JBL LX-800 Floorstanding Speakers

LX-800

(See reviews)

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Mr Deli   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 24, 2017]

Sorry for this but I am really sick of people that are saying :" I do not like this speaker, try XXX brand or model. Hey guys, are you missing the point or what? OK, then, this speaker, like the others in his range, see LX700, TLX700(8ohm), TLX710,TLX810, and so on, are beautiful sounding speakers, in special for rock and parties. Very good bass, very good highs, quite efficient, low price. If you have a room of 25 to 50 sq meters is more than OK. Anyway far better than so called bookshelf priced very high on reviews - those reviews are very biased and- I suspect- coming from highly sponsored magazines. Who on earth can compare a tiny 2 way 10 liter speaker with this floorstander? Sure, a floorstanders have his drawbacks, also the compact bookshelf. Again, do you want tight and punchy bass, above average sensitivity, this is your choice. Unfortunately this comment is for those who's looking for a good bargain on the second hand market, the new models are lousy. Sure, Denmark made is not a warranty for reliability, the foam surrounds are a pain in the.., but they do sound good. Very good . Same with other Denmark made speakers- various models from Infinity, Jamo and so on. Again, please be aware at haters, they are making waves for free. the score of LX800 is waaay higher than 3.23. If you can,please listen to them

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
gerhard   Audio Enthusiast [May 02, 2014]

hallo boy hier ik heb een Marantz sr14mk2 -Marantz sd60 -Marantz cd17mk2 -Marantz dd-92 Marantz dv 12s1 -Marantz bd 8002 jbl 4x lx1000 center jbl lx 2000- jbl subesp150p mixser -laek 2000 pikup en visonik pikup klinkt prima samen ben er zeer tevreden mee

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
boy   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 15, 2012]

heb 4 lx100 op marantz sr14 mk2 en ben zeer te vreden klinkt super zo wel stero als dts

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Soran   AudioPhile [Jul 13, 2005]
Strength:

nice & warm sound even at high volume. good looking, good design ... there is always better, but for this price ???

Weakness:

you need a monster amp to power up this beasts !! when your amp is not powerfull enough you cannot get a good sound.

I listen to many music styles, from classical piano, cello ... to trance, I have the LX-1000 with the extra woofer. i'm very impressed by this speakers. maybe it sound a little thud, when you like more hights you don't have to buy this speakers, but i don't like to much hights so i realy like the sound. perfect for classical music. the base is just amazing when i put my loudness on, i can create more shokwave than the subwoofer in my car. I use my Rotel RX-1603 receiver (1000 watts power consumption) i tested it with my sanyo receiver (580watts power consumption) and the base is not what it supose to be, so good advice use a good amp !

Similar Products Used: JBL professional series Infinity speakers b&w speakers wharfedale speakers vifa speakers ...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
dj Charly   Casual Listener [May 13, 2002]
Strength:

Cool looks, impressive size.

Weakness:

High`s are too sharp, not the bass you would expect. Way to big for its sound

I actually have the lx1000 model, and I purchased it because I was looking for a speaker that could go loud and low. That `was` the sound I heard in store but not when I played them at home. High`s are too sharp, and they don`t give the low`s you would expect since this is a very large speaker. There are probably other people that like it, I expected much a lot more.

Similar Products Used: Jbl hls 820, much smaller but a lot more bass
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Tom Alaerts   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 24, 2002]
Strength:

- essentially neutral and unfatigueing - clear and detailed - works well with all kinds of music - until recently you could often find them at sale prices, in my opinion they were a good choice for the price.

Weakness:

- big black boxes - deeper bass not very tight, but OK for the money

This model was designed and made in Europe for European tastes. At launch time, it was the reference in its rice category according to a German magazine (if you care about magazines...). I was one of the early buyers, in later years they were sold for very attractive prices (around $350-400 per pair) in Europe. When I bought them, I compared the sound to similar or slightly higher priced models from Linn (it was the Keilidh, a box that interested me at the time), Tannoy, Infinity, Quadral. I prefered the JBLs over the other speakers at the price (the Quadrals came close) because they did sound lively yet essentially neutral and effortless. They are now connected to Quad pre/power amps and I have to say that it''s a good marriage.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Magnus Alkerdun   an Audiophile [Aug 06, 1998]

JBL has a reputation of being only speakers built for PA. According to what i´ve experienced from my TLX-18-models i can agree a little, there isn´t so much of perspectiv and homogenity in their sound, allthou, the midrange is quite clean and pure and good on mans voices but averall they are not so much of hi-fi-speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
Ruben Petersen   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2002]
Strength:

Good highs, great mid-tones, pretty good low-tones, high tones aren't sharp, but very clear, mid's are very nice, bass could be a bit stronger but it does it's job well.

Weakness:

Bass could be a bit better, although in my opinion. most people will be more than statisfied with the bass.

Very nice speaker with good sound, clear high-tones, great mid-tones, and a good bass without any distortion at all (even at high volumes)

Similar Products Used: CAT (model unknown), Jamo D-115 , Mission 701
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Emile Meijer   [Sep 10, 2001]
Strength:

Strong, clear bass. No large stduio needed. NO strong amplifiere needed.

Weakness:

Spikes needed, just for the neighbours.

These big three-way speakers are very full of sound, suitable for many sorts of music.

Similar Products Used: a 2.5 system of Quadral. Magnat vintage sries.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jann   an Audio Enthusiast [Jan 22, 1998]

You have all got to be kidding. The LX is good for home theatre where the only requirement is producing loud noises. The last 2 posters have no clue. 'best oin the market', 'professional' ?? the LX is not their 'pro-audio' line btw and best in the market? These are cheap and cheap-sounding boxes. building big speakers for the sake of size...

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com