JBL TI240 Floorstanding Speakers

TI240

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
Soundigger64   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 10, 2009]

This review concerns the 240 Ti
Some facts:
H:93cm W:45cm D:30cm 38,5 Kgs each
14" bass driver ----------- 5" mid ----------------- 1" titane Dome tweeter
8 ohm nominal 89dB 1w1m
30-27000Hz +-3dB
recommended Amp up to 300 watts

Summary:
Depth and Width , Accurate retranscription of all register etc......everything you need to enjoy music

Strengths:
Incredible Power Handling, Excellent Flat Frequency Response,Wide Stereo Image; Studio monitor accuracy.
I´m speechless...can still give a good match to some "High End" products...

Weaknesses:
This model has been "shadowed" by the top of the line of the Ti serie: The legendary 250Ti
Woofer surround foam need to be changed each 10/15 years .
Low WAF factor

Similar Products Used:
JBL L-150 Millenium; JBL L-222 Disco; Mirage M3;

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

Tight deep bass, crisp highs awesome soundstate and imaging

Weakness:

Only the Walnut finish, Excellent job but I prefer Light oak, otherwise nothing.

These speakers are great. I bought them used about ten years ago and never wanted to sell them. They are pretty rare to find but if you do grab them you won't be disappointed. I previously had them hooked up to two bridged NAD 2600a amps putting out about 500 watts a side and they sounded beautiful, no sign of strain at all. Actually they begged for more. I sold the amps and went with and Acurus a250 which also really kicks. These speakers play as loud and clear as anyone could ever imagine. They need a powerful amp to keep the woofers under complete control.As for bass, who need a subwoofer with these, with a 14"woofer married to a 19lb magnent in an aluminum housing, what elese could be said. All internal wiring done with monster cable. JBl meant business with this speaker. Total satisfaction in these babies.They blow away most of the junk on the market today as much as 1,2,or even 3 thousand dollars.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch Chorus 2, Forte 2, Magnepan 2.7, Bose 901's,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Renè Christensen   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 24, 2001]
Strength:

wide, linear response, ultra low distortion, extremely wide
dynamic range, life-like imaging

Weakness:

Very big !

The JBL 250Ti is one of the best speakers I ever heard -and I heard a lot.I am musician and sound engineer. For professional use, for privat use,
I love the sound of good JBL speakers.
The dynamic is Perfect (it go's below 18hz)
The amplifier has the woofers fully under control,
First i thought that the tweeters of the jubilees where a little bit of extravagant but since i used siltech cables it is over.
Very, very strong in voices and dept of music.
Very dry and controlled bass.

Similar Products Used: JBL L150A, JBL L80(new model), B&W 803 mrk. III
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Malarkannan Gunaseelan   Audiophile [Feb 10, 2000]
Strength:

Powerful Bass,Balanced Sound.

Weakness:

Nothing that I know off

When I bought these amazing speakers 6 years ago I did not have a powerful amplifier to drive them so it sounded thin.
Now I have upgraded to the Sony9es pre and a Nad poweramp which drive them pretty well but not enough I still feel.
It sounded very good from the time I've been having but off
late I have made a lot of comparisons witha lot of speakers
from models rangeing from Mordant Short,Allison Acoustics,Gale,Opel,Kef,Celestion,Bose,but none of the many speakers I have listened to was ever so satisfying an experience.My recommendations definitely goes with these spaekers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Allan Seelk   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 13, 2000]
Strength:

Very deep and scaring bass

Weakness:

Ugly

These speakers are among the best in the world, if you play
pop or rock. The bass is very deep and extremely well controlled. The Titanium tweeter is fast and sounds brilliant.
The dynamics of these speakers is impressing and exceeds everything else I've heard form other manufacturers. The only speakers I know of, that can reproduce rock more realistic, is the JBL 4430's. Disadvantage in this case is the size. They take up the same space as a 300 liter freezer.
The first time I listened to my 240Ti's, I was almost scared. I just turned the knob, and my 200 watts Denon POA 2200 was giving everything it has, but the speakers just had everything under control. Absolutely nothing but pure
sound. No audible distortion, and the sound level made me almost pis in my pants of joy.

Similar Products Used: B&W 802F
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jaime   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 29, 2000]
Strength:

Incredible Power Handling, Excellent Flat Frequency Response, Good and durable Oak finish.

Weakness:

Woofer surround foam tends to break in a few years. Very heavy boxes, Crossover's switchs have only two possitions.

I've used these pair of speakers since 1.986 and they are still in perfect shape after replacing the woofer's surround foam. It cost me a lot of money moving those speakers to this country but I'm pleased with them and their durability. Their sound is awesome and I'd recommend them always as one of the best speakers on earth.

Similar Products Used: JBL Signature Series, JBL Control 1X, Pioneer HP-700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dennis Williams   Audiophile [Nov 21, 2000]
Strength:

Does it all well

Weakness:

needs mongo power amp

I purchaced mine new in the 80's. Had then in a small room with a SAE amp. Frank Zappa moved the room one night! I moved in spring of 2000 and put then in a large rec-room. I had to replace my amp to supply these hungry mutha's!!! 3 times the power and they love it. I had them re-coned last year. Everyone I know loves them. The only speaker I would consider replaceing then with would be a K-HORN.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com