Klipsch KG.5 Floorstanding Speakers

Klipsch KG.5 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

bookshelf speaker

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Mar 23, 2017]
Bob
Audio Enthusiast

I came across a used set of KG .5 speakers in white in 2015. I bought them in a Photo/Stereo store. They were asking $99.00 and I figured I'd add them to my system. They blew me away!
I've read a couple of the negative reviews here and I can't believe the same speakers are being reviewed. Currently I have them in my office powered by a 100 per channel amp and the amp will clip without any distortion from these speakers. They are literally a full freq. range set of bookshelf speakers with absolute clarity and tremendous volume capability. These speakers are 12 years old and sound as good as any "high end" bookshelf speakers produced today. If you come across a used pair snatch them up (after you listen of course).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 16, 2014]
Dusty Donnay
Audio Enthusiast

Let me just say strait out... all the reviews are fine and these speakers are nice. However...that this review list and labels these as floorstanding speakers is utterly stupifying! I mean seriously! They are friggen speed bumps! you put these on the floor and you will trip over them! The sound will go under your couch! Who write this tripe? Listen people....before you think you are considering a "floor standing speaker", check out the dimensions.....dig out a large shoe box, and compare. Then put that shoe box where you think you want your LOW WATTAGE SMALL SPACE speakers to go! Please. Quit missrepresenting!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 07, 2000]
TJ
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Surprising performance

Weakness:

none

I bought these as the subtile rear speakers for a surround system:looking for something just to fill the 'delay' necessary in the large space I have. Wow; these little suckers are anything but 'subtile' kputting out just great sound. Maybe someday when I 'downsize' to a trailer or something I'll sell all my 'big' stuff but I'll keep these speakers. AAAA++++

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2000]
Tim
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great bass for such a small speaker, High end is awsome when you put some power on them.

Weakness:

A little wind noise coming from the front seal on the speaker at very high volume/bass situations.

I really love this little monsters. Bass is great and the highs are very crisp. I have been pushing them hard for 4 years and they still amaze me. Music sounds very good and movie audio is even better. One note, these speakers are best suited to sit in a wall corner to make best use of the rear port.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 2001]
Scott
Audiophile

Strength:

Incredible sounding speaker.

Weakness:

Spring clips

I purchased my first set of these terrific speakers in 1996. I just upgraded my system to AC-3/DTS and discovered that I needed to match the original set. I lucked out on E-Bay and won a bid on my second set for $120.00. The same that I paid on the original set which were on closeout. The sound from these speakers is so real that when you close your eye you are there. They can handle the power and the volume will drive you right out of the room. Make sure to use a sub-woofer on a separate amplifier to handle your bass requirements. I was not ready to get rid of my first set in order to match my speakers. Go figure six years later I would pay the same price. There definitely worth it. To Aaron - Sounds like you have a speaker phase problem. One of your speakers might be wired wrong on the inside of the case. It's worth a look!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 09, 2001]
Aaron
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Ummm... only $180?

Weakness:

Where do I even begin?

I've had these speakers for over five years. I've tried them in big rooms, little rooms, dead rooms, lively rooms, with about 4 different amps, and all I can say is... these speakers are just plain awful. Absolutely zero bass response, and the harshest, screetching treble I've ever heard. I've taken these things out of storage about 5 times now, always thinking they'll sound better than I remember. Never.
I've heard plenty of other Klipsch speakers that I've liked, but I can't figure out what possessed me to buy these ones. For another $50, I got a pair of PSB Alpha's that would probably sound better than the Klipsch's if they were under water.

Similar Products Used:

PSB Alphas, Paradigm Atoms

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 10, 2001]
Steve
Audiophile

Strength:

Very good sound from a small bookshelf speaker, great bass response and a very natural open sound.

Weakness:

spring clips for speaker wire connections

I am using these speakers for my rear surrounds in my all Klipsch DD/DTS Surround sound system and they rock. They have the capabilities to handle any amount of sound that they need to. I like my music and movies loud and these have no problems keeping up at all.

------------------------------------------------------------

And this is to Aaron.......

If you have these speakers soo badly......I'll give you $50 for them right now to stop you from whining.

Similar Products Used:

too many to list

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 21, 1999]
Garland Briggs
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very clear sound, a good amount of power and bass for such a small bookshelf speaker

Weakness:

Bigger speakers have more depth

I've had two of these babies for a couple of years now and they are still impressive. I've been pushing them with an old amp and they still sound great. Can't wait to give them the power they deserve

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 23, 2000]
David
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity

Weakness:

Power Handling

Overall, great speakers. The sound clarity is absolutely amazing. One thing I don't like is they will only take about 50 watts of true power before distorting. The ramifications of this is that with a good reciever or amp, it is easy to overpower them if you like to push your system. Also, one has to be very conservative about the amount of bass going into them in order to avoid distortion. But don't get me wrong, they will crank!!

Similar Products Used:

Technics bookshelf speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 03, 2000]
Alco
Audiophile

Strength:

Extremely natural,open and detailed. Strong punchy bass.

Weakness:

Horrible outdated looks, cheap spring-clips connectors.

This is probably the most musical speaker I've heard in my
own livingroom, yet. I went to a local HiFi-dealer to check out the Tannoy R2's and Dynaudio audience-40's and/or KEF-C35.
The Dynaudio sounded pretty good, so did the KEF's, finally
I heard the Tannoy R2's. I expected a lot of these speakers
since they were reviewed very well in different magazines.
Boy, what a dissapointment. It sounded ok, but then........
I saw those little ugly Klipsch speakers. I thought:"How can a Klipsch speaker be so cheap?" (only 300 Dutch guilders/about $150,-)
Just outta curiosity I hooked 'em up and wooow...now we're
talkin'! The sound was so natural and easy to enjoy. It
was very detailed and dynamic and also had a deep but controlled bass. The only drawback was it's horrible looks.
(H31-W22-D16,5 cm/black ash) Yikes.
But as soon as I heard them I forgot all about there looks.
These speakers dissapear and let you enjoy the music.
To me that's what a good, musical speaker is all about!

Similar Products Used:

Tannoy R2, Dynaudio audience-40,Cyrus 780,KEF C-35

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com