KEF Q35 Floorstanding Speakers

Q35

User Reviews (31)

Showing 1-10 of 31  
fly11   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2011]

Great little fellas,warm full of detail sound,they r not boomboxes,so wont suitable for boomfunk mc type music,but jazz,classic or old good electronic kraftwerk type tunes will play proudly.They r not annoying,so can be listened for hours,beautiful.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Aitch   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2004]
Strength:

neutral, presence, good clean bass.

Weakness:

cabinets could be sturdier.

Having read all the reviews here have to agree with a couple of contributors, in as much as bass is not only plentiful but clean. these speakers go extremely low. Obviously sensitive to good system matching to give there best.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
phil burns   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 16, 2003]
Strength:

Vocals, nice driver looks, top end

Weakness:

No weight behind the bass

Bought these 2nd hand as rear speakers in my home cinema. They work OK as rears however, just to see what they were like I rigged them up to my main system (Audiolab, Tag Mclaren, Rotel), and what a let down. The bottom end had no presence, mid sometimes too forward, and top end OK. I feel the Kef Q35s need to be in a very small room to make things happen. I have given them a good rating as I got them cheap, this rating would have been lower if I had paid the full RRP of around $450.

Similar Products Used: Mission 760i SE, Mission 780, Kef Cresta 1
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Randy   AudioPhile [May 11, 2003]
Strength:

Vocal Clarity. Nothing else comes close.

Weakness:

There is one particular frequency these speakers are poor at reproducing. It has trouble with tenor males, some minor tweaking can resolve it.

After auditioning neearly 50+ pairs of speakers, I found something in the KEFs that every other speaker lacked, vocal clarity. The strongest part of the speaker is its mid/high end. The highs are clean and crisp without being overwhelmingly "whispy and/or airy." Female vocals are nothing short of amazing on these. The Uni-q design, though bizarre, works quite nicely. The one feature that sets them apart is the their ability to be accurate and smooth at the same time. These speakers have virtually no bottom end--they were designed that way. The floorstanding design does however give the speaker enough bass response to prevent seperation from a sub. Buy a sub, it will greatly enhance the whole experience. My System: Fronts: KEF Q35s Surrounds: Mission 78ds Sub: Audio Pro EGO Receiver: Onkyo Pro series CD: NAD 512 I found the Q35s to be the best pair of speakers under a $1000.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch, Wharfedale
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rav sharma   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 27, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent imaging, midrange and clarity. These speakers paint pictures.

Weakness:

Do i have to? I suppose if used in a big-isg room, they may seem a little bass shy, otherwise nothing.

I needed to upgrade my KEF coda 9''s as I blew one of the midrange cones after a party, and decided to audition other replacements. Having tried a couple from B&W, as well as mission, I came to conclusion that for over all performance, there was no beating the Q35''s. I bought the KEF Q35''s just after the launch of the KEF Q35.2, so got about a 100 quid off their original price. The first thing (after running them in) I noticed was the massive change in imaging, as in comparison to the coda 9''s, the Q35''s were awesome. Except the pin sharp imaging, another thing that was apparent was the reduction in bass, as these speakers are lighter in that department, but as my listening room is small, it''s not too bad. Over all, after numerous hours of listening to R''n''B and dance music, I am convinced I couldn''t have bought a better speaker for under £200. The build quality is also of a very high standard, and I can''t really think of a weakness of these speakers, for the price.

Similar Products Used: KEF Coda 9''s
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason Cuadra   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 27, 2000]
Strength:

coherency, smooth freq response, imaging

Weakness:

bass - but I knew I would be adding a sub

They're incredibly good for the price. The only speakers I can think of that sound better cost >$1500 (3way NHT's). I got the KEFs for $399.
When I shopped for them I knew that I was going to use them with a sub, so I didn't consider the low bass performance. I wanted a speaker that traded off bass performance for everything else. Boy, these speakers sing!

Mated with a Sony DEH-635 DD receiver, which has a decent subwoofer crossover, and a cheap 10" KLH active sub that I bought for $99 at Costco, they wound wonderful. The KEFs can play really loud now that they don't have to play bass. Interestingly the digital EQ on the Sony sounds best set to flat, which speaks well of the frequency balance of the Kefs.

I was surprised that the KLH wasn't tubby, it fills in the bottom end nicely down to what seems to be 35 Hz, which is adequate for most music. The combination is great, unless you really want deep powerful bass. For that I'll be building a 12" Shiva (www.avataraudio.com)

I'm now thinking of buying a Q15 pair for surrounds and half a Q15 pair for a center speaker (the Q95 center is expensive)

Anyone want to half the Q15 pair? :)

Similar Products Used: AR M4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Aaron   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 25, 2000]
Strength:

Great balance of highs, mids, and lows

Weakness:

I can't even say the bass was weak considering what these speakers were designed for.

These are great speakers. I found that the balance of highs, mids, and lows was exceptional. The speakers are crystal clear. The bass was particularly balanced effectively in the sound, which is hard to find in a speaker, although I am also using a Kef sub for bass, and my setup is in a small room. I guess the biggest hole in these speakers is bass response after shutting off my sub. However, you can't expect these speakers to do what a sub does. However, those who do not wish to buy a sub may want to look elsewhere for bass. I upgraded from some exceptionally average speakers (Harmon Kardon EPI brand bookshelves. Cheap speakers that were amazing for the $100 I spent on the pair, but still average speakers...) I sat down to listen to music, and I found I heard things I could only hear with headphones on a broad range of music (jazz, classical, rock, hard rock). Same music that I had listened to before really came alive with these, which is what audio equipment is all about.

Most impressive of these speakers is their use for home theater. I've always thought Kef Speakers image better than any speakers I have heard. These are no exception.

With amazing sound for both home theater and a wide range of music, these speakers are amazing for the money!

System:
Marantz SR5000
Pioneer DVD player for CDs
Kef Sub

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mo   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 30, 2000]
Strength:

Clarity, great detailed sound, no-fatigue listening

Weakness:

Bass is a little weak, esp. in big rooms.

I always wanted a KEF Q series, so I might be a little biased. No only did WhatHifi's 5-star rating (1997) impacted my decision, but I found it myself by listening to various speakers, including Mission, KEF Coda series, JBL and Jamo. I was amazed by its clarity and balanced sound when I was comparing the Q series with the others. To me it is much more revealing and the sound of each instrument faithfully reproduced.

Bass is not strong and they were put in a big room. I know it will get better when I put them in a smaller one. But I am not too much into loud bass. To me, details of the music is more important. And Q35 is doing a good job on that. It may not be an excellent choice for dance music and heavy rock. But for the types of music I love, classic rock, new age and blues, I find it to be great.

Just got the speaker two days ago. Been listening to them all day while doing my cases. No fatigue at all. Wait until they break in and I upgrade my CD-player and interconnect, more excitement is still to come.

KEF Q speaker are now evolved to the 4th generation. I have heard some good review about Q35.2. But I don't think there is a $200 difference in performance. For less than $400, Q35 is a great value.

My current system:
Panasonic CD player
Nad C340 amp
Kef Q35
Ixos 6003 speaker cable

Similar Products Used: Mission 731i, KEF Coda 7
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ck   an Audio Enthusiast [Apr 12, 1999]

just bought Q35 and with Infinity BU-120 subwoofer, also bought Infinity Reference 2000.5. I have owned Infinity and B&W 602 before. Q-35 has the best clarity, crisp middle and high, good imaging and soundstage. Infinity Refernce 2000.5 is better on the bass, but not as clear and crisp as the KEF. B&W is not as crisp and clean as KEF.

KEP is the best I have heard so far, the sound is very pleasing, the only one I have n't auditioned is Krix, any comments on Krix ?

A subwoofer is definitely needed.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Henrik Magnusson   Audio Enthusiast [May 20, 2001]
Strength:

Excellent clarity and "definition" (?). Sharp and fast bass although it's not that "fat" when you listen to reggae or dnb. Probably best for "acoustic" music. Percussion sounds so damn good with theese.

Weakness:

The spikes you get with the speakers suck. Don't use them! When (after a year) I removed them the bass really improved. the speakers just don't stand steady enough on the spikes.

Best speakers in it's price range (unless you want pure techno style bass or something). I've heard much more expensive speakers that don't sound as good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 31  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com