KEF Q60 Floorstanding Speakers

Q60

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
John Connolly   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 12, 2014]

I rescued these from a bloke who was about to dump them at my local refuse recycling centre. He was going to live in Spain and said he couldn't take them with him. I got him to follow me to the cash point and gladly gave him £20 for his trouble.

I love these; I use them with an integrated JVC AX-1 integrated amp and a rega planar 3 deck, with RB300 arm and rega basik cartridge. Only use for my vinyl as not really designed for digital sound. With vinyl, it sounds warm, middle is great, only the high notes lose anything and you'd be picky to care. I always use them without grills as I think they look so good. Bass can be overwhelming dependent on what you're listening to so having a bass control is a good idea. Best £20 I will ever spend.


OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
BYRON ROBERTS   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2014]

I BOUGHT THIS TO BE MY FRONT SPEAKERS,THEN I WENT TO 5.1 AND NOW I USE THEM FOR MY BACK SPEAKERS.GREAT BASS AND OUTSTANDIG IMAGEING.EVERBODY WHO SEES MY SYSTEM CAN'T BELEIVE HOW BIG OF A SPEAKER I'M USING FOR MY BACK SPEAKERS.THEY SIMPLEY SOUND GREAT.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lucymeg   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2006]

Best all round speakers I have ever used. The bass is reproduced perfectly while delicate classical music comes across as if played in the room. Superb speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
slolay   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 15, 2006]
Strength:

Sound Quality
Bass

Weakness:

None

I like the Q60's..very much

Had them for 12 years and was thinking about replacing them but reading the reviews on this site had to think to myself WHY!!

The speakers have given me and endless friends at parties perfect sound and I think they match upto any speakers owned by friends inc Bose.

I'm moving to a new home and like it goes was thinking of replacing them but now come to my senses and realised I dn't need to...these speakers are for life. Reme,ber putting them into storage for a year and kissing them (i did) when I opened them again

If you can get these speakers buy them straight away, unlike another reviewer I think one of their best points is how they look when you take the covers off..so different and it's always a good talking (boasting ) point when you tell people about the uni-Q drive and how the tweeter is not in the middle of the bass

These speakers have lasted me a while and expect to last me a whole lot more!!

Love 'em

Similar Products Used: Tannoys
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
moggom   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2004]
Strength:

Soundstage, imaging, music quality, good blend of bass and highs, nice looking, best bookshelves! Buy these, paired with sub, will be the best investment for their price.

Weakness:

cannot match floorstanders for bass, will distort at high volumes (to be expected)

Hi there. After Reading these reviews of the KEF Q60's, and seeing them on the internet on an auction site, I decided I'd give them a go. Bloody good decision if you ask me. A few points to note before beginning though, which you, if you are intending to purchase these speakers, should take into account: 1) These are Bookshelf speakers. Large bookshelf speakers, but bookshelf speakers. 2) As bookshelf speakers, they are not meant to rock your house down with bass. With that being said, these babies are solid. They look nice (I've noticed the picture is hard to come by, so I'll place a few measurements below), they have an 8 inch woofer, and they use KEF's UniQ system for the tweeter (1 inch). All the other info, the other reviewers before me have placed. Suppose I should get to the sound...well, the soundstage and imaging are unbelievable. Im not joking, it is unbelievable. Again, let me restate that, unbelievable. placed a few metres apart on my workdesk, at ear level, if you close your eyes, you can hear everything as though you were there. All the voices, instruments, its moving, it really is. The 8 inch woofer creates enough bass to make the music solid (rock etc), while still containing much detail. So, why mention the part about bookshelves above? Because these are bookshelf speakers. They have much more bass than the majority of all bookshelves, but at only 8 inches, the woofers cannot compete with other larger speakers (even of lesser quality). Not to say the bass is weak, it is not, esp for bookshelf speakers, where I would say the bass is very strong, but it is not earth vibratingly strong, even with a solid amplifier. Being bookshelf speakers, there is the problem of power handling as well. 100 watts RMS is the recommended amplifier to go with these speakers, and I have a yamaha with 100 watts rms with good dynamic range, yet these speakers will begin distorting when the volume is loud. How loud? Well, as loud as you would want bookshelf speakers to go really, i mean, when you play music like you really want to play music, the bassy stuff starts distorting. Really, I am only saying this because I have a pair of infinity floorstanders beside me, which are much more suited to loud music. Anyway, to explain fully my thoughts on these, If you want awesome bookshelves, buy these. I got them for a steal, dont take my price paid as a recommendation as to their value....I got a really really good deal on an auction site for mint condition ones, in New zealand. The price , $180 is in US dollars (SUPER DOOPER BARGAIN)...I was going to puchase some tannoy m2's but changed my mind. Im glad I did. Music quality is awesome, crushes the infinities standing beside me (except the bass factor). However, dont let this put you off, they still have mighty bass for 8 inches. A sub would go down real well. A pair of speakers that will last you a lifetime, paired with subs, would be good for a bedroom, for livingroom with sub, or just for casual listening. Like all the others on this website, Cant get enough and will keep them forever.!!! Good luck with yours, don't hesitate, just buy. Things like these don't lose their value, if you dont like it, sell it. No harm, might lose a few bucks at most shipping! Real quick measurements, 45cm tall, 24 cm wide, 30 cm deep (rough!).

Similar Products Used: KEF Infinity SM118, plus a lot of other cheaper speakers.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2002]
Strength:

Everything, clean detailed highs, great mid range, excellent soundstaging. It is a "why look for another speaker" speaker!

Weakness:

none that I have found

I have been in pursuit of a pair of Epos es 14 speakers for about a month. Hawthorne Stereo has a pair but one has been sent out for repair. I had purchased the KEFs thinking that when the Epos speakers come back I would buy them. After listening to the KEFs for the last couple of days, I have to ask myself why! These bad boys have opened a can of audio whoop ass! The soundstage are phenominal. Every instrument is clear and detailed, excellent voices, and crisp, well defined highs. The Epos speakers will cost me about $1000 including the stands. The KEFs were $300 with no tax and they sound excellent-so you do the math. So long Epos. I have an old pair of KEF 20s and I snuck the Qs in without my wife noticing the change. Everything just worked out nice! I am using an Audio Research L15, that I purchased yesterday, an Aragon 4004MKII, and a Cal Audio Delta transport with a Meridian 563 DAC. It is a humble set up but the sound that comes out is exactly what I have been in pursuit of! I would like to experiment with the tubes on the Audio Research and maybe in April, if I can find a good deal, I would like to get a Levinson No. 39.

Similar Products Used: Martin Logan Arieus, SL3, Polk Audio, Klipsch, KEF 105, (great speaker), Energy, Mortaunt-Short, KEF Tucan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
donovankruger   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 08, 2002]
Strength:

The "sound" from them was good enough to keep me from spending another $1.2K on a pair of 104''s. Size Ideal for Music Listening & Home Theater Imaging (2nd-generation Uni-Q driver)

Weakness:

Not magnetically shielded

Coming up on the 10-year anniversary of these speakers. I''ve never been dissapointed with them. Perfect for stereo music as well as Home Theater. Imaging is great. 1" tweeter and 8" woofer provide the perfect tonal range. I''ve often been asked "so where''s the sub" when I didn''t have one. It''s obvious why I have yet to ever see a pair of these speakers up for sale on eBay. Like other owners, I will never get rid of mine.

Similar Products Used: Used in conjunction with HK 880Vxi for Stereo Music. Used in conjuntion with Marantz SR 780, Q90center, Paradigm PS-1000 sub for Home Theater.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill   Audiophile [Sep 28, 2000]
Strength:

Great imaging with excellent highs and mids with very good bass for a bookshelf speaker.
Looks great too. All black.

Weakness:

None for a bookshelf speaker!

See above

Better than the newer Q15's. Cleaner sound.
8 Ohms and they can take 100 watts.

I have had these for eight years. Never any complaints.
Great imaging.

Has been driven by a 55 watt sony receiver and 100 watt Sony 900 es receiver.

Similar Products Used: KEF Q65, 104/2, Q15, C75
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 01, 2001]
Strength:

Flawless stereo image
Huge soundstage
Open and airy midrange
Go loud effortlessly

Weakness:

Bass loses definition near a wall
Deeply ugly with grilles removed.

A good, competent speaker which has many strengths and few serious weaknesses at this price.

The Uni-Q driver is a masterpiece, delivering a seamless image which extends way past the cabinets. The soundstage is also brilliantly three dimensional, projecting vocalists well out into the room and between the speakers with pinpoint accuracy.

Bass is well extended and quite tuneful, although it all goes very wrong near the wall, where it takes on a boomy, hollow sound. Placed a couple of feet into the room everything tightens up nicely, and the rhythm returns. Midrange is beautifully open, and treble is detailed, if slightly "rounded". This suits my Pioneer A-400 (original) to a tee, taming its sometimes slightly exuberant top end.

A lovely old speaker which suits forthright ancillery components and tight rooms to a tee. Just keep an eye on that bass.

Similar Products Used: Ruark Templar
Acoustic Energy AE-100
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2002]
Strength:

Smooth sound, nice soundstage with good 2-D imaging, good off-axis sound

Weakness:

All the problems bookshelf speakers have...

I've had these speakers for years and have loved them since the first time I heard them. These are great little speakers that sound far better than their price tag. Clear mid-range, sharp, detailed highs, and suprisingly big upper end bass. I've supplemented the lower bass with a Paradigm SB-100 passive subwoofer for a while now. It helps, but I do need to upgrade to a powered subwoofer.

Once complaint I've always had is that it takes a bit of time to position them correctly to get the optimal sound from a room. Also, like most bookshelf sized speakers, they just don't have the fullness of sound to fill a large room. Still, hooked up to a good amplifier, these babies will soar. A great value if you can still find them, used or otherwise.

Similar Products Used: Bose 601s
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com