Klipsch RF3II Floorstanding Speakers

Klipsch RF3II Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

KLIPSCH 2-WAY TOWER SPEAKERS, 150-600 WATTS => Model RF-3II

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 37  
[Nov 04, 2015]
markyg66
AudioPhile

I've owned many large mains,these being the smallest so far. I have them running off of a Marantz sr18u and all I can say is WOW!!!!

The soundstage is smooth,and crisp at the same time.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 19, 2012]
Shafqat
Audio Enthusiast

I got my RF-3II in 2004 from my very close friend, (actually he purchased complete RF-7, RC-7 & RS-7 system). I used many amps with these spkrs i.e., Yamaha DSP-AZ1, RX-V1300, RX-V1500, RX-V659, RX-V2600, RX-V1900 and DENON AVR-3805 & 3808a. The best amp matched with RF-3II was DENON AVR-3805. Very powerful & clear/high quality amp. my complete system is RF-3II, RC-3II, RF-15 and RW-12 Sub. This is very very great setup and the sound of these speakers is out of this world. These speakers are very balanced and unbelievable clear and neutral. Bass is excellent. My room size is 18x15. The people who say it lacks the bass range, are wrong, may be they are using low power amp. Overall I will say that Klipsch make the World's Best Theater Speakers. No doubt...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 2008]
haris
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

very good built quality. very chorus like . extremely good bass and treble also very neutral, try running your audio connection through an hdmi cable and you will be amazed.

Weakness:

none so far...make sure your room placement is right.

These speakers are very good, they are powered with a pioneer 1018 receiver and sound extremely good, very neutral. A side note about the bass. These speakers have extremely good bass, you just have to set them up properly. if you set them up properly with your receiver you will get tons of bass, they don't produce the frequencies that my cf-4 can but these are extremely good. Also keep in mind the room acoustics, i had em set up badly before and they sounded horrible. the sound stage was missing and there was tons and tons of standing waves and bass. now they sound beautiful and sound is very pleasing, specially with pianos and musical instruments.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 05, 2008]
haris Javed
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

good built, Very good quality, it rocks with my ps3. they are excellent....i dont know whats the difference Rf-3 vs RF3 II, but these things are WONDERFUL.

Weakness:

kinda heavy

just picked them up at a very nice price. This is my first floorstanding speaker. i compared them to the Best Buy klipsch F-3, and these blow them away. i am running these with a 300$ pioneer amplifier and they sound wonderful with a lot of power to spare. i am using these with a RW-12D, and i have it on the off settings as the Speakers itself produce a lot of wonderful bass....it may not be subwoofer low but its very good.

Similar Products Used:

heaven t used any but listened to many of em.....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 11, 2006]
AudioPhileExpert101
AudioPhile

Strength:

Value, Bass Response, Build Quality, Everything!

Weakness:

VERY SLIGHTLY harsh treble at times.

I've owned my Klipsch RF3's for a over 2 years and have been listening to them since new. I got them on a trade with a friend of mine and these things are just animals. The overall build quality is just great and the sound is even more impressive. Some people think the lower frequency extension is weak, but that's all in their amplification/setup. Properly setup, the RF3's will fill a large room with enough powerful bass to fool almost anybody in thinking you have a subwoofer hidden somewhere. I have used these speakers in many different setups using many different components, and so far Denon Amplification (AVR-5600) sounds the best. I've used Carver, Sunfire, Yamaha, and many others. While Sunfire/Carver is also impressive, the high end Denon Receivers are just fantastic! The only downfall I can think of is in the high end. They seem to get slightly harsh when brilliant sharp sounds are reproduced. I mean slightly. Klipsch has really done their homework when it comes to making a horn tweeter sound excellent.

Similar Products Used:

Name it!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 21, 2006]
steve
AudioPhile

I'll tell you what...Everyone that says these speakers don't have much bass You must try them out on a pair of Mcintosh 60 momoblocks. These speakers will produce whatever you want them to!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 29, 2006]
kaogren
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great high end - maybe too great.
So efficient that it can be run on a battery powered integrated amp.
Amazing sound for the dollar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Try it with Sonic Impact's "T-Amp" for $29.00, you will be amazed!

http://www.tnt-audio.com/ampli/t-amp_e.html


Weakness:

Beaming of the horn tweeters, if not corrected.

I have had my Klipsch RF3II for two years. I really liked them for the depth of the sound stage they brought to my music.

I have been running them with a medium level Rotel pre-amp and (two) Marantz MA-500, 125 watt, mono block, THX rated amps.

I loved the clarity, but I was always trying ways to reduce the high end beaming from the horn tweeters. Nothing I did helped much. Then I had an epiphany. I bought at $29.00 “Sonic Impact” T-Amp.

This little sucker is an integrated, 10 watt/channel (in 8 ohm) integrated amplifier. It can even be battery powered with (8) AA batteries. (I am now running it with a 3 Amp 12 volt power supply.)

Gone was the iterating beaming that I was getting from the horn teeters. I have never owned a tube amp (but I was about to make the investment), but what the reviews of the T-Amp said, it is very “tube like”.

I have dumped my relatively expensive Rotel pre-amp and my Marantz amps and now am a much more of a happy camper.

It plays on my Klipsch as loud as I can stand it for any reasonable time, with the clarity that I hadn’t heard before.

So if you have these speakers and you have the problem I have had, invest $29.00 in this joke of a box and I bet you will be as please I am.

http://www.tnt-audio.com/ampli/t-amp_e.html

Similar Products Used:

ADS
Klipsch
Ascend Acoustic (they are much much better than Ascend..IMHO)
Def-Tech

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 09, 2005]
jmon
AudioPhile

Strength:

mid and high frequecies reproduces beautifully. perfect speaker for Jazz/Classical/Older recordings

Weakness:

base is non existent, not getting 100% of the music for new recorded cd's, those who like to turn it up, movies and sports

Well these speakers have some great points and some not so great points. Depending on your listening tastes these could be the best speakers on the marketing or subpar. They are IDEALLY designed for Jazz/Classical and older recordings. The mid to high range frequencies are amazing, it sounds as if the band is playing right in front of you. There is perfect segmentation between the two, yet they marry beautifully. If you're always playing at lower volumes and this type of music, DON"T READ another review of different speakers, this IS hands down the best speaker for the money and those listening needs. Now to the downside. The word base and Klipsch RF3 II shouldn't be used in the same sentence. If you're listening to any new recordings whether country, rap or pop, you will be gravely disappointed. The base is sub par at best. Don't crank these either, they really sound like they're struggling and they dont' give you that "fill room" feeling. (I'm pushing them with a B&K AVR507) Movies and sports are also poor. I've added a great sub, but the sub never produces the some sounds as if it was coming from the floorstanding. The Klipsch KLF 10 or RF7 are the real speakes to get should you want to "turn it up" every now and again and feel the music from newer recordings.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 13, 2004]
whodunnit
Casual Listener

Strength:

crystal clear sound. Build quality is awesome.

Weakness:

Bass needs to be improved.

My first Klipsch speakers...excellent sound reproduction. A little harsh during the break-in period. Not too happy with the bass. Use it primarily for movies but music sounds great too. Would highly recommend these speakers. Bought them at www.acousticsounddesign.com...great deals on speakers here.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 13, 2004]
Bops
Casual Listener

Strength:

Superb highs and mid range. Crystal clear sound. Solid build quality.

Weakness:

flimsy grills.

Have had them for 2 years now. Excellent speakers. Perfect for movies or music. Bass is not great but that is what subs are for. The grills are flimsy. I've got a Klipsch center channel speaker and will have Klipsch surrounds soon..love Klipsch:)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com