Klipsch KSF 10.5 Floorstanding Speakers

KSF 10.5

User Reviews (47)

Showing 1-10 of 47  
James Mota   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 23, 2017]

Purchased second hand. Overpaid by $50 of what the market is currently asking. Paired with an old and smaller Yamaha Natural Sound amplifier model A-25.

Impressive full sound with this amplifier. Neutral sounding and forgiving with bad recordings. Not the strongest pony in the stable but definitely great for vinyl use running a Sure M97xe cartridge.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
punkfist   AudioPhile [Jul 22, 2017]

If you read negative reviews on KSF 10.5's , or Klipsch speakers in general, the reviewer does not know what they are talking about.I sold Audio over 30 years and Klipsch over 20. If you have a harsh sounding (cheap) amp these speakers will highlite that harshness. When ever you are buying speakers you need to know that a pair of speakers will sound different with each amplifier you play them with. These speakers sound best when matched with a "warm sounding" amp, especially tube amps. They are very efficient which means they don't require a lot of "clean" power. i.e.-if you have a regular series Sony amp they will sound harsh, with a Sony ES amp they sound great.(same with regular Pioneer vs Pioneer Elite) Tube amps typically require speakers at least 92 db efficient ( Klipsch speakers are at least 94 db) so these are great, reasonably priced speakers for those amps. Bottom line: Are these the best sounding speaker ever-No but they have a place and with a properly matched amplifier they can sound very good to great depending on your music taste.If you have a cheap amp you may not enjoy any speakers in the Klipsch line, try something else, please. It's not fair, or accurate, to trash a speaker (manufacturer) just because of the lack of quality of the equipment you use to play them with!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
brown   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2016]

not the best horse in the crowd. sound like average chinese speker. big heavy not impressive.
loud but not clear. bass is wide and hummi. mid section lac the vocals.tweeter is ok

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
sergio   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 02, 2014]

SONO E RIMARRANNO SPEAKERS DI ALTISSIMA DEFINIZIONE INGEGNERISTICA. .
FANTASTICI.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Goodwin Sands   AudioPhile [Mar 07, 2011]

I picked a pair of these up at a thrift shop. At first I was totally unimpressed. Very bright and tough to listen to for long periods of time; fatiguing.

Or so I thought. Then I hooked them up to a higher end tube amp. Wow. What a transformation. They sound great with the change in equipment. Of course everything sounds 'better' with that amp, but I think this model Klipsch showed the biggest gain.

The moral is, these speakers seem to be very sensitive to the equipment in use. The improvement was so great I've left them hooked up.

(Three Stars is "Good")

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
mithu   Casual Listener [Apr 08, 2007]
Strength:

none what so ever

Weakness:

too many

what r u talking about?i know this person who owns one of these and they suck.he wants to get rid of them.he will give it away for free.pls contact him.his name is mitthulla

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
pathighgate   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 30, 2005]
Strength:

Great sound Handsome "Rosewood" cabinet Durability and quality construction which has led to longevity

Weakness:

No obvious deficiencies; speakers can always sound better but nothing sticks out as a problem.

I’ve had my 10.5s now for 8 years, and they have been pumping out music or home theatre sound continuously for a good third of that time. They still sound absolutely fantastic. I’ve been running them off a Yamaha RXV-592 since they were new, and even with a lower quality amplifier, these things can play VERY LOUD. More importantly, they can play loudly without out audible distortion. Initially these were purchased for an audio only application, but they’ve made the transition to being the main drivers for my bedroom home theatre with no problem. Movies sound great on these. There is a rich, textured tonal quality to these speakers that help in the reproduction of poorer quality source material, such as mp3s or streaming Internet radio. Of course, this implies that they aren’t as accurate as possible, as a truly accurate speaker would make deficiencies in source audio more noticeable. But in this case, that’s a good thing. For the 10.5s, the tradeoff between pure accuracy and listening enjoyment sits at a very happy medium. Overall, for the price (then and now), these are a fantastic value.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm Reference Studio 80s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
brij420   AudioPhile [Jun 13, 2003]
Strength:

great lows great highs responsive efficiant great price

Weakness:

cabinent is a little cheap highs can get bright

these speakers are really great for the price i paid, but dont expect to get them for this cheap, cause i worked there and thats why i got them for that good, they put out great base, great highs, and are very responsive and efficent, and by efficent i mean that they can handle crappy cheap receivers running only 75-100 watts @1khz

Similar Products Used: sf1-way better sf2-comparable rf3-better, but more expensive
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 20, 2000]
Strength:

Crystal Clear Highs
Tight controlled midrange
Powerfull Base
Clean natural sound
Its like a live performance of everything you hear

Weakness:

They are no longer made.

Nice rosewood finish clean lines these look very nice.

More importantly, they sound wonderful. Movies, music, classical, rock, vocals, you name it. I am very pleased with the sound and looks.

They are efficient. I don't have to push the amp much to get plenty of volume. This cuts down on distortion and gives me plenty of range in volume output. I switched recievers from a Sony to a Newcastle. The sony was too loud at the minimum volume setting the Newcastle gets louder and sounds better than the sony did with these and it has much more adjustability at the low volumes.

The point is, these will give you detail that will not forgive a bad amplifier. If you don't like the way these sound its most likely the rest of your systam that is at fault. In that case either upgrade your electronics or resign yourself to tin ear status and get a less efficient or muddy sounding speaker.

I love these speakers.

Similar Products Used: Boston
AR
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
matt anderson   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 1999]
Strength:

Sound, quality, value

Weakness:

plastic feet at bottom

This is a great set of speakers, especially if you get the rest of the series to go with it, ksf-c5, ksf-s5, and ksw-12. You're room will sound like its in the middle of the
movie you're listening to or any music you are playing. These aren't that expensive either, you should be able to find the 2 speakers for 500-550 and for the quality you get you cant beat that. I highly recommend these, you can't go wrong with em!

Similar Products Used: dcm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 47  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com