Klipsch Reference RB 5 Floorstanding Speakers

Klipsch Reference RB 5 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

2 way alum. drivers.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 46  
[May 16, 2008]
manlystanley
Casual Listener

Strength:

Everything.

Weakness:

Well, as a stretch they're not really book shelve size. But, I'm just saying this to find something to put in this section. Besides that, great speakers.....

Bought these speakers off Criagslist on the strength of others reviews. I'm putting in a home theater in my basement and and the cheap speakers that came with my Denon AVR-587 just didn't do the job

Even to my very untrained ear, these speakers are exceptional. The sound great at: low volumes, and high. Also, the cherry wood is beutiful.

If you can get these speakers--buy them. They blow away anything else that I own.

Similar Products Used:

Cerwin Vega LS-8

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2008]
Stan
Casual Listener

Bought a set of Klipsch RB-5's off Craigslist and am using them on a Denon AVR-687. This will be used for a surround sound movie/music system that I'm building. These speakers sound great!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 27, 2007]
DR
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Efficiency is high 96, well made, (real wood veneer), price.

Weakness:

None for its design

I am using these fine speakers in a 2 channel setup, with MC30 amps, Mc712 pre, and a TDK cd recorder run through a Camelot Arthur v3 DAC. All I can say is that they are truly a great speaker at any price. Oh sure they may not be able to put out as much as a floor standing model, but using them with a sub is very close. The sound stage is wide & deep, voices are "in the room close" , and bass is very good down to about 40hz.
Efficiency is every tube amp owners dream, and these certainly bring out the best in the Mc30 amps. Bi-wiring with homemade wires really added another level of performance to these beauties. 5 stars all the way.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 09, 2003]
elcomp
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Discovered that i can use them with real hi-end equipment.the dynimics are the biggest streght of these speakers.

Weakness:

You need to play with som volume to get the real good sound out of them.

The first time i wrote a review on the rb-5's was when i just bought them and i was usting them in a home theater system with harman kardon produckts.Now i have had them for 1 1/2 years and have switch back to two channel audio, I use electrocompaniet pre amp, power amp and cd-player and the ksw 15 sub, and now i feel that i finnaly have reach the potessial of these speakers, they are now better than ever and the soundstage and clarity of the sound has improved extremely much, I thin these speakers are ment for two channel audio not budget home teather .

Similar Products Used:

dynabel exact , klipsch rf-7 .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 03, 2002]
Steve
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity (beautiful decay of notes, natural soundstage, excels with DVD, superb value.

Weakness:

None.

Clarity, precision and good looks. That descibes the Klipsch RB-5II. The cherry cabinets are beautifully built and solidly put together. But the sound...wow! I have been putting together a system in my family room over the past couple of years and have finally arrived at a point in which I am very pleased. I am not unfamiliar with audiophile sound and equipment. That is probably why it took me so long to arrive at Klipsch. I own Magnepan speakers (upstairs in master bedroom) and owned Tannoy - Revolutions, R2, R1 and RC. The Tannoy's were downstairs in my home theater set-up. We also listen to alot of music there as well, and while the Tannoys are very musical with great neutral reproduction, they did not shine during movies. I auditioned many speakers during the past couple of years, listening to Vienna, B&W, Definitive and many others. But the Klipsch kept demonstrating to me a clarity and value that could not be overlooked. I listen to classical, jazz, smooth jazz and rock and these perform brilliantly (keep in mind I listen to my "Maggies" upstairs alot as well). I now have the following home theater set-up: Klipsch RB-5II Klipsch RB-3 (rears) Klipsch RC-3II Polk PSW-300 sub Denon 2800 DVD Denon AVR2802 These speakers are not bright. They are accurate. Audiophile grade.

Similar Products Used:

Magenepan, Tannoy, Advent

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 19, 2002]
lcpguy
Audio Enthusiast

See my old review from November 2000. All the plusses still apply. These speakers are just awesome and wear well on you with age. I have been listening to even more vinyl records on my Denon DP-47F turntable with a Grado Gold cartridge. My, still pristine, old Blue Note jazz recordings are just awesome. Life like, smooth with tremendous impact. Classical music is just gorgeous. You'd think you have a "real" piano in the same room. Both male and female vocals are fantastic and liquid smooth. Try Joan Baez's Diamonds and Rust for a good example of what these can do with female vocals. Well, they're goin' on two years old and I like them better than my previous review indicated.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 19, 2002]
420foreman
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean and precise sound, little power needed to make them SING!

Weakness:

HEAVY!!! but, "They sure are purty!!"

In September of 2001 my wife and I moved into our new home. After a few months of getting all the small stuff taken care of, I finally convinced my wife (and checkbook) that I "deserved" a new Home Theater (her words, not mine). This being my first journey into HT, I did my research diligently (thanks in part to everyone on this site). I had narrowed my recievers down to Yamaha and Denon, and my speakers to between Klipsch Synergy and B&W (wife wanted the "cute liitle" speakers..told her NO! ;) ). I also decided that since I had a "modest" budget that I would throw in a new DVD player and Mega Changer. With checkbook (well CheckCard) in hand I went to visit a good friend at a local store. The reciever was first, I listened to the Denons, Sonys, Pioneers and Yamahas. To me it was no contest, Yamaha won hands down. So the RXV-1200 was added to the "buy list". The next part was going to be the hardest part...choosing the right speaker for my taste. This is the part of the review that I tell everyone to GO LISTEN TO SPEAKERS BEFORE YOU MAKE YOUR DECISION ON WHAT IS THE "BEST". I had gone into the store with the full intention of buying the B&W setup, no ifs ands or buts. After much deliberation my "Audio Adviser" talked me into maybe holding off on the dvd player and Mega changer and put that money towards speakers (the real "heart" of your system). After agreeing (since I could still use my XBOX as a dvd player for the time being) I reluctantly listen to Klipsch''s "high line" Reference Series. They had a room set up with RB5II''s, RC3''s, RS3''s, and a KSW15. I WAS HOOKED! Blew everything else away that I had listed to in the previous 2 hours! He worked me a KILLER deal since I was buying everything (power conditioner, wires, cables, EVERYTHING) at once. I actually came in under my projected budget (albeit without a dvd player or mega changer) so with my little extra money, and since the RXV1200 is 6.1, I added the Klipsch SC1 as my rear center. That has been 4 months ago and I have not regreted my decision since. The RB5''s get better and better everytime I listen to them. For music they are unbelievably clean and precise. But they really shine in DTS movies!!! The system as a whole is unsurpassed for the money. (I''ve even "converted" my Bose, Paradigm(sp?), and B&W neighbors!!). I commend Klipsch for bringing a top notch product to market at a reasonable

Similar Products Used:

never used, but listed to B&W, Bose(ick), Mirage, Phase Linear

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2002]
wata
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Not to bright,clean and warm sound

Weakness:

Go for the RB-5s

These are the RB-3s which I bought with the idea of using these as rears on a 7.1 setup later on.But I was surprised by the sound and performance of these speakers in a 2.1 with a RSW10 Sub.My friend has RB-5s and we agree if you can afford it go for the RB-5s.Thanks to Acoustic Sound Design for there great service

Similar Products Used:

Energy

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 26, 2002]
rod f
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

great build, seXy, especially on nice stands

Weakness:

none, just KLIPSH should have rewired them to begin with

great speakers, was going to get the rbs-II, but the double II only means re-wire. sounds are high, will need a sub with these,,,my def. tech. 12" does just fine.My onkyo 575 pushes them well, would love the new thx onkyo but i just bought a WRX....anyways i got inwall TRIAD THX surrpunds, and my c-3 klipsh for center....pretty much thats it,,,i f you have a big house , you might want to rewire....the rb5,,,it will cost you about 30 bucks for some good wire , 14Gauge. I will not rewire, do to the fact that in paper results it may look better, but to the ear, same SH*T!!!

Similar Products Used:

cerwin vega, bose

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 06, 2002]
j1719m
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Cost, Sound, Craftsmanship

Weakness:

None

This review is for the RB5-II''s. These small speakers are giant killers. The sound is awesome. I was going to purchase Definitive Tech''s power monitors (700''s) with built in Subwoofer''s. The Def-Tech''s had a bit more base, but I have an Ads Subwoofer and decided to use it to cover the lows. The Klipsch''s mid-and upper sound was superior to the Def-Tech''s. I use my 5''s for music and home theatre applications and I''m very pleased. These bad boys are heavy! They produce great sound and are a bargain for the price. I would urge anyone to listen to different speakers before you buy. Everyones taste is different. For me, this was an excellent choice!

Similar Products Used:

B&W- 601''2--602''2--800 series

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com