

bass way too monotone and over blown limited dynamic ability sometimes quite hard edged

These speakers are fine if all you listen to in songs is the catchy corus of most pop songs these days, I found the bass lacking in detail almost blurring the rest of the music and they have the ability to start "clipping" at any given moment. Shame because i found the mid range quite "sweet" given that they were designed for our "youth" then perhaps a bad purchace by myself.

Similar Products Used:

i found Tangent monitor 5's much better.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 11, 2002]
Luke Weldon
AudioPhile

Strength:

Well I think that all the seagulls should be eaten or exploded so overall strength is quite AMAZINGLY AWSOME!

Weakness:

NONE SO BUGGER OFF!

I think overall that the mission 701's are quite good as the cheeseburgers of south france also agree with theese findings.

Similar Products Used:

MY OTHER GODDAM SPEAKERS!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 23, 2002]
Uneaten Meat
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Powerfull bass for bookshelf speakers and great midrange.

Weakness:

The front on these speakers DO come loose so be carefull not to have the bass up to high.

I found the Mission 701's very good all round speakers and i would definitely recommend them to a beginner in Hi-Fi seperates due to there cheap price.

Similar Products Used:

Yamaha Dsp amp Fisher studio reciever Technics SB-C450's

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 08, 2002]
Aseem Anwar
Casual Listener

Strength:

All round good speaker and great value

Weakness:

Nothing to date

I am a student and don't have much money. I have an amp connected to the sound card of my pc, i use it as a stereo, tele and dvd player. The Mission 701's play everything perfectly, they can handle the voice of the tele brilliantly and the bass is perfect.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 16, 2002]
aak
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good value for money. Good treble range.

Weakness:

Poor and cheap finishing (I had to take the woofer out and put some vilt under it to stop unwanted sounds)

I use them as backgroundspeakers in combination with my Mission 702e set. I''ve got a Luxman L4 2x60w continuous (1978) (18kg.!!!!) integrated amplifier. Everything is installed in my 4x4m bedroom so you can emagine that this sounds great. The 701 series produce a very rich sound for their size. It has s good tweeter and enough bass.

Similar Products Used:

Mission 702e, Magnat, Sony

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 27, 1999]
Neil Brown
an Audio Enthusiast

A hard choice to make because several good performers in this price bracket, but after a pathetic attempt to listen to them at a store (their listening room is 25 foot wide and the speakers face each other from opposite sides of the room..
ANyhow I liked the mid clarity, base not too overbearing, and the highs have a sparkle to them. Female voices sounded good to me so I took em home. Hooked them up to the ole ST70 (hardly one anymore but you get the idea). The missions sing! dynamices are good, staging is good and well balanced.

Classical violin is good, they swing to concord Jazz :-) Rock is clear and instruments have their own space. Dolly sounded a little thin on a couple of tracks but everything else was great. Celine is special especially track 8 on her recent compilation albumn.

THe speaker seems to handle bass overload very well compared to other I auditioned.

I was impressed that the manual said to run em in before experimenting with placement. THey have been running for 5 hours! In another 19 I will fool with placement. They seem to like short stands a the moment.

I would recommend them, very good sound for a $150 speaker!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 53  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com