LINN Keilidh Floorstanding Speakers

Keilidh

Infinite baffle speaker

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Windjammer   AudioPhile [Jun 04, 2012]

Bought a pair of Linn Keilidth round about '93 and will not give them up especially since I've moved them into my dedicated listening room.For a period of 5 years I had them stored and thought i had to change them for something more up to date however partnered with a Musical Fidelity Electra 100 amp, Rotel 965 bx CD and have them placed on Q stones plus three layers of bricks covered in velvet (to hide them) these speakers are hard to beat. This combo certainly
rocks: Deep bass excellent imaging open great with just about all genre of music especially jazz blues classical and even my king tubby reggae dub albums. I am planning to get another pair hopefully a much later version with the updated tweeters. I find that placing the bricks under them and a distance of about 10 inches from the wall let them sing.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JohnNick72   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2005]
Strength:

Great Looking Great Sounding Aktiv Flexibility

Weakness:

None Detected (so far)!

I recently purchased a pair of Cherry finished Keilidhs, with the Ku-Stone bases, 2nd hand for what I think was a steal - $635 (these were ~$2K new a few years ago). I am running them in Bi-Amped AKtiv mode through Tara Labs RSC Prime 1000 powered from 2 Linn LK140's sourced by a Linn Mimik CD player, and a Linn Majik IP Integrated Amp. I am amazed at the level of clarity, imaging, and the wonderfully full-bodied sound that these little monsters put out. These speakers, with this Linn setup, sound absolutely fabulous. I have listened to a random sampling of the Beatles, Led Zeppelin, David Gray, Ben Harper (with the Blind Boys of Alabama), Travis, Radiohead, Sting, Smashing Pumpkins, Charlotte Martin, Elliott Smith, Dave Matthews Band, & Ray LaMantangue in the 2 days since I had all the equipment, and they handle all of it perfectly. I just can't get the smile off my face! :-) Do yourself a favor and pick up a pair of these, and run them with an all Linn system for maximum enjoyment!

Similar Products Used: I have some Linn LS120 Index (on Ku-Stones), but they aren't even close to these in performance. I auditioned the Kaber, and Keltik a while back (in the early 90's) and they were fabulous also. Linn makes great gear!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
steve-03   Audio Enthusiast [May 25, 2003]
Strength:

They gave the music emotion.

Weakness:

They need alot of power for the bass, eg: they need to be 'Aktive' for you to fully enjoy the speakers

When i first lisened to the Keilidhs, i knew i wanted them, i had at the time Karik cd, Wakonda, and two Lk100 amps, they sounded much better than my Linn Index speakers, which was no suprise! But i found that the bass could not keep up with certain music, this was sorted when i added active cards to the Lk100, it sounded alot better, it inproved further when i bought another Lk100 with Aktive card, but it was then that i found that the Keilidhs were not bringing out the best in my all Linn system, which was then Tri- active, the bass was abit 'one note' so i now going to change them for Linn Espek, which will then bring out the full potential of my system, but at £885 they certainly made me 'hear the music' for a very long tine.

Similar Products Used: Mission, infinity.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Paul Lansell   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2003]
Strength:

Clarity and feeling in the music

Weakness:

Bass can on occasion be blurred

Laying back for the first time to listen to the Keilidh's i tried a variety of musical forms. It excels in all forms with great feeling coming through in soft music such as Shawn Colvin or The Beautiful South. It also brings out the life in more upbeat music creating a real "toe tapping" sensation, but where the Linns shine best for me is when i relax and sit back to some Easy Listening and classical music. Frank Sinatra's live album goes a long way to show the quality of the speakers. The only fault (if any) with the Keilidh's is a tendency for bass to be mixed on more dancy records. All in all excellent value for money

Similar Products Used: Linn Ninka, Kef KHT2002
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
p_yuan   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 21, 2002]
Strength:

Good reproduction with Hi-end flavor

Weakness:

Not really, but from my personal feeling, it doesn''t have much strong character in sound.

I had a friend moving to Shanghai, who didn''t want to spend a lot to set up his HT. This gave me a chance to sell my 1st HT system. And now it''s my turn. During the test, it didn''t give me strong 1st impression but did present all details of music and very balanced. Overally it''s good for sound reproduction. Besides its decent name is also of additional value. Unfortunately I was given an offer which can''t be given up at great cut of my budget for a pair of MS Performance 860, which is at different level of reproducing greater energy. (For interested friend, please check my review under Mordaunt-short 860). Wish all users good experiences with your Keilidh.

Similar Products Used: NAIM
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
  Audio Enthusiast [Apr 02, 2002]
Strength:

Beautifully Built ,Quality & most of all - "Music as heard from Keilidhs"

Weakness:

Bass only goes down to 50Hz(passive)

Keilidh is a very smooth speaker never fatiguing even at high volume levels.The central image & the soundstage it creates is great for a $2K speaker.What i like most about them is the ability to listen for hours & i mean hours,without getting tired. I use the Keilidhs in an all LINN system & this review is also on the same context.For some reason i did not bother to change my old AQ speaker cables to LINN.Recently i replaced them with the K400 & that was the day i really started respecting the Keilidhs.I had an entirely new system with better bass,slam & more detail.It sounded full and gone was the feeling "something is missing".So,for anyone using Keilidhs with other wire you owe it yourselves to try them. Anyway they don''t cost the earth. For me the true test of a speaker lies in how much emotion they can evoke in you & not hearing a pepsi can falling somewhere in the audience.The Keilidh does this admirably & you get soaked in the music. To date,every time before hitting the stop button i pause for a second or two ,just to be able to catch that last ounce of excitement. Need i say more !! P.S. - There''s around 30 reviews on the Keilidhs under "Center Channels ??"

Similar Products Used: Linn Espek,Ninka,KEF Reference,Sonus F, Tannoy,Naim Intro
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve C   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 10, 2002]
Strength:

Great looks, very good sound overall; it would take the likes of Naim SBL (at £2250) to significantly improve.

Weakness:

Bass can be a little ''one-note'' and thuddy at times

I bought cherry Keilidhs (arguably the prettiest finish) new almost 5 years ago when I upgraded from Mission 733s. This was a significant upgrade, and I have upgraded the rest of my system (Rega Planar 3 -> Linn LP12/Lingo, Naim NAC92 -> Naim NAC82, Naim NAP140 -> Naim NAP250). I demo''ed them against Naim Intro 2s - although the Naims won out on certain tracks, the Linns were more evenhanded overall, and did not shriek at you as the Intro''s could sometimes do. Although the NAC82 preamp upgrade was the biggest eyeopener, the Keilidhs have grown as the upgrades were made, and are still not outclassed yet. They have a lovely smooth treble and articulate midrange; the only small issues I have is that they can still sound a little shut in, and as I''ve upgraded poweramps the bass can be a little thuddy with certain types of music. This is largely correctable with adjusted positioning etc. They have the improved tweeters installed as I had a small accident with the power amp and fried the originals. Apparently these tweeters are also used in the Linn Kabers (circa £6k speakers); this may explain the £145 replacement charge! I use Mana Soundbase speaker supports instead of the Linn Kustones, as I prefer the overall improvement Mana brings.

Similar Products Used: Mission 733 Mission 760 Naim IBL
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Thor   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 11, 2001]
Strength:

Upgradable; active-mode

I started with the speakers in passive mode driven by LK100 power-amp, Wakonda pre-amp and Mimik CD-player. When upgrading to active mode with 2 power-amps the improvement was striking. The vocals came out very clearly and imaging improved drastically. But be aware of the great improvement made by upgrading the tweeters. In January 2001 the new tweeters used in the new series of louspeakers came out. Some soldering and 3 screws and the speakers became so much clearer and open-sounding. I strongly recommend all Linn speaker owners to upgrade their tweeters as it almost certainly is the most cost-effective upgrade you can do! Previously the Keilidhs sounded a bit shut-in, but this is now all gone.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Emmanuel Tychon   Audiophile [Jan 22, 2001]
Strength:

Discrete look, neutral sound

Weakness:

You have to pay an option for the standing feets

I think it's interesting to share my story with the Keilidh speakers:

I was usging my Keilidh with an Audio Innovation integrated amplifier, and an Arcam Alpha 7 player. Since the beginning, I found quite annoying the bass of the Keilidh. They where too loud, too present.

I suspected always the Keilidh to be too bass, because of the two woofers. I keept my system like this for more then two year, unsatisfied.

I wanted to change my Keilidh and buy Totem or so, but my local shop discouraged me. The Keilidh where good speakers, so I should be the amplification. Then I changed my ALTO
for a Linn Kolector + Linn LK85.

Now it's really superb, I do not have any other words... The treeble are wonderfully subtle, but the most important, now the bass are really well equilibrated.

Similar Products Used: RAM Hermes, Totem One
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dennis B.   Audiophile [Apr 23, 2001]
Strength:

Image,Soundstage,Definition,Timbre.

Weakness:

Definitely None!

I have been in the industry a long time,and have heard many loudspeakers. Never have I come across a speaker,at this price [even at full retail] that can come close to the keilidh's.If you have not heard these speakers,then I suggest you search them out,and you will be amazed.!

Similar Products Used: None,because there is no equal in this category.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com