KEF Reference 2 Floorstanding Speakers

Reference 2

Two 6.5in woofers, 6.5 in mid, 1-in Uni-Q tweeter

User Reviews (32)

Showing 1-10 of 32  
Vlad   AudioPhile [Jan 22, 2015]

Superb speakers Kef Reference Two-Two . True Hi-End product.
Excellent bass response, spacious mids and sweet treble.
Kefs smoked Totem Forest, PCM GB1i and Nola Contender which I have owned
Kefs required power amp with 200WT or more with high linear damping.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Espace_p   AudioPhile [Jan 05, 2010]

i buy KEF Model -two because i uesd KEF Model-one ago.
I happy.Kef-two best sound.buit beautiful.i love Kef-two.
I introduce uesd bi-wire only.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sebastian   AudioPhile [Jul 09, 2006]
Strength:

all they got

Weakness:

non

Just great. Used with NAD 2200 amp and Elite SACD player.
Highly recommended as used. Nothing below $1000 will even come close to the Kef Ref. model 2.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Niklas   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 05, 2003]
Strength:

Spridning, Lättplacerade, Diskant, Mellanregister, luftighet och dynamik

Weakness:

Blir ibland lite för stor bas .

Köpte dessa för dess bra kritik. Mycket bra byggd högtalare samt till ett väldigt bra beg pris. Man blir förvånad över hur bra de bygger med 2 st 6,5 tum inuti högtalaren.

Similar Products Used: B&W CM4, B&W CDM1, Proson Reality 5, Monitor Audio S8i, RCL
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
DeWalt   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 04, 2003]
Strength:

It's with imagination, high levels of detail. I'm a rich man with those in my collection. Never fatiguing. Finish on the cabinet is exquisite. Diamonds are forever.

Weakness:

None at all. (The only weakness will be the system. Don't confuse.)

I use them in a system with a Denon AVR3802, Kef model C100, S70 and a Philips DVD729 these speakers are simply magnificent. Huge detail with taut bass and never fatiguing. Effortless delivery of all type of music. However, I have these for 4 months now (paid € 1398)and as a fan I have the feeling not truly experienced them yet (like in the homeaudio store). I'm considering getting the Rotel RB1070 as my poweramp (for the 4ohm speakers), but I don't now what is the best for my Kef two-two's. My biggest problem is my need for HomeT. in combination with stereo. Also my budget is a little tight. I hope somebody have some sugestions. I don't want to sell them, so...

Similar Products Used: Thiel, B&W, Kef Q15, Q55.2, RDM 2 etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nathan the Limey   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 02, 2003]

Help. I'm considering getting the Kef Model Reference 2.2's. My poweramp is the Audiolab 8000PX. My current left & right speakers are Kef Q75. Centre is Kef Model 200. Now I only use this system for AV (not for CD Hi-Fi stereo, I have another system for that) Two questions... Is my poweramp good enough, or do I need a higher powered amp? At a guess the PX is about 150-170W into 4Ohm. Is it worth upgrading the left/rights just for AV? (the Kef centre was a huge upgrade- is it the same for l/r'?) Please contact me. Thanks

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Keith   AudioPhile [May 15, 2003]
Strength:

Air,Silence,Dynamics,Tight Bass! Soundstage. Female voices best I've heard without a second mortgage. Balance is the key. Great Value!

Weakness:

None for the money. They are not the B&W Matrix 805.

First, I do not mean to critisize anyone. We all have our own taste in music. I have listened to many so called high-end systems. I currently own Mirage M3, B&K 202+, Creek 5350se, Sony ES cd, Jolida JD 100a cd, Kef Ref. model 2, PS Audio 6.1. The Mirage are very detailed, but lack punch. The Kef's are well detailed, have the punch, and give you what you want. A live performance in your living space. The creek+jolida(w/russian tubes)+Kef is exceptional. It's all there. Bass kick like the Matrix 805 is not, but what do you expect? The Mirage have less, they are very polite in the lower end,and can be too aggressive in the high end. The Kef is the better overall speaker. It can give you the desired goose bumps. For those who have not experienced this. You have bad equipment or maybe defective Kef speakers. The model 1 is great as well. For 3500.00 you too can have a true high end system.

Similar Products Used: other than mentioned. Adcom,Musical Fidelity(not equal to creek), B&W 804 & 805, Parasound, Nad, Energy, Paradigm, PSB, Levinson, Vandersteen, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
witters   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2003]
Strength:

High levels of detail. Never fatiguing. Finish on the cabinet is exquisite.

Weakness:

None at all.

Used in a system with a Meridian 506.24 and an Arcam A85 these speakers are simply magnificent. Huge detail with taut bass and never fatiguing. Effortless delivery of all type of music.

Similar Products Used: Kef Q55.2 B&W DM603 S3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 11, 2002]
Strength:

Best for the price range, clarity, imaging, versatility and Overall quality.

Weakness:

Not sure

"Audiophile" Bill definitely needs a life. He's already done his KEF bashing, so why keep cloggin-up the board with negativity ?? Obviously, this clown is in a huge minority as 98% of all reveiews have been favorable.Perhaps he just wants a job @ Audio Review ?? I've had my Reference 2's for over 3 years and have loved them since I brought them home. Yes, I did listen to lots of other choices and for the money, these were head and shoulders above the other options !!

Similar Products Used: Denon AVR-3600. KEF Q65 rear speakers
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Frank McKeon   an Audiophile [Sep 10, 1997]

Since no one has bothered to post a review of this speaker I found it my duty to do so!I have had these speakers as the fronts of my A/V system for 2 years now. What I've found from talking with serious audiophiles is that you either love or hate the Kef line.
I have a sweet spot for the mid-range which most of the Kef line reproduce with almost perfect claity. My system utilizes a Cambridge Soundworks powered sub which adds the bass Kef somehow misses, for the exception of the Reference 4's.
These speakers will also take just about as much power as a resonable and responsible person can throw at them. I've never clipped them even while driving them at their upper limits. For the price I've paid $1600 USD '96, I don't think I couldn't find another speaker in it's class that measures up to these.
If your driven by the mid's than these will do the job nicely!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 32  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com