KEF Coda 7 Floorstanding Speakers

Coda 7

2 way bkshlf vented 5.25in woofer 1in tweeter

User Reviews (35)

Showing 1-10 of 35  
Dave   AudioPhile [Sep 07, 2015]

I have had these little beauties for 20 years originally purchased to pair with a Linn Classik. They have grown through various systems and are currently being driven by a Linn Majik DSM (streaming FLAC files). The DSM is another fantastic device but cost over $4500.

Some would say I am nuts driving a pair of of speakers that can be purchased for $75 with a $2500 system but I have tried several times to upgrade to newer speakers including the latest 109's from Linn but keep coming back to the Coda 7's I just love them.

So, why do I like them? Simply musical, not harsh in any way, big sound but not booming. Front ported so tolerate close wall positioning and above and beyond the most important, they are incredibly agile.

Now these things are about 20 years old so some may be showing their age so buy with care but if you find a good pair and you like fluid natural music in a compact package you should be very happy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Manoraj   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2015]

Awsome value. I gave about 75 dollar in used condition. Sounds incredibly big and nice in the lower frequencies. Great attack and punch too. Fine midrange and high range for their cheap price. Im using them in my bedroom together with a brik dac and Brik amplifier+ with good results. They are in other words very easily driven.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Pete   AudioPhile [Jan 25, 2013]

I have had these for several years and remain one of my favorite bookshelves.
their small and blow away most the polks i have listened to of their era. I am a polk fan and they don't even sound as warm as these side by side..
these may have small drivers but in a small room you only can fit so much.
You don't even need a sub-woofer with these. the bass is rich tight and clear for a small speaker the mids are clear and the highs are sharp the imaging for a speaker of this size is very good.
Are there better bookshelves out there? yes but for what you get for the price their worth the money now you can buy them less than 100 bucks on ebay or Craigslist if your lucky.

Conclusion

Being a audiophile I'm extremely picky I do own a pair of 103.2 kef reference aka named one of the most wanted audiophile speakers..i am also comparing these to 103.2s between sound quality imaging etc. They don't compair to them BUT for a cheap kef bookshelf the coda 7 is nice and dont cause listening fatigue like some of the other speakers i have owned.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Preston Ward   AudioPhile [Dec 14, 2009]

I absolutely LOVE these speakers! The sound reproduction from them is so accurate that it's damn scary sometimes. Like for instance if there's the sound of something breaking from the TV it honestly sounds like it's coming from inside the house. I've had these speakers for 14 years now and compared them to a couple dozen other rear bookshelf speakers when I was purchasing them. I bought them at a very large electronics store in downtown Los Angeles so they had a very large selection to choose from and I thought these sounded the best out of all the rear bookshelfs I was comparing. Since my system is 14 years old now, it's time to upgrade my equipment and front speakers. But I love these speakers so much I'm going to design the system around them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pkl75   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 30, 2008]
Strength:

Overall sound is well balanced nothing is particularly wrong.
Warm, darker sound
Stylish

Weakness:

Lack of the very lowest bass (still pretty good)
Level in bass got down when connected to much better amp than the original setup - do not know why this happens.
Highest treble not clear enough but this actually means the sound does not irritate
Not magnet shielded

Nice, dark sound. I bought these in 1997 from shop and have been very satisfied ever since. Still look and sound like new.

If room is correct and placed near walls, the bass has some nice punch. Furthermore, if you can tune treble up the situation is becoming good.

I had mini stereo system from sony when buying these. The system changed radically. With artificial bass boost in the machine, the bass always suonded clean yet powerful also at low volumes, not irritating in any means.

Overall, sensitive of the amplifier and also room makes difference.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
ytaigman   AudioPhile [Jan 28, 2008]
Strength:

Bass and midrange are perfect.
Perfect for small rooms or people who like to listen to low level volume (not that they cant rock) but bass is so tuned in low volume, wow

Weakness:

Lost in big rooms

Amazing speaker. Go get as long as they last.

The combination:

SMALL PAPER CONE + BIG & LONG BASS PORT IN A SMALL CABINET

is awesome for small rooms. Reminds me of an opened-baffle airy feeling but with the punchy bass and staggering midrange. Most suprising speaker I have ever listened to. Would compare to x10 more expensive speakers, yet haven't heard a bookshelf to beat that

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Powell   Audio Enthusiast [May 26, 2006]
Strength:

Pure sound, compact size, nice looks.

Weakness:

Not found any so far

I was very lucky, I got them form a garage sale today with a marantz Tuner amp and cd changer.

These speakers are lovely , they seem to cover the entire range, I have been listening to opera this afternoon and I wish I had bought these a long time ago. I am selling my technics system now that cost me an arm and a leg.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: Infinity, Wharfdales, Goodmans, shelf speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fred Haas   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 12, 2000]
Strength:

Sounds very good as rears or fronts.Bass is great for a compact speaker.

Weakness:

Have noticed some rattle from grill at high levels.

Very pleased with all aspects .They sound great for music or movies.I listen to many small bookshelf type speakers before I picked them and still glad I did every time I turn them on.I used them for rears ,then moved them to the basement as a main.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 08, 2000]
Strength:

WANTED: PAIR OF KEF CODA 7s IN LIKE-NEW CONDITION.

These are great inexpensive speakers.
I am looking for 2 more pairs to finish off my HT.
Please e-mail if any FOR SALE. Thanks.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TTN   Audiophile [Feb 21, 2000]
Strength:

Good musical sound, good desgin, nice style.

Weakness:

Nothing.

I must say some of the reviews below are really a joke. I don't see how people judge this speaker just like judging a monster inferno speaker. If you want rock and roll, dance music or whatever, get those humongous Pro speakers from JBL, Electro Voice or what not. To me the Coda 7 is an all rounder good performer compared to those listed above. It does its job accurately and superbly, period.

Similar Products Used: KEF Q15, B&W 302,601,602, Monitor Audio 301, Platinum Audio 801.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com