KEF Reference 1 Floorstanding Speakers

KEF Reference 1 Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[May 15, 2016]
Vttal
AudioPhile

Kef reference one wonderful speaker I am driving them with music first passive pre amp, two Cyrus power x in mono block mode psx r. As a giving musician I am impressed with the speakers openess and the better the source material the better these speakers sound, also they are magnetically shielded .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 17, 2011]
mario franco
AudioPhile


Honest and smooth, does not resist big orchestras.

Good speaker, maybe new models are better.

Mario Franco

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 23, 2009]
sporty
AudioPhile

LES KEF REFERENCE ONE ONT UNE BELLE IMAGE ET C`EST TOUT. LA MUSIQUE QU`ELLES RESTITUES EST
SANS VIE. LES BASSES SEMBLENT VENIR D`OUTRE- TOMBE ET LES AIGUES SONNENT LE PLASTIQUE .
JE LES AI REMPLACÉS SANS REGRET PAR DES EMINENT TECHNOLOGY LFT8 .

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 08, 2002]
Ron
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautiful tonality, accuracy and imaging. They just sound great and they are quite attractive.

Weakness:

None

I had read a great review about the Kef Q series, so I went to Harvey in Manhattan to take a look. I had a helpful salesperson that told me to forget the Q's and step up to the Reference One. I'm really glad I did! I love these speakers. I never fail to marvel at how good they sound every time I listen to them. I since added the TDM-45B subwoofer, and it is really the icing on the cake. It does not make for good neighbor relations, particularly when you live in a highrise apartment. I get noise complaints sometimes from two floors away. Oh well...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 05, 2002]
Daninthemix
AudioPhile

Strength:

Detail, sweet treble, startlingly real vocal and acoustic instrument reproduction. And they look lovely.

Weakness:

A difficult speaker load, with some quite sever phase swings and impedance drops for your amp to deal with...

I also would have to disagree with the comments about these speakers' bass response. Of course these things are relative to the size of your listening room (mine is rather small), but I found when I upgraded my amplification to a high-end Marantz model, the speakers seemed to gain another octave of depth! I now get similar depth to that of my Rel subwoofer (although without the headroom). The thing about the Kef Reference range is the impedance drops rather dramatically around the mid-bass region, so if your amp isn't able to deliver the necessary current, you're going to lose out in the bass response. Besides the rich, full-bodied bass, the detail in the upper frequencies is excellent. When partnered with suitably able equipment, vocals do seem to leap out, and acoustic guitars and strings in particular seem very natural, and finely textured. Perhaps these were expensive speakers when they were first released, but now you cna pick them up second hand for as little as £600, and for that price they really are a steal.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 04, 2000]
n h
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Fantastic pinpoint imaging and good soundstage

Weakness:

ported boomy bass, lacking any true fundamental bass

Really a good sounding speaker with fantasic finish. Over 90% of the sound spectrum they can't be beat. The treble needs to be boosted a bit. Where they fall down, particularly in light of their cost is the bass. If you like the reference uni-Q sound, which I do, go with the RDM one and a good subwoofer like the M&K MX 125. You end up spending less, and get the uni-Q sound with better bass than even the Reference 4 is capable of. Bass so anemic I can only give it a four and for value a 3.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 14, 1998]
andy baltra
an Audio Enthusiast

i have been living with these speakers for about 6 months now wow these are very good sounding speakers for the priceuniq-Q is wonderful thanks tannoy.i am running with dennon avr-3600 match up is excellent. the only down fall about the model one's i would say is the lack of deep bass. not to worry thank's to m&k's mx-200 subwoofer took me a while to match these speakers to the sub oh how sweet this sounds now kef sound with bass down to 18hz. highly recommend these speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[Aug 31, 2000]
Peter
Audiophile

Strength:

Midrange. Treble. Dynamic. Build Quality.

Weakness:

none

Great detail. the midrange is unbelivable and the bass is tight and fast. Many on this site complain about the lack of bass, just bi-wire it and match with good amp and you're in heaven. Very detailed speakers with dynamic sound. Many pair it with cheap electronics (cheap receivers) and you get it revealed in these wonderful speakers. You have to remember that these are reference speakers and reveal every good and bad details of what is put into it. Spend time to match it with a quality amp and you won't regret it. The sound is warm and the great midrange puts the female and male voice separated from the music and it's not harsh like you hear in so many speakers. There's not coloration in the sound and you get what is recorded on the cd's. A perfect reproduction. The build quality is solid and the style is attractive. These list new for $2500.00 but you should be able to find an used pair for around $1100.00-$1300.00 if you're lucky. The soundstage is also wide and deep and the imaging is wonderful. It sounds like a refined bookshelf speaker. very sweet indeed.

Similar Products Used:

thiel, sonus faber, snell, martin logan

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 06, 2001]
MIchael Larsen Jørgensen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

´Kig på mig på www.dating.dk....
Det er nogle gode KEF'ER!

Weakness:

De kræver en kraftig forstærker

De er bare gode!

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2001]
MARIO FRANCO
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

i finally got the US$ TO BUY THEM.
they are from 95 ,but still in shape.
bought them specially for listening classical
music, they are doing the job very well

Weakness:

probably lack of harmonics

very good . i m happy w them

Similar Products Used:

no

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com