Klipsch RF-15 Floorstanding Speakers

RF-15

The Reference Series continues to provide astounding power, detail and emotion with the new RF-15 floorstanding loudspeaker. Modeled after the best selling RF-3, the RF-15 incorporates the same dynamic quality, superior sound and visual appeal principles, but in a more compact size and at a price that’s more affordable than ever.

The RF-15 unleashes its power through its dual 5.25-inch, magnetically shielded woofers and a low-mass 1-inch titanium diaphragm tweeter loaded with a square Tractrix® Horn. The advanced horn design dramatically increases efficiency and enables the loudspeaker to produce more output using less energy. This allows the loudspeaker to have the lowest possible distortion and highest possible reliability.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
jazz56   AudioPhile [Apr 27, 2014]

Klipsch rt-15 for stereo listening .....I been on this beautiful hobby of sound for at least 20 years and I been spending a lot of money on equipment ..right now I have a preamp Rogue 99 and the amplifier Rogue 90 both tubes ..many speakers are been here in my room the last ones was the Ushers cp -6381. .135 pounds each speaker ...and this klipsch take those away ..for the size and price ..is like why an audiophile need to spend so much money on this or that and in the end we sale spensive equipment and keeping the low level for some people ...Well my friend is you just one to stop searching ..this klipsch rt15 are the solution. ..I use good speaker cables ..Kimber kable bi wire ..With a decent cd player you have the right setup ...I paid just $200 can you imagine LOL

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Magri   AudioPhile [Nov 28, 2010]

RF15 is one of the outstanding loudspeakers I've ever heard. For just $300 (each), I got crisp, loud and brilliant sound, no matter what kind of music I was listening, it was always sound superb.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
klipschman   AudioPhile [Oct 04, 2005]
Strength:

great build quality, great sound,internal monster cable, somewhat affordable, makes you smile it is so loud and in your face.

Weakness:

they are not free

these speakers absolutely rock. No matter what sound is coming out of them they give you a crystal clear reproduction, i did not realize how loud they were until i left my place and could still hear them from outside and crystal clear i might add. from the looks to the performance and its 400 watt peak they rule the basements of the few who know. Those who dont like horn speakers can get some other brand but for my money klipsch is the way to go, i dont work for them but damn they are good. Just playing video games takes you to another level... If you love movies,games and music it is a great choice, i have hear others AND I BOUGHT THE KLIPSCH...AND I WOULD DO IT AGAIN. hands down great speakers

Similar Products Used: jbl, infinity, paradigm, mission, energy, cerwin vega
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DBLASVEGAS@aol.com   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 19, 2005]
Strength:

efficient. great volume for a smaller room/lower wattage amp combo. great clean clear sound for the price

Weakness:

sometimes, rarely not often, female voices tend to have a closed in horn sound. i dont have this problem with my RF-7s. possibly the small horn used in this speaker??????? you need a sub if your going to play them at higher volumes with bass heavy media.

The Klipsch RF-15 home theater system is great for the money and fits nicely in a smaller space. I started out with a RW-8 sub because my room is small. I quickly found out i needed the larger RW-10. The mains are great as long as you have a sub without it you have to be careful at louder volumes the woofers cant handle media with stronger bass. It starts to sound forced in my opinion. Make no mistake, these is not my RF-7 HT system but never the less im very very impressed with them and they work perfectly in my master bedroom retreat. i also looked at the RF-10s. I just didnt like the treble. seemed muted. I had also listened to the RF-25s and RF-35s. I didnt really want to spend the money on RF-35s and they are a little big for the room. the 25s were fine also i just liked the 15s the best for the money and their size and sound. I listen to club music to jazz and use the system for HT. i havent been disappointed yet.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch RF-7, Klipsch RC-7, Klipsch RS-7, Klipsch RB-35, Klipsch RSW-12, Klipsch KG 4.2, Klipsch KG-1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
siccivic   AudioPhile [Oct 05, 2004]
Strength:

with the right receiver these little towers can blow your mind

Weakness:

their not free for the whole world to listen to.

of all the under the towers i had listened to i liked these ones the most because the music is tighter then their bigger bros but still loud and clear.loud enough to not be overtaken by 4 yes 4 def. tech. supercube ones.I have 6 of these in my 7.4 setup.It sounds so sweet for music,movies,and video games yeah try this setup with xbox rainbow 6 3: black arrow it's just not fair for everybody else when you got this and a 61'' samsung dlp and they are playing on 27'' tv's with stereo.Dvd-audio rocks.

Similar Products Used: yamaha,def.tech.,jbl,bose,infiniti,kef,and some others but i forget.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
--D--   AudioPhile [May 30, 2004]
Strength:

Good build, sound great with HT which is what I bought them for mostly. I really feel these speakers will keep me happy until I can afford Thiels (the speakers that will probably put an end to my speaker buying endeavors). :) I give a 5 overall, because they far exceed what I expected. They also get a 5 for value because Best Buy sells the Synergy line for a lot more and those aren't as good. The larger Klipschs in the Reference line aren't necessarily better until you get into the flagship line. These guys outperform speakers of similar size and build from other companies.

Weakness:

At the price I paid, I'm not going to complain. I mean, the Klipsch sound may not be the most accurate by scientific standards or anything, but I bought them knowing this, and I enjoy them anyway. That's the important thing here.

These little Klipsch speakers are the hands-down best I've owned for home theater. I can't say they're the best speakers for music that I've owned but if your priorities are 80% HT 20% music listening then you can't go wrong with these. I'm not saying they're not good for music, but they're not as good as Paradigm Studio 20s, KEF RDM 2s, or Boston VRM-50s all of which I own or have owned, are more expensive, and are studio monitor quality. The Klipsches will out rock all those other speakers however and are also easier to drive. Perfect for HT. I also considered the larger Klipsch RF-25s and 35s, but couldn't get past their warm / artificially full sound. Male vocals had too much resonance and were just too chesty for me. Just didn't sound as neutral/natural as the rf-15s. This is just my opinion and being pampered by that tight, focused, studio monitor sound, the RF-15s were just a better choice for me. I also have an M&K sub (GREAT Product for those that want/need, tight, accurate, bass) so I didn't need the lower frequencies produced by the larger towers. I know you're probably wondering why I didn't go with another bookshelf type speaker and the fact of the matter is most small speakers especially one's in this price range just can't give you the impact of larger ones and that's what I was craving for with my HT. Along with that I also got a more exciting and very intelligle sound. I'm not running a center channel right now and I'm not in a huge hurry to get one because the to RF-15s do a GREAT job of anchoring the sound to the screen. This is probably due to the way the horn directs/disperses sound in a more controlled way than a conventional dome tweeter. I'm going to get an rc-25 at some point. See my review for it in under the rc-35 (I auditioned both but just wrote one review). Don't let their small size and reasonable price fool you. These little speakers give you A LOT of bang for the buck. Why didn't they make these about 5-6 years ago. Would've saved me a lot of money and hassle with other brands.

Similar Products Used: All these speakers I've owned or had extensive experience with. NHT Super 2 KEF RDM 2 Boston VRM-50 Paradigm Atom v.2 Acoustic Energy Aegis One Paradigm Mini Monitor PSB Stratus Gold i and various Alphas and Image series Thiel CS 2.4 Wilson Watt Puppy 7 and Sophia Various B&W and Martin Logan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
aangus   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2004]
Strength:

Clean crisp output, good looking design, magnetic grilles

Weakness:

Soft on the bass unless close to wall, then there are no weaknesses.

bought these two floorstanding RF-15's from www.acousticsounddesign.com and just hoped for the best. They are the best sounding speakers I've ever listened to, and they are certainly the best I've ever owned. They have a richer sound than the bookshelf speakers and they don't take up much room thanks to their slim design. www.acousticsounddesign.com was also very quick in sending, and they came without a scratch. Will be ordering the RC-25, RS-25, and the RW-10 shortly to make the system even better. Great speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Del Ogren   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2003]
Strength:

Nice flat frequency response. Incredible clairty and definition. Good value.

Weakness:

If ya want Bass that registers on the Richter scale, you'll need a sub-woffer.

After years of trying to get more bang for our bucks from relatively inexpensive speakers, my wife and I decided to do something about it. We'd tried all the cheap stuff that promised more than they delivered. So, today, I came home with a pair of Klipsch RF-15's... My wife and I were stunned! At last, we had speakers that worked! There's a "saying" around here, "nothing beats new music in the house". We've been listening to our old CD's since I got the speakers hooked up, and every one of 'em sounds like "new music"... Some of the tunes that we loved in the past came through so clearly, and with such range and definition, that it brought back the emotional response we experienced on first hearing them. It's possible to spend a lot more for speakers. But I can't imagine why anyone would do that, except for bragging rights... Way good bang for the buck! Caviat! Buy Klipsch from on-line "dealers" at you own risk! Klipsch will _not_ support high-end products bought from on-line from discounters! We got a good deal from a local authorized dealer, and, if I have problems, I know where he is!

Similar Products Used: Bunches of low-rent garbage that pretends to be hi-fi, including some that weren't so low-rent...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chinoloco   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 29, 2003]
Strength:

Good Price point for "reference" type of speakers. The famous klipsch "horn" sound. Titanium tweeter.

Weakness:

Bass not deep from 5.25 woofer.

WOW!!! I got these for 325.00/pr from Audiogon. For the price, all i can say is wow. Great set of speakers. I use these as my fronts on the Home Theater setup and they sound great. I also use them as small speakers in a 2.1 Channel Music setup with the Bass going to the RW10 subwoofer. I did not get enough bass from the mains by themselves and like a fuller, richer sounding bass, so I am glad I chose to separate the signals in the receiver and have the Subwoofer handle all the bass. That would be my only 1 complaint. But what would you expect from a .25 woofer? If I wanted to run a pure 2 speaker system, i would have gotten a RF-35, which has (2) 8 in woofers instead. However, this setup is better for Home Theater and for my music tastes. I cannot tell from the Klipsch site whether the tweeter is a new design or not. Its a titanium driver and its very sweet. The highs are very articulate. Put in the Matrix DVD and start from the Lobby shooting scene. the gunfire reproduction is excellent. The true telling tale was in the helicopter scene where all those shells from the gatling gun are falling. the bounce of the shells is just very good. I am happy with the mids on this speaker. listening to music, the mids are very evident, giving the music a richer sound then alot of other speakers. I popped in a Eagles CD and the guitars are very alive. I do admit, if you get these, you must match them with other Klipsch Reference series for best sound. I have the RC25 as the center, the RS25 as the surrounds and the RW10 for the sub. Just excellent all the way around.

Similar Products Used: None, this is my first set of Floor speakers. I don't want to compare satellites or bookshelf to the floor standing speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com