JBL S412P Floorstanding Speakers

JBL S412P Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Sensitivity: 92, 8 ohms 12" PolyPlasâ„¢, 4" PolyPlasâ„¢, 1" Pure Titanium dome Built-in Amplifier: 200W 32Hz -- 20kHz Midbass Driver: 6" PolyPlasâ„¢ Crossover Frequency(ies): 200, 850, 3500Hz

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 44  
[Sep 10, 2020]
emad345


OVERALL
RATING
4
[Sep 01, 2020]
Geo


Strength:

I consider myself an audiophile, I used to have a 2 channel room with VTL pre amp and mono block amplifiers, Sim audio Moon CD player Michelle Gyro Turntable and Meadowlark Heron Hot Rod speakers, George Cardis interconnects. Had the system for 20 years. I did recover approximately 60% of investment. Anyway that's history...I found a very very nice pair of these S412p on Craigslist in black, No scratches, dents of any kind. Absolutely love'em, honestly do. My first pair of JBL's I purchased in 1977 were L36's, still have them. My AV receiver is a Cambridge Audio Azur 650r. I also found a very nice pair of S26's for the rear surrounds and an S Center speaker. Love the 412's, very nice tight bass, could be lower for some Blue Ray movies but I'm not complaining. BTW...for anybody out there, there is a guy on eBay that repairs the Amplifier for these speakers. Overall these baby's are practically bullet proof. I will treat these speakers with respect as if I purchased them new. I am 62 years old. Thanks for reading

Weakness:

The only thing I wish these speakers had were, Spikes for the feet.

Price Paid:
360
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 22, 2020]
Shawn1


Strength:

Bought a pair of these about 3 months ago for $400 Hooked each one up to an NAD 2600 power envelope amp running a NAD 1700 pre amp.these sound amazing at any volume but the louder the better until you don’t realize how loud the system goes,no distortion,just clean,clear sound.these things move air,& lots of it when pushed!! I read another review and the individual said they were no good for Jazz...how wrong a statement!!Put some Miles D on vynal and am very happy with the clarity and precision of each individual insterment Couldn’t ask for a better Rock speaker,they thump hard,pick your favourite band and blast away!

Weakness:

Only things I see are flimsy grills and if the built in sub amp packs it in

Price Paid:
400
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2020]
Trond


Strength:

Just bought a pair of these aging giants (150£) because they looked interesting with an internally amplified woofer. Unfortunately one of the woofer amplifier had a circuitry fault (not unusual), so I can only compare this to my reference speakers (JAMO Classic 10) in a left/right setup; (flat setup-source direct SONY TA-F700ES). I like speakers that "speak" to me: Engaging speakers, that emits a "live" hologram. I feel these are far to muffled. They sounds a bit like vocal performances are emitted through a cardboard pipe (toilet roll core), highs are also muffled. Bass OK, not booming, but just so. I might be seriously biased, though. My brother which is a musician and mixer thought they were very "studio monitor" neutral, and performed very well . To me this is quite boring as it kills any dynamic and musical engagement. If you take into account my verified slightly midrange hearing loss (age 56), I might have a wrong impression of these speakers performance. I will repair the broken woofer amplifier and review the pair again,

Weakness:

Muffled midrange/highs. Maybe to "correct" for my hearing?

Price Paid:
150£
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jan 21, 2004]
Luftmensch
Audio Enthusiast

I reviewed earlier as well. These speakers have gotten better with time. For the idiots that try to run these speakers with a crap reciever, you are getting what you deserve.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 11, 2003]
Luftmensch
Casual Listener

Strength:

Clarity at all decibal levels House shaking power handling Exellent powered woofers Price Cabinet build on the II's seems very adequate.

Weakness:

None seen in this honeymoon period.

After reading reviews on this set of speakers and lusting after them for a few years, I finally broke down and ordered them online. I replaced a pair of JBL ND310II's with the 412pII's and there is no comparison to these massive speakers. I have not even had time to start breaking them in and they fill my room (18x25) with clear precise sounds across the spectrum. After reading the preceding reviews I wasn't expecting much from the powered woofers. However, after hooking up the LFE inputs to my subwoofer outputs, I was shocked and amazed at the amount of bass you can blow through the 12" woofers. A tip though, the LFE control knob on the back of the speakers needs to be all the way up. At that point you can use the subwoofer level control on your reciever to adjust the precise amount of low frequency you desire. I also run the JBL PB12 floor firing subwoofer. While the 412 woofers don't get quite as low on the spectrum, they certainly do more than a respectable job. To use the phrase of a previous poster, I did indeed "weep with joy". At the moment my system is as follows: Receiver: Sony ES STRDA3000ES Fronts: JBL S412PII's Center: JBL Scenter Rears: JBL S38's Surrounds: JBL S36's Subwoofer: JBL PB12 The reciever is new also, 150x7 watts per channel, powers my system unbelievably. Yes some may think I have gotten hung up on JBL, but I have this thing about brand matching :P

Similar Products Used:

Wide variety of audio gear auditioned and observed in friends houses.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 22, 2003]
ILYA Smirnoff
AudioPhile

Strength:

The best I ever heard below 4000 USD prise stage!

Weakness:

1. Bild quality - 50/50... 2. !! PLASTIC !! - GET IT OUT FROM THIS UNITS! 3. HIGH-PASS FILTERS.

Hi guys.. A have just one dream - made the great home theater for less money and get best performance. If you want the same - JUST USE JBL S412P BOUTH ON FRONTS AND REAR (BACK) CHANNELS!!! Im very cautious about new equipment and I'd been looked for loud-speakers for about 3 years! I would say that JBL S412P is the best 1000USD-choise! Very well defined sound. A lot of power. Clarity and incredible mids as well. Do not listen to those, who say that S412 - is casual sound-speakers!!! Equipment I have: Harman/kardon AVR 7000, Front - JBL S412P REAR - JBL S412P Center - (self-made loudspeaker) Sub - (do not need at present time)

Similar Products Used:

J$M LAB, VERITAS (top models), Suond-e-Motion (HIGH-END exclussive), JBL XTi, Nautilus, Infinity Alpha 50

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 30, 2002]
skyboy21
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Mids!! Overall sound is arguably better than anything else in price range. Bass is respectably tight & sounds good. Highly recommended for rock & really any genre of music.

Weakness:

Few considering the value/price.

Great overall speakers. Rich, incredible mids & good (not great) highs. These speakers do love to play loud, but definitely aren't lacking at lower volumes. I will have to say I was a little disappointed with the AMOUNT of bass (given there is 2 12" amplified subs), but powered subs isn't exactly JBL's specialty. For most rooms, the amount of bass is sufficient, but bass junkies or those of us with larger rooms still may want a separate sub. I mainly listen to music, but these speakers definitely do justice to HT as well. I took advantage of Best Buy's "30 day no questions asked" refund policy to try them at home before buying online. ;) Definitely give them some time to break in before cranking them (whoops...didn't sound too great, but no harm done).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 10, 2002]
jmkotow
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

sound, built in sub's

Weakness:

none

After reading the reviews on the 412's for the past 2 yrs, I bought a pr and the Jbl Center speaker.I am extremely happy and satisfied. The wide range of sounds I've never heard on my cd's befor, is like listening to them for the first time..My room is 15 x 30 and the sound fills the room + the rest of my house. These speakers are everything and then some. by the way these are the new JBL 412P II's Love them !!!

Similar Products Used:

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 21, 2002]
koop
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

big soundstage with great depth, biggest limitation is probably my room size. Too small. very accurate. great mids.

Weakness:

If you like grills these are pretty flimsy but I thing the copper cones look pretty good naked.

I wasn't looking for speakers when I found these at best buy as an open box for $500 bucks. Like the other reviewer I just couldn't pass it up. I wanted great mids from my next speakers which is why I was listening to B&W, ML, and a new speaker Monsoon (fantastic for the $) I was delighted to discover that these things have a midrange on par with ribbon or ESL speakers. Jazz, Classical, Vocalist sound great. I guess thats the point behind 4 way speakers. The titanium tweeter has great detail without the brightness I found in the B&W's I auditioned (602's I believe) What these things have done though is open up a whole new medium. DVD-A's. With the LFE channel running through the internal Amps and 12" woofers, DVD-A's are like discovering stereo for the first time. Amazing. Time to upgrade to a SACD I guess. While they are a big speaker I think they take up less room than a lot of other high end speakers. Any bipolar speaker will require more distance from the back wall than these and they are pretty forgiving as far as placement.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 44  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com