Klipsch KG 5.5 Floorstanding Speakers

Klipsch KG 5.5 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

The two-way KG Series KG 5.5 floorstanding loudspeaker was first introduced in 1994 and manufactured by Klipsch until 1997. While no longer in production, KG 5.5 model loudspeakers are still owned and listened to by Klipsch fans around the world as part of two-channel audio and home theater surround sound systems. To connect with other people who are passionate about audio and interested in Klipsch Classic products, visit one the several Klipsch Classic areas on our open forum bulletin board.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 37  
[Mar 15, 2018]
bigyankeeames


OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 15, 2018]
bigyankeeames


Strength:

I bought my KG 5.5s about a year ago used for $275.00. The guy I bought them from told me "you wont need a sub woofer". He wasnt kidding. Im a bass player so I do like a lot of bass. The bass is is very powerful and tight.I just love these speakers! I mostly listen to classic rock but also like soundtracks and other stuff. I blew a horn testing an amp that needed some work and replaced the horn driver with Bob Crites Titanium drivers. I thought they sounded good before but they sound great now. Like others have said the hornss are bright but not harsh so I'll adjust the treble down a bit depending on what I'm listening to. I'm powering my 5.5s with a 1974 Pioneer SA-9100 conservatively rated at 60 WPC. I'm afraid to turn it up past half way. They are scary loud at that. Shakes the floor with chest pounding bass. Normal listening volume is about 9 o'clock for me. I ran a test CD and they do pretty good down to 30 HZ. They go lower but falloff pretty fast after 30.

Weakness:

Only that I didnt discover them in th 90s when they came out.

Price Paid:
$275.00
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2027
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 28, 2011]
Phung Nguyen Phong
Audio Enthusiast

Still can't believe I got this pair of KG5.5 for below $400. Crystal clear vocal & amazing open sound stage with Tractrix horn, deep tight bass with 10" woofer x 2. Been matching with 70W amp and could hardly to turn it up pass 9 o'clock coz the floor already shaking. Pop, rock, jazz, instrumental.. this baby can take all on with ease.

One thing though, this thing is damn heavy. I carried 2 of them on a trolley by myself from the seller's home opposite my block and almost got hit by a bus while crossing the road at traffic junction. What else can I say. I'm a lucky man. Probably too happy to notice the bus.. :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 03, 2010]
SEARSDJ
AudioPhile

So it's clear mine are KM-06 which is a military issue of the 5.5's. I bought them from Craigslist so used half their weight was dirt... NOT dust. Knowing Klipsch for may years, I know they would help me get them back if I needed any replacement drivers. I cleaned them up and have been in awe since I hooked them up. My other Klipsch are corner horns (which are now $8000 a pair) and nice pair of KG 5.2's. These were supposed to me a simple cheap system in a room I use when I visit my son.. who is very proud of his Matthew Polk SDA/SRS 1.2 over 6 feet tall.

It's not clear to me how these KM-06's can smoke anything we've got. They are hooked up to a beat up Pioneer Vsx-D710s I also bought on Craigs List.. no remote so I don't know how the channels are biased. Plugged into my laptop audio outlet... so, my electronics's actually hurt them.

My son and I have thrown anything we can think of at them... Classical, Jazz, Blues, Rock, Metal, et.al. They shine on anything loud or soft. When you push them, they generate bass and you're sure they will soon distort .. they hang and stay pure. The high's are very sweet, as you'd expect from a Klipsch product, so they are normal there.. almost.. they project a sound stage where every seat in the room is good.. turn off your surrounds, because they do that too.. alone.

For those shopping for some surrounds.. these aren't it. Your going to have to spend a lot of money on fronts to beat them, plus they loose their luster in a surround system.

Bottom line.. if you find them.. don't hesitate

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 02, 2010]
Dave
AudioPhile

To be clear, my actual models are KM-06 which is the Military issue of the KG-5.5 and the spec's match.

My first pair of Klipsch were the flagship Klipschorn Corner Horns. At a current price of $8000 a pair, still top end. My son took possession of a pair of Matthew Polk Signature SDA / SRS 1.2's. At over 6' high a real leftover from the "Big" speaker days. For me personally, I used the Klipsch in a stereo only system and matched the Polks, with other Polks for a high end Audio/Video system. Through the years I auditioned Forte's, Heresy's, and my old favorite the Chorus.

When I visit my son, I have a room that I have fixed up for when I visit and wanted a budget system. I found these on Craigs List and knowing Klipsch customer service decided even if they are trashed they can be refurbished for a reasonable price. I bought them and cleaned them up, they had been stored somewhere that was not too clean. I hooked them up to another bargain, a middle of the road Pioneer VSX-D710X using the audio lead from my laptop where I keep my music. I need to add, the Pioneer was lacking the remote, so I have no idea what bias was set on the channels. So it's safe to say my electronics didn't help them :)

I have been in shock since the minute they started performing. In comparison's they over rank the Polk's and the bass response Is superior to my corner horns. My son and I are both musicians and can not figure out how these perform so well. Our analogy is that they were probably the last speakers produced when most people didn't have a sub woofer. From the mid 90's subwoofers found their way into most systems.

One drawback was using them in surround sound mode... they are as good as anything else, but loose their luster. They like the amp bridged to stereo so they can use the power. Let's not forget, they are efficient, they just like the focus on them. They would not be good for surrounds in my opinion. They are fronts and like it there.

Last comment is the sound stage. There isn't a bad seat, no matter where you are, the sound is balanced, clear and when you crank them.. you'll swear they are going to distort... but don't in any way.

Funny after spending thousands.. I feel I have a better sound for pennies.. and back to Klipsch. If I ever have a problem, they will handle it. I blew a tweeter in my corner horns several years ago, when I called them they asked I contact them the following Monday and discuss the issue with Engineering. Monday afternoon, UPS delivered 2 new tweeters, a check made out to me for $40 to cover installation (8 phillips screws) and a prepaid label to return the old tweeters. When I called, they were most interested in getting the tweeters back for examination.. they don't like problems with their products.

If you find a pair of KG 5.5's or KM-06's I wouldn't hesitate. I can't imagine being disappointed, my son and I did discuss that sometimes certain items are just better, kind of like buying a car made on Wednesday stories. They truly are extraordinary have been sold for the last time.. I need them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 21, 2009]
drwho322
Audio Enthusiast

First off, let me posit that since I currently own 4 pairs of Klipsch floorstanding speakers spanning 3 models, I think I can make this pretty accurate. Just like in your love life, 2 inches can make all the difference. I have, for the sake of best mix, tried every receiver in the house (pioneer vsx d709s, vsx d909s, adcom gfa-555/nad 2600 combo and a Carver the reciever 722) The other klipsches are the RF3-II (2 pair) and KG 4 giganto bookshelf / micro floorstanding. Those speakers all use dual 8"'s and this with the dual 10"'s literally blows them out of the water. They are on the used market cheaply, I can promise you they arent blown because you would need an amp CANNON. with the NAD 2600 (i think 150x2) I cant turn it up past 50% because the house is shaking. I am not even kidding or using hyperbole. that would be about 75x2 or so. one word to the wise however. ALL horn driven speakers are bright - great for rock, hip hop, but you will need to adjust down the treble for any and all brassy jazz, full orchestra, etc. Enjoy!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 30, 2009]
choliou
AudioPhile

I was lucky to find these kg 5.5.They sound wonderfull and they are my two tigers standing in the two front corners of the living room.they are medium oak,just like the tiger 's back texture.That's I call them my tigers.I almon oil them once every two week.You can't get nicer pieces of art and quality sounds speakers than these for the money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 23, 2009]
automaticmojo
Audio Enthusiast

These speakers are clearly one of Klipsch's best kept secrets. I paid $800 new from Audio King in 1996 and have never regretted the purchase. I have seen them go for as low as $175 a pair!! Those were black cabinets- I recommend the medium oak- they look very nice. Regardless-get a set of these!!
Regardless of what type of music you enjoy, from classical to heavy metal (As I enjoy all types) these will do your ears justice.
Clean, clear, high resolution detailed mids and highs at any volume level, and clean, fast, bass that reaches down to 35hz- no subwoofer needed here. They have knocked pictures off the wall, and dust off the cealing!!
Even with their 98 db sensitivity, I have found through the years they require at least 150wpc to really open up. And good amplification, and source equipment, because they will find the weakest link in your audio chain for sure. Personally I would recommend H/K amplification, as I have had excellent resluts with my PA2400 (170wpc), and H/K Signature 1.5 (200wpc). I think the important thing is the current these amps have 100 and 130 amps respectively. I used a Carver M-400 (200 wpc) for a brief period, but it's uniqie power supply didn't have the current (amps) to really open up the bass, along with the mids and highs.
If you provide it the proper source gear, I guarantee you will love these speakers, regardless of your musical taste.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 29, 2009]
gjk747
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Highs are detailed and refined. Instrument separation is phenomenal. Will fill a very large room with sound. Bass is tight and accurate.

With the right placement and source material, can make you feel like you're at a concert.

Weakness:

If you're using them in a small room at very low volumes, the bass does not come through well. At reasonable volumes, hohwever it will come through very well.

These speakers, probably because of the horns, will "tell all" about the source material thrown at them. One can clearly hear the difference between a 128kpbs MP3 and an actual audio CD or DVD. This is not really a weakness, but just something to be prepared for.

They are large and very heavy. This is not a weakness either but they will be a pain to move long distances.

Bought these speakers to go to with my television and Sony receiver while in college. Fully aware that cheap Sony receivers are not good matches to Klipsch speakers, I was a little nervous that these would sound too bright once I got them home. I use them in a two channel setup to listen to music and watch movies, and the 1.2 - 1.5khz range can sound a bit over-pronounced with some peoples voices and while playing certain types of music. This is completely corrected by EQing that range down two or three decibels. Ideal situation? No, but it is likely the fault of the amp or the low quality source material.

I have a friend that has Cerwin Vega speakers and I gave that company a bit of thought too, but I never liked how harsh and cheap sounding the mids and highs were on the Cerwins. I could not be happier that I went with Klipsch. I was worried that this was a two-way speaker instead of a three-way, but I will say it sounds better than the 3-way Cerwin's my buddy owns, regardless of what I am playing through them.

I rarely play my music extremely loud, though these speakers can definitely handle it. They sound great at average volumes. All instruments can be heard very clearly and accurately.

Similar Products Used:

Polk Audio, other Klipsch, Cerwin Vega

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 24, 2008]
ads22
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Pretty good build quality.Imaging, soundstage can be fantastic with most playback.
I had 3d effect with them 20 feet apart at 45degrees and sitting 15 feet back.multi-layer sound,seem to really like to play horns(think big band) on the tractrix horn tweeter. refined if somewhat subtle bass extension.mine are a light oak color and match a variety of rooms well.

Weakness:

bright with treble,leave mine on defeat and bass +2, LARGE boxy size.midrange depth,mids could be better,use with eq ,or using tube amps could help. bass extension is 34 hrz,good for most music,but need sub bass for full effect.

Large towers with a pleasant simple look,understated sound capacity from 2 10in
woofers and large horn. These speakers are sensitive as most klipsch are known to be.Handleing 100 clean watts per spkr they are average in taking the heat, though
I rarely beat them to hard. Have them playing with an onkyo integra p-304,integra
eq-35 an onkyo m-501 amp.They were around 8-900 when new and i got mine for 225 in excellent condition.work great by themselves or as mains in ht.
One could easily add a sub lfe to round off the nearly piercing treble.Highly recommended speaker.

Similar Products Used:

A/D/S, NHT,Yamaha,infinity

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com