KEF Reference 4 Floorstanding Speakers

Reference 4

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
Harris   AudioPhile [Dec 12, 2016]

I have been a huge KEF fan for 30+ years. I started with the 104/2 which are amazing speakers. After about 15 years of those I found a pair of their bigger brother the 105/3. I used those for another 10 years (Still have them as my rears). About a year ago I came across a pair or burled rosewood KEF Reference 4 models for sale (About $1100). They were in excellent condition (9+ out of 10).

They are slightly different in character than the other KEFs I have owned, definitely more mid range oomph and a slight bit less high end "air / transparency", but by only the smallest amounts. Overall these speakers are sublime. I currently have them in a bi-amp set up (Emotiva XPA-1 monoblocks and Emotiva XPA-3) . These KEFs are very power hungry and really need a lot of power to sing. Those amps deliver in spades. The overall experience is just amazing. Great clarity and as much volume as you could want. I rate these speakers a 5 out of 5. You would have to spend many thousands more to do better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Martin   Audio Enthusiast [May 23, 2012]

Just been reading the reviews of the KEF Ref. 4s.

After a little discussion, my Wife allowed me to purchase a pair of these to replace my KEF 104/2s.

I had contacts in the KEF World and these BNIB were sold to me in about 2003 for £1300, value then £4000?

Well...

I have bi amped them with Musical Fidelity A300CR Mono Blocks, the source being a Shanling CDT-100 or a Musical Fidelity Turntable.

I also use the KEF KUBE 200 inbetween the power amp feeding the bass drivers. On the 103/4s, this would take the bass to 18Hz at -6db.

Alos, perched on top are a pair of Tannoy Supertweeters.

A number of words spring to mind:

Loud. Sublime. Involving. Magic. Impressive. Big. Tall.

I'll never buy another set of speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
argugu   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2009]

Good structure and carpentry,delightful sounds of people performance if you like listening jazz or pop ,it will be the best choice .

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Bryan Hunt   AudioPhile [Mar 13, 2008]
Strength:

Great presence. Vocals sound like the real thing--rich and full. The upright bass has the impact and tonality of a real upright. Horns are spot on. Drums are killer. Strings sing. The piano is in the room with you. The midrange is to die for. A very comfortable speaker to listen to all day.

Weakness:

Bass can be ill-defined and boomy, depending on the recording. There's plenty of bass, but sometimes it lacks definition. Also, you need a large room and quality of components to make these sound their best.

Astounding Jazz and classical speakers. Not the best for rock, in my opinion. Not enough "in your face" attack. They'll play rock, all right, and they'll sound OK, but it's not their strength. They are just too laid back. However if jazz is your thing, look no further. Miles never sounded better.

Mine are in Rosewod finish, and cost $6400 when new. I'm not sure I would have bought them at that price. However, on the used market, $2000 is a good buy.

I based my ratings on the price I paid, and for using these as Jazz speakers, because that's what I usually listen to. As rock speakers, I'd probably remove one star, just because other speakers play that genre better.

Customer Service

Never dealt with them.

Similar Products Used: B&W CDM7nt, CDM9nt, Kef Reference 3, Paradgiem Studio 100.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ross_uk   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2005]
Strength:

Sweet KEF Uni-Q Treble, Very deep & controled bass, Perfect & Spacious mid Best speaker I have heard for a while !!

Weakness:

Is there any ???????? Maybe the fact you need a big room for these !

Supurb speakers, I have only owned these for about 6 months ! I bought these to replace my KEF Reference 1's (which are excellent aswell) I would recommend these speakers to anyone with a room big enough to let these babys sing....... Very good off-axis response, Excellent bass response, Very Spacious mid & Sweet KEF Uni-Q treble. These are as much at home in 2ch music as thay are in a full H/T system. I can not say any thing bad about these apart from you will need a serious amp to run these as thay are very current hungry, these need at least 200w into true 4 Ohm to really perform at there best.....Also worth running bi-wired/amped If you intend on buying a pair I would take a friend along as these are about 50kg each!!!!!! Also worth going for the duluxe finish, I have the Rosetta baur finish it is simply beatiful.

Similar Products Used: KEF Reference 1's Ruark Prologue 'R' Linn Ninka
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Geo   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 2003]
Strength:

Ruthlessy analytical of all components in the chain.

Weakness:

See above, do not use with budget or mid priced equipment.

Bought these to replace my trusty 105/3's. WOW, I expected a step up in quality, but this was a huge leap forward. It is a myth that big KEF's can be driven or fed by midrange equipment, they may sound OK but as soon as a better component is inserted into the chain these speakers will instantly sound better. They are a reviewers dream for comparing amps or source components. Biamp them and use ONLY with top of the range equipment and they are a bargain!!

Similar Products Used: Martin Logan, B&W, Sonus Faber floorstanders.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
HyTekCat   AudioPhile [Oct 07, 2003]
Strength:

Design, construction, presentation.

Weakness:

Hmmmm.....

Well, what more can be said for these great speakers? Design is top-notch, beautiful in appearance, solid construction, well damped, extremely low resonance cabinets, and a full, rich, very satisfying sound. I've owned these marvels since 1997, and haven't really given much thought to upgrading them. I've auditioned others at the dealer, but haven't had any desire to change them. They're currently connected to a Proceed HPA3 via internal bi-wire Kimber Bifocals and sound astronomical. Detail, dynamics, bass, imaging, palpability, liquidity, airiness... All present, in abundance. The music is presented in a most involving way.

Similar Products Used: Kef Model 2 (rear) Kef 200c (center) Kef TDM-34DS (sides)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
geminisix   AudioPhile [Oct 01, 2003]
Strength:

awesome.

Weakness:

perhaps a little slow sounding at times otherwise none.

Found the reference 1.2 not quite classy enough. The 4.2 reference really are huge and heavy and are certainly the best speakers have ever heard. They will take the power of any amplifier,Kef recommend at least 50 watts. use a Musical Fidelity 270.2 power amplifier. Like the uniq drivers which sound open yet very impressive.

Similar Products Used: kef 1.2, Linn Kelidh.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
styx rogan   Casual Listener [Apr 17, 2003]
Strength:

Play all kinds of music flawlessly

Weakness:

Weigh a ton cost a fortune

These are some god awesome speakers. I was one of those that bought Ref 3 instead of the 4's and always wished I got the 4's. Lots of people say you don't need a subwoofer with these for home theater but they are wrong. These speakers make excellent front speaker for an awesome home theater system.

Similar Products Used: Kef Reference 3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
jameshetfield   AudioPhile [Sep 13, 2002]
Strength:

Bass (especially at low synth frequencys) Treble, midrange, excelent crossovers, looks

Weakness:

r u mad???

I hooked these up into an entirely new system wich i had bought along with these, so together i had no idea what to expect. i rigged up a meridian 506 with QED Opticals into a krell amp i switched on and spun my tester cd (Micheal jackson Bad) as the first notes hit me i was stunned at the power that came from them the amount of punch that they are able to deliver. The treble had a sweet but fiesty bite the mid range was crystal clear and the bass was astonishing you could feel it punching u from every angle i love these speakers. oh yeah an by the way listen to the end of another brck in the wall part 2 live by pink floyd that sub bass boom makes me feel physically sick!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com