Klipsch Quartet Floorstanding Speakers

Klipsch Quartet Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

3 Way horn loaded tweeter and midrange, 10" woofer, 12" passive rad

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Aug 03, 2011]
LCURL
Audio Enthusiast

I bought these in 1996 or 1997. They still sound as great as the day I bought them. From rock to hip hop to classical everything sounds great as long as they have enough power driving them. I'll never have to buy another pair of stereo speakers again.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 17, 2011]
rdusa
Audio Enthusiast


I spent a lot of time reading audio reviews and visiting dealer showrooms to find an accurate full range speaker for my basement man-cave. My E-V speakers were coming up on 20 years old and I thought it time to upgrade. I listened to Usher(^), Spendor, Paradigm, Quad, Dali (^), B&W, etc etc. All nice speakers but costing $1000's and some demanding huge power input in order to perform properly (at least that's what the experts said).

The guy who bought my E-V was a tube lover and he called me back giggling about how great they sounded. That set me to thinking about horns again. I've seen Klipsch Forte, Heresy and Quartets for sale cheap (like $400 pair) and decided to explore. Long story short, I finally found a nice set of Quartets for a good price and took the plunge

Misplaced too close the the wall in my "L" shaped basement, I was impressed with the clarity of the mid and high horns. Just brilliant (no, not shrill). The base was strong down to below 40 Hz. Although a tad on the muddy side. Going the next step, I bought titanium diaphragms and new crossovers (not needed) from Bob Crites and kicked it up another notch. Wow. The high end clarified even more and was extended. Mids were clean and precise as well. You can point to a little "boxiness" in the sound, and less imagining than the modern linear array designs, but if you like listening to live electric performances, then these speaker replicate that sound admirably. Highly efficient and dynamic. I drive mine through a Sansui AU-919 and they shine. Good recordings open up amazingly well. I really wonder what these babies would do through a nice warm tube amp...........

Bottom line, you can spend $1000's but I now wonder why you would want to.





OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 13, 2010]
pianodave
Audio Enthusiast

I'm new to this site, and I thought that I would share the following: By Trade, I'm a concert piano tuner, and my ears hear things most people don't.

Today, I bought a pair of (mint) Klipsch Quarter Speakers from a local Goodwill for $199. I am listening to them on my (rebuilt) Dynaso ST-70 amp, with the PAS-3 preamp. I can't believe the sound. I had been using Electro voice Aristrocrats. I will keep the Aristrocrats, but now will use the Kilps. I can't believe what I'm listening to.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 06, 2008]
Ken Baehr
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautiful highs while deep crisp bass.

Weakness:

None for me.

These speakers are the absolute best bang for your buck. They hold up better than any speaker I have ever bought.

Customer Service

So long I cant remember

Similar Products Used:

Jbl L-166

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 15, 2008]
Chris
AudioPhile

Strength:

Highly sensitive and therefor ideal for tubeamps..
Big stage and highly involving...
At this price an absolute bargain haha... Price is in Euro's.

Better than the Heresy, even better than the Fortes in my listening room. Built quality much better than the Tangent..

Trouble with treble??? Switch to tubes and you will gain air and musicality...

Weakness:

Very.. very low WAF... they look like smal refrigerators...
To some they look dated.. for others they are vintage beauties...
OK I'll admitt, transparacy and perhaps accuracy but they compensate in other aries..

Firts time ever to write a review. Bought these beauties for an incredible 189E on Ebay.de after owning a pair of Heresy 1, Fortes II and Tangent 400's.
OK I had to drive 850KM to collect them in Munich but even then... absolutely worth the trouble...

True the Klipsch sound has got me by the throat.... had several other brands in between but the sound of the Quartets is unmistakebly Klipsch... and I can't seem to live without that..
They fit perfectly in between the Heresy and Fortes, have the same mid and high units as the Fortes but a smaller active and passive woofer. They therefor combine better with my listeningroom..

OK these speakers are not perfect.. maybe they do not have the same clarity or transparacy as the more expensive B&W's but the live experience is simply stunning.. These babies make music.... a sheer joy to listen to!!!!

Similar Products Used:

As I said... Heresy, Fortes II, Tangent 400, Audio Note Z

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 09, 2006]
Jonathan Parker
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

powerful midrange, awsome highs at 30to60watts great bass crisp high's

Weakness:

They only handle 100wtts continious. The 10'' active sub needs to have more low end punch. Needs to be more accurate. The twetter need's more high end clairity

I got these speakers from my Dad. I paid 200 he put in the rest an undisclosed amount, you know how parents are. Anyway I have had these speakers for 2 years I am running a LS1 high def. preamp Audio reasearch, rt-02 Rotel high def am fm, tuner A Denon dpf-7 and a Toshiba SR-A200 turntable's an Akai4000D reel to reel and a pair of MI terminator 2 cables from amp to speakers and interconnects. I love to Jam I mean really rock out, its in my blood. No matter what I put on whether its the stones on LP or DIO on cd these speakers are well ballanced the mid range is clear, powerful precise, punch for a horn midrange, the tweeters are clear and ear shattering the 10" active front firing sub is very crisp spot on I think and the rear passive well just ask my neighbors at 250 ft away. I enjoy these speakers everyday I got them brand new orignal price was 1680 us dollars these have the biggest bang for the buck. I Will keep them infact I am rockin out now, awsome sound great speakers

Similar Products Used:

Polk audio Advent, Bose,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 04, 2006]
Marcus
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Quality of build.
Broad spectrum of reproduction creates a rich, sweet sound.

Weakness:

What's not to like?

I auditioned these speakers in the showroom and when they made me jump, I took them home. They are superb either at a paint peeling volume for New Year's or nap time on a rainy day. My house can become a giant passive sub woofer. These speakers are the last ones I need to buy.

Similar Products Used:

JBL

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 09, 2003]
Roger Gordon
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

I don't care what your supposedly "expert" buddy or fool sales person tells you or wants you to believe, these speakers sound great playing flat, especially in the mids and highs. An excellent choice for home theater with 4 if you can use proper placement. Just a side note, anyone besides me wondering why most of the guys building $40,000+ dream systems don't think acoustics are important enough to build on a properly proportioned listening/viewing room, ie; bedroom, den or using the family room.

Weakness:

At high volumes, needs more bottom end, although does exceptionally well for a 10 inch driver. Also this is addressed with a good subwoofer in surround sound! Just a side note; I bought the sony because I actually had 9 different brand remotes and wanted the system to be more user friendly for my wife. At $1600.00 new the sony has alot of bells and wistles but I just gotta say its 120 watt amplifier section sounds like crap compared to the Nakamichi, needles to say, my sister likes her new system.

I purchased my quartets new in 1990 For $1100.00 and pushed them with my also new, Nachamichi TA4A receiver, $1250. I have since moved on to a Sony DA777ES receiver that cost $1600 new, and have Quintets for surround sound and K-Horns for stereo. I sold my old setup to my sister. I also brought together 4 ksf-10.5 towers, an RC-3II and an RSW-15 for my mom, so I have alot of Klipsch personal experiance not tomention friends, one ex-friend of which owns a surround system of K-Horns and Lascala's and a brother inlaw who owns a set of K-Horns and a set of Altec Lansing studio monitor model 19's, so I feel Qualified to comment after 13 years with these speakers, so here it goes. My 2 quartets in stereo mode gave a beter, clearer, more movie going expierence than my 5.1 Quintets with a KSW-150 klipsh subwoofer. Now while my K-horns will knock the crap out of my quartets in both sheer volume and base (having both hooked up at the same time in the same room, in stereo, to the same source. sitting the same distance from all 4 speakers, ya can't even tell there is even any sound comming from out of the Quartets), But there is something special about them at normal listening volumes, especially the mids and highs!!! If a speaker is good, you shouldn't have to mess up the sound with tone adjustment, just leave it flat!!! Bottom line is, I miss my Quartets and if I wasn't planning total K-Horn surround, I would build a Quartet surround system. I would certainly recomend this over an RF-7 system, as long as you have the space and can position them properly. KEEP IT SIMPLE STUPID, KEEP THEM IN THE CORNERS!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

K-HOrns, Quartets, Quintets, KSF-10.5's and a host of other brands, all owned, and many more loaned.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 05, 2003]
brigrizzme
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Crisp, bright highs, neutral mids, and deep bass that doesn't demand high power.

Weakness:

None at this price.

I had a pair of KG5.5s back in ’97 (the Quartets sound even better). I was always impressed with the sound, but listened to audiophile friends of mine who finally convinced me that Klipsch are not accurate speakers. I would like to share a well known fact. Ears are like eyes. My ears hear things different than your ears. After selling my Klipsh I owned speakers manufactured by B&W, KEF, POLK, Definitive Technology, and Paradigm. Every set of speakers could not match the sound and clarity of the Klipsch. The Quartets pick up chairs scooting and people breathing in the studio. The reason I rate them above the 5.5s is because of the midrange. When I first purchased the Quartets I was powering them with an Adcom 535, Adcom 555 pre, Adcom line enhancer and a Carver C-9 Sonic Hologram Generator. I’ve since bumped my power with a Bryston 3B. These speakers will move some air! The most impressive feature is the clarity at low volume levels. It’s nice to know you can rearrange your neighbor’s wall hangings without distortion while still enjoying great sounding music at low levels. If you can find these speakers for under $550.00 grab them. If not, go spend $10,000 on a pair of Thiels.

Similar Products Used:

B&W Polk Audio Paradigm KEF Def Tech

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 07, 2003]
miller
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very fine build quality. Driven w/as little or as much power as you like. Professional tweet and mid. They let you see the source material for exactly what it is.

Weakness:

I'n not sure where to find parts in the awful event that these honies break down on me. Not magnetically shielded. Klipsch seems to make relatively flimsy speakers in comparison now. These won't let you bi-amp.

Not as cool as the Chorus, but I absolutely love thses speakers. I have no intention of replacing them unless there are destroyed or stolen. I got them used during my first foray into stereo equipment in 1997 and have never had to think about it since. I wish I were this lucky w/the rest of my equipment. I have them connected to a NAD c160 pre-amp NAD 270 amp. These speakers have the ability to blow out my neighbors. The sound doesn't deteriorate at high levels.

Similar Products Used:

Nothing worth mentioning.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com