Klipsch La Scala Floorstanding Speakers

Klipsch La Scala Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 71  
[Sep 08, 2019]
Brave Dave


Strength:

Bought mine in 1976 after spending a month going to every stereo shop in Houston listening to just about every speaker available. "A" and "B"d La Scalas's and Klipschorns speakers with records I brought and picked La Scalas's 3 times out of five. They sound as good as ever 43 years later and are worth a ton more now than when I bought them. Crystal clear. Still proud of them as ever. Also went to a Paul Klipsch seminar shortly after that and learned a lot about his engineering principals and speaker design. The man was a genius.

Weakness:

Don't know of any weaknesses. If I could give them 6 stars I would.

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1976
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 10, 2017]
Patrick
Audio Enthusiast

Incredible speakers. They are so pure and fill the room instantly. They never get tired either. The biggest problem most people have is they try to feed these beautiful speakers with 150w - 500w amps. That is NOT what these speakers are designed for. Go get you some fake big base rubber foamed bouncing thingy if that is what you are in to. 2W - 75w tube is the best for these. Sit back and enjoy the music not the BOOM BOOM BOOM! If you like the pure sound of the music and want some of that fake boom boom stuff put a sub with them. That will satisfy mot of the listeners taste. Hook them up to a 5w amp close your eyes and listen at 50% you will think you are in the middle of the concert hall smiling ear to ear. Love them. Peace Out Patrick

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 08, 2017]
Larry
AudioPhile

These are the last speakers I will ever own. They have given me listening pleasure for over 30 yrs. I'm just glad my originals cost 800 dollars a piece. Special little note: a friend of mine still has the original Klispshorn given to his dad by none other than Paul Klipsh. In the early 70's we ran it of a am/fm radio, that's how efficient these speakers are. 1 watt at 97db.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 19, 2015]
R. B. Jeffrey
Audio Enthusiast

I bought these speakers in 1975. I chose them because of their reproduction of instrumental sounds. With your eyes closed you feel like you are in a front row seat at the symphony. Reproduction of the sound of a french horn is so real it is almost unbelievable. They sound as good today as they did the first time I heard them. I had them cleaned and tested about 8 years ago and the technician could find nothing wrong.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 25, 2013]
Janet Hughes-Adams
Audio Enthusiast

I've owned my Klipsch Lascalas now for many years, and I love them. Amazing, clear 'might as well be live' music. A couple of things though:
1. Your amp has to be nice (I run a vintage Marantz 2285B), or they sound like crap.
2. Your spouse has to be nice, 'cause these babies are big!
We listen to a huge variety of music from rock & indie to classical & jazz, mostly records, but movies and our ipods too. Under all circumstances, my Lascalas really ROCK! Highly recommended.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 10, 2010]
James
AudioPhile

Amazing speakers very detailed sound , punchy bass , very efficient speakers no need to get a powerful amplifier to make them sound loud , clear vocals , one of the best speakers ever built , they were built at first for home use but a lot of people ended up using them in professional fields for their quality sound and powerful sound .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 26, 2010]
Dale Crommie
AudioPhile

The 1975 Lascalias that purchased very recently can produce the dbs effortlessly, but what I was looking for was a speaker that "breathed". I found it for $400 ! I would have paid the $3000 had the high end shops had this speaker. Even at that price, to my ears they are worth far more given the high price of "great speakers".
I currently have a pair of Paradigm Reference Series S6 v.2 mated with a pair of NHT subs. I bought the Paradigms 8 months ago and I suddenly have become unhappy with them because they are "too constricted" I truly suddenly wanted a speaker that "breathed". I am using the new Marantz intergrated amp, the 11s2 with the Marantz SA15S2. The Marantz amp is a warmer map as is Marantz's reputation.
I totally agree with all the positive opinions here that talk about the negative impression some of us get concering horns based speakers get. I had that impression until I found this batch of reviews of the LaScalias. My question is why do the these speakers only cost $3000? I suppose that is what the sound is worth and the rest is spent on the how the package looks, although I frankly have an odd attraction to the look of my 1975 version. I purchased them from the original owner. They weren't used very much, his loss, and the cabinets are in mint condition. I am just going to give them a coat of natural stain and call it good. You can call me one heck of a very happy camper!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2010]
riflemann
Audio Enthusiast

My pair of 1980's La Scalas w/ AA x'overs are the best sounding speakers I've ever owned and the list is impressive. I had a pair of Heresey's in the 70's and still have a pair of KG4s from the 80s, and a set of Infinifty Interlude series in a home theater and for 2 channel music the La Scala's are in a league of their own. I have also had Pioneer HPM 100s, Theil, JBL L100 and Advents. I have powered the La Scalas with a vintage Pioneer receiver (35 watt) Harmon Kardon 2 channel amp (50 watt ?), and a pair of Adcom GFA 555's bridged to mono (800 watts +) and all sound great. They don't need much power but the Adcom's must be very clean at low demand because acoustic guitar or piano at low to moderate volume is incredible. At louder volumes the soundstage is absolutely unbelievable (Pink Floyd; Time) when the Adcom's virtually unlimited power is available. I regularly listen to older Jazz, Blues and rock on LP's. While the LP's are in near mint condition, the original recordings (Louis Armstrong, John Coltrane, Charlie Parker, Howlin' Wolf, Papa John Creach, Muddy Waters, John Mayall, etc.) are not. The recordings include pops and other distractions but the music comes through like no other speaker I have used. Mine are the industrial looking plywood cabinets and have been moved around a lot judging by the dents and scratches, but they are very sturdy and very strong. Hard for me to believe anybody could be disappointed with a pair of these.
Low bass is weak for modern rock n roll and some jazz but perfect for acoustic music. I have a Klipsch powered Sub which adds strength and depth to electric bass as needed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 09, 2009]
SteveOhhh69
Audio Enthusiast

I own a pair of Lascalas as well as a pair of Heresys. I ove them both and they sound awesome together. They are connected to a 1979 Sansui G-8000 receiver pushing 120 watts per channel. These are fantastic speakers and sound like live music. I have loved the sound of Klipsch speakers since i first heard them when i was in high school in the late 70's.To me this is what music is supposed to sound like. When people hear them for the first time they are amazed. Its hard to believe how much sound is produced with little or no distortion.I listen to all types of music and it all sounds great. These babies scream and fill the large room they are in. If you have a chance to hear them DO so. If you are planning on purchasing a pair i would highly reccommend that you do. This is the best money ive ever spent. Thank you Paul Klipsch!!! You da man........

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2008]
wwaterman2
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

As stated above.

Weakness:

None.

I have had these La Scalas for about a month and have them connected to a NAD C272 amp. They sound fantastic!!! They require very little power to sound great!
They have a great stage sound and the seperation is perfect, the highs and mids are perfect. I don't understand about others saying that they lack bass, my pair sound great to me! I would recommend these to anybody! Guess the Klipsch cult got another member. P.S. they are very loud with very little power! Neighbors complain, possibly they are going deaf!

Similar Products Used:

JBL L40's,Klipsch cornwall's,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 71  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com