JBL S310 Floorstanding Speakers

S310

3-way floorstanding speaker. 10" PolyPlasâ„¢ bass driver. 4" PolyPlasâ„¢ midrange driver. 1" Pure Titanium dome tweeter.

User Reviews (79)

Showing 1-10 of 79  
sean roberts   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2013]

I tend to keep my gear for long periods , after being a Hi Fi store manager some years ago , I was constantly chopping and changing gear and really didn't know what I was listening for ! I have as my source a Sony CDP-XB920E CD PLAYER , a Sony TA-8650 v-fet amp [ very rare ] and JBL-S310 mk2's . I use quality cables leads and banana connectors . The Sony V-FET is an awesome piece of gear at 38 years old ! It performs so well , after many modern " name brand top end amps" I searched for ages until I found a mint 8650 , which I had sold previuosly new to an old client of mine . Listening to the speakers thru this powerhouse , has totally transformed them ! Crisp clean mids , clean treble , and deep powerful bass , the speakers seem more open and much faster than with my previous two amps [ one Accuphase , and one Harmon Kardon] I am so happy with my current sound , I will keep these components , as I have heard recently , a few friends systems costing heaps more than mine , but mine is clearly more accurate and musical ! The JBL-s310 may be middle of the road price wise , but hook up some good gear to them , and they really perform well beyond their station in the Hi Fi world . I found that it was very important to "run them in" at lower levels overnight before giving them some meaty high powered sound [ like ERIC KUNZEL's TIMEWARP on TELARC , this disc can easily destroy speakers , the bottom end has the room shaking at my place , the dynamic range will blow you away , I never believed the JBL S-310 s could handle the punishment , or the Sony 8650 either , but they did , and with awesome power and aplomb ! [ That v-fet is my 3rd , I was a total idiot trading the other two ] So call me old fashioned , but these amps were unbeatable in their day ....still take some beating , even now ! I am a stereo buff , not into surround sound ar all !

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jsonny   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 28, 2004]
Strength:

Plenty of deep rich bass. Treble slightly harsh,but only slightly noticable.Beautiful cabinets,offer plynth support.Designed to play loud distortion free.Front ported,and no wonder.

Weakness:

NOt really a weakness,but these deserve space to really stand out.

Upon purchasing the jbl studio s38's and giving my old jamos a break,i immediately new i had made the right decision.Being avidly into dvd movies,and cd/radio listening,the decision to upgrade payed off. An astute speaker for all the above,heaps of bass,midrange,and treble sharp as a tack. Spikes could improve only the feel of the speaker,not used in my case.Firstly i used hi fidelity quality speaker cable which didnt cost a bundle,and i hooked them up to my strv555es sony reciever. First week,i ran them at around 20watts ,and then the test came.I must remind you i am using a small hall for listening,so no subwoofer has been used.The first dvd experience was fantastic.DTS sound for Dardevil was excellent.Several movies later,and it gets even better.Now to 2channel stereo.I thought I would give Brian ferry a go,so i listend to the cd fully,picking favourite tracks.Well,having decided to crank the sony and see how the JBL"S performed,i can say this.THere was no distortion right up to -20db.THey played avalon tight,terrific,and the way a 200 watt jbl floorstander should,the fact of the matter is this.THese particular speakers need space,but play super either way.ONly drawback,if youd call it that,is that they arent standing on plynths/spikes.Excellent value,but not cheap.

Similar Products Used: Used jamo E850's 200 watts RMS.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
logos   Audio Enthusiast [May 17, 2004]
Strength:

High sensitivity. Good tuneful, deep bass - my subwoofer is only switched on for movies for visceral impact. The rest of the frequency range is also very good, especially the midrange which beats the midrange of all 2-way box designs I've ever heard.

Weakness:

None at the price.

I have had the S310ii's for nearly two years now as the front pair of my AV setup and I must say that they are really great for both movies and stereo music. These replaced a pair of Dynaudio Audience 40's which offer a remarkable sound for their size but really do not come close despite costing nearly as much. Over the years of playing with hi-fi I've come to realise that if you want big sound, you need big 3-way speakers. My speakers rest on 6" stands to avoid floor boominess. They need good electronics and cables to avoid excessive treble as they are basically quite neutral sounding.

Similar Products Used: Dynaudio Audience 40 Mordaunt Short 10i Pearl Apogee Caliper (in main stereo system)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CuM2cmU   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2004]
Strength:

Impressive looking and size. This can go against your way, but I somehow somehow somehow managed to fit these into a 8x16 room and made it sound great. So it's upto how you set up your room. Sickeningly tight bass. The bass of the drum beat never sounded so strong, tight, and clear. Great mid range. The voice carries over, as long as it doesn't drown in the bass. Bright and clear high's. We'll discuss this more later.

Weakness:

The tweeter. As much as I love these speakers, it involves significant amount of tweaking. Being a tech type of guy, I dont mind this, and I actually enjoy fiddling around with all the settings to optimize these speakers, but I can absolutely see why some people would hate that. For music, I connected the receiver to my desktop computer. Audigy 2 is actually an incredibly soundcard that lets you really really really control your speakers in almost anyway without actually buying a component to tweak the more advanced settings. And, it even includes great sounding mods, that are not just cheap gimmicks. With great customizability, all my songs are optimized for these speakers. And they all absolutely sound great. These speakers are absolutely amazing, but you have to tweak it significantly to bring the best out in them. For note, all my mp3 files are encoded at 256kb. I would never use cheap 128kb mp3's with these.

Now that I am in college, I thought it was time to get myself a nice system. I looked around for all-in-one packages for $500-$600 range, and I was almost set on an Onkyo 6.1 system. I live in a 8x16 frat dorm room that is very very small, so unfortunately size was somewhat a factor. Then I found JBL S-310ii for $120 each with free shipping online, and I almost died in happiness. My roommate has JBL S-38ii's and they are one of the best sounding speakers I've heard and I've listened to lots of speakers ($100,000 speakers I saw when I was 17. I don't remember the model nor the brand, because at that time, I didn't appreciate speakers as much as I do now, but I remember thinking that day that one day I will make $100k to buy those speakers one day. But for now, this JBL is a start). On that day, I immediately put an order for JBL S-310ii for $240, and I researched for the most hectic 24 hours of my life to find matching receiver and a subwoofer. I asked lots of people and visited lots of stores to audition. I was very content with Panasonic HE-200K. For its price, it was completely unmatched in sound and features. Sony SA-WM500 was also unparalleled. Online, I bought it for $70 because it had a small dent in the front. It turns out, you can't even notice the dent, so it was a steal. Speakers arrived in two days, so I brought them down to my frat house's basement to break in the speakers. I promised myself that I will not REALLY listen to the speakers until a week later, so I immediately left the basement as soon as I hooked it upto the frat amp. My receiver and the sub arrived about 4 days later, and I couldn't wait, so I hooked everything up immediately, and as soon as I played Comfortably Numb on my Pink Floyd: The Wall, I could have cried on the spot. Everyone around my frat gather around in my room as soon as I raised the volume. These speakers handle loud volume very very well. There was absolutely no hint of strain or distortion, but it was enough to gather the entire frat house of four floors to my room. Immediately, I recognized the bright JBL's tweeter sound, and yes, I agree that it's too much. However, as soon as I tweaked aroudn the receiver's settings, the problem subdued immediately. I have NEVER heard Comfortably Numb's Dave Gilmour's guitar solo like that before. It was right in the strongest range of the JBL speakers and it completely took all of us over. We all agreed that for the price, these speakers are the best thing you will ever hear. Now for more empirical analysis: The bass is unbelievable. I should have not gotten a sub. My room is very small, and there was no need for a sub (for a bigger room, yes you will need a sub). But for $70, a nice bass presence and a little boost to Fight Club's airplane scene can't hurt. With these speakers, don't bother with cheap subs. It will be a waste of money. I'm saving my money up for an HSU. Now, those will be an addition to these speakers, but anything less than that will lag behind the bass of these speakers. One day, I brought these speakers outside to my frat porch while everyone worked. I went back to room to take a nap, and while in my bed, being on the third floor, I FELT the bass from the speakers, and the speakers were NOT facing my window's direction. I was shocked. I knew that the bass was strong, but I didn't think that I would feel it up on the third floor while the speakers were far far outside. The mid is also great, but compared to the bass, it's ever so slighly lacking. I'll have to tweak the setting to make the transition between bass and mid smooth. Otherwide, mid drowns in bass. It's unfortunate, because it's not that mid is bad, but bass is so superior. Now...the tweeter. The controversy. With some songs, the tweeter sounds so unbelievably gorgeous that I want to cry. It brings amazing range and brightness that can just brings your music to totally another level. But with some songs, it completely overpowers anything else, and it just hurts your ears, and you'll have to tweak your settings a lot to deal with this. However, once tweaked, these speakers again sound unparalleled to anything else I've heard.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ART   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2003]
Strength:

Bass output. Clarity. Clean accross entire frequency range.

Weakness:

Size. But the cabinet resonates the sound superbly

Outstangin sound and quality build. Extensivly researched and listened to many speakers in this class and these stand out far above the rest, including many higher priced floor speakers. I was particularly impressed with the bright, detailed sound. No subwoofer needed with music or theater use.

Similar Products Used: JBL S38 II
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Reddy   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 10, 2003]

Can anyone tell me if the ND310II's are actually a better speaker? It seems that they are pretty much the same except the crossovers are set at different frequencies, the ND310 has a 3/4" tweeter, but also has two woofers compared to the s-310 which only has one. From my research it seems that the ND310 is better, does anyone have any experience that might suggest otherwise or confirm this?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
chubby78   Casual Listener [Oct 30, 2003]
Strength:

good for music and dvds, price and quality...the N series can't compare to this, nice bass

Weakness:

does get muddy/ sounds blend together at rediciously high volumes

i have the 310 II studio series, these sound great withh music of all types, everything is clear, the bass is more than enough by itself, i still haven't replaced my currently not working hsu sub, it's been 2 months now.

Similar Products Used: JBL N series, wharfdale...didn't like them at all..not enough bass
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Garman   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 2003]
Strength:

Relatively inferior to the ND310, unless you like the odd appearance.

Weakness:

Muddy, lack of presence when compared to the ND310. Ugly cabinet.

On several ocasions I compared thses speakers to other JBL products at Best Buy. The S310s seem to lack the presence and had muddy base relative to the now discontinued ND310s. I have been considering the purchase of the ND310s to replace my small JBL bookshelf speakers. On a recent trip to Best Buy I was surprised to see that a new "E" series of the Northridge have replaced the old ND310. The comparable E series is priced at $399 each. Perhaps I will purchase a closeout on the old ND310s. My current system consists of: Onkyo Receiver JBL TLX Series Center JBL 6" bookshelf front/rear (wall mounted) Mitsubishi 54" Widescreen Infinity 10" 80W Sub

Similar Products Used: JBL ND310II
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Busser   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 05, 2003]
Strength:

High and Midrange output Build Quality Looks

Weakness:

Low end is a bit weak

I purchased the S310 a year ago. I use them for about 60% of the time watching Movie and Music DVD’s, the remaining 40% for sound Cd’s. Sound quality and balance is excellent on the mid and high range frequencies, but it lacks some output at the bottom. The use of a subwoofer is a must, for both CD (Stereo and DVD use). The lack of Bass compared to Mid and High range output is not unique with speakers; even speakers of 3 times the price do not get the whole frequency range right. My personal favor is that is best to have it this way; it’s for me a setback if there is too much bass output (like many speakers today) because it’s far more difficult to balance it out. Careful positioning the S310 may improve the bass output. The looks are like no other speaker, can’t be matched. The build quality and materials used (speaker and case) are top class. Up to now I have not seen a speaker performing so well in this price class for both Stereo and Home Cinema set-up use. Many speakers of 3 times the price do not produce fair sound as good as the S310!

Similar Products Used: Infinity Sony JVC Klips
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Buck Naked   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2003]
Strength:

price/performance. Hands down best overall performer in the under $1000 class.

Weakness:

none yet... to be continued.

...so I go to Stereo Advantage... see, they had this scratch and win scam for discounts on JBL stuff. %5 - %50 off. I wanted to check out how legit this was, and seeing as I live a couple of blocks from the place. I get there and head straight for the speaker room. Immediately I recognise the beech 312's from the rest of the mahogany/rosewood speakers that populated the room. But man they were beat. All the dust covers were punched in and they had assorted scuff marks. The other had the grille still on, but broken in several places. They sounded worse than they looked. I tried the N310's, but they needed the help of a sub, and lacked a certain personality that says "Hey, I'm a JBL, and proud of it!" Oh, ya, the discount. The salesman hands me a lottery style scratch of ticket and... to make a short story long... %40 off. "I'll take the S series ceter please." The temptation to dig deep for the 412's... I cannot tell you. If you have seen the 412's you'd know what I mean! WOOT! $999/pr. Too steep for me. The wife would have my nads in a jar. I truly was only going for a center channel speaker, the Bose, but they no longer carry Bose. The salesman comes back with my s-center and proceeds to tell me that the 312's are being pulled cuz they were burnt and that one of the other salesmen found one pair of 310's in boxes in the back and is setting them up for another customer, do I want an audition... It took all of one minute to convince me. I leaned over to the salesman and whispered "I'll take 'em." I RAN to the checkout! I literally stole them. List price $798/pr, Stereo Advantage price $399/pr. My price after 40% off: (I'm ashamed... hahahaha) $239.40 for the pair! My system: HK 525 ($540 refurb, onecall.com - is an authorized vendor for HK, full warrantee) JBL S-310 ($240/pr. Stereo Advantage, new 5/17/03, %40 off sale) JBL S-Center ($120 Stereo Advantage, new 5/17/03, %40 off sale) JBL N26AW ($99/pr Best Buy, new 5/11/03) Infinity RS-2000 ($199/pr Stereo Advantage, new 1988) Bose 201 ($199/pr Best Buy, new 4/17/03) JVC XVF85GD 7-Disc progressive scan dvd changer ($81 refurb, CompGeeks.com) Apex AD-5131 3 disk dvd changer (Circuit City, new March 2002, $79) JVC HR-VP606U vhs vcr (stereo advantage, new 1995) Panasonic S-video vhs vcr ($79 Best Buy, new 12/02) Sony TC-WR465 dual tape deck ($99 Silo's, open box ?/??) JVC XL-F108 5 disc cd changer ($99 Silo's, open box ?/??) Sylvania 32" ($229 Sears, floor model 11/02, 3 line comb filter, not the cheap one.)

Similar Products Used: auditioned Klipsch, Bose, Polk, Infinity, Mission, and a couple others that escape me at the moment.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 79  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com