JBL LX 600 Floorstanding Speakers

LX 600

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
trellix78   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 03, 2005]
Strength:

Built solid. Sharp, accurate highs. Heavenly mids. Satisfying lows (for music) Very good imaging and sense of space. Enveloping soundfield (medium volume)

Weakness:

Rear port can make placement difficult.

I found out my uncle had these speakers hidden in his attic, so I decided to borrow them from him. These things are pretty heavy and seem well-built. After placement of 2 feets from the wall, I hooked them up to my NAD 1150 preamp and NAD 2200 amp using regular lamp cord with soldered ends. Source audio was from my workstation computer through a Soundblaster Audigy 2 card and out across 5 feet of Radio Shack RCA gold-plated cables. I played Dizzy Gillespie's Manteca(Funky Lowlives Remix) from the Verve Remixed 2 CD and was blown away. It's hard to describe the sound of the JBL LX 600, except that there is a lack of pretentiousness. Like my NAD equipment, they are no frills and don't shout to be given attention. Even at less than 1/3 turn of the big volume knob on the preamp, I was in love with these speakers. I couldn't turn it up to half because it became unbearable. Yet, I got the feeling that the LX600 can take all the power the NAD amp can throw at it...amazing. Another thing that amazed me is the quickness of the woofer. There are a couple of moments in the Manteca song with very fast double beats and yet it sounded very real. I sat there with the grills off and stared with my mouth open. Mids were very clear and open. Highs were sharp without being harsh. As one of the other reviews mentioned, horrible source material like low bitrate MP3 will be magnified. Lows were very good for music. I don't watch much TV so sub bass performance is not important to me. The LX600's are very similar to my friend's JBL E90 speakers that I had the pleasure of torturing with my equipment. They just have more satisfying bass that hits you in the chest. I listened Acid Jazz, Jazz, R&B and the fusion stuff and yet the sound was real, full and transparent. I'm no audiophile and I work for a living but these are worth every penny.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer POS speakers. JBL E90. Bose.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Legend_fan   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 30, 2003]
Strength:

Bass, midrange, clear titanium sound.

Weakness:

Rear ported. Anyway I put them only 3" away from the wall and since I do not listen to very loud volume this set-up does not affect or distort music at all ..

Great speakers. Great bass and clear mid-range make them almost perfect for any types of music including classical, rock, pop, etc.. I love them and think they are worth every penny I spent.

Similar Products Used: JBL S99, Pioneer S-99A, Advent /1 and /2 , and many old speakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rip Orcutt   Audiophile [May 31, 2000]
Strength:

Clean, accurate sound.

Weakness:

Bass extension is not very deep or pronounced (which may be a strength, depending on your style of listening).

I've owned these speakers for probably 6 or 7 years now. When I first got them, I was a bit disappointed at the lack of lower end extension. I had been coming from speakers that each housed a 12" woofer and a rear-firing 12" passive radiator, and stood at over 40" in height. The bass from these monsters was incredible.

I was initially put off from getting these JBL bass-reflex speakers since I had a true appreciation for the hybrid acoustic/passive reflex speakers I used to own. I wanted speakers that either were true acoustic-sealed enclosures or at worst had passive radiators. I did not want a speaker which had a "tuned" port on the back.

Nevertheless, I purchased these JBL's when I came across an irresistable deal in a magazine ($571/pair). I also saw that the smaller LX-400's were Consumer Reports' best buy that year (although I have since learned not to put too much faith in their recommendations - there are *many* online resources that provide much more comprehensive and accurate information - like this one!).

Anyway, I eventually purchased a couple matching black 4 degree 12" stands for them, which really completed their appearance. I wouldn't recommend them any other way, as it cleans up the sound a lot too (otherwise the mid-bass is a little muddy - something that could otherwise be corrected by room placement too, of course).

You will definitely need a larger room to put these speakers, as they just won't work in a smaller place. I currently have them in my basement in their original box, and am considering selling them. I don't plan on moving out of this small house for a few years. I would much rather purchase a small pair of studio monitors and pair them with a powered Klipsch KSW-12 sub and a lower-end H/K receiver (shipping today!) for the SMs.

I primarily played these speakers on an ultra-clean Kenwood receiver. It is rated at 80w/channel at no more than 0.008% THD. That's no exaggeration! The only receiver I ever saw with a lower THD was a JVC (0.007%) in the mid-eighties. Consumer Reports (ugh- I know...) rated this Kenwood at 109/w per channel true output at 8 OHMs. I realize that I'm throwing specs around, but my point is simply that if you like loud, super-clear sound, these JBL's won't disappoint. If you are a growling bass hound, you will want to pair them with a subwoofer. They just cannot provide that ultra-low end.

I feel like I have been a little harsh on these speakers (no pun intended). For that I must explain that I am a rather finnicky guy when it comes to this sort of thing. I cannot force myself to offer anything worse than a 4 for these speakers, although they probably deserve a bit better than that. I was disappointed from the start, however, as I expected a set of speakers that were not only studio monitor quality (which they are) but could also really growl.

If you are after a pair of highly efficient, accurate, and high-output speakers, these are the ones. If you are in the market for deep bass extension, keep looking.

Similar Products Used: Boston Acoustics, Bose, Polk Audio, Cambridge SW, Yamaha, EPI, Infinity (The closest competitor to these speakers would be the Infinity SM-110, or whichever SM has the 10" woofer - I don't recall offhand).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Bob   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 18, 2001]

I bought my LX600s about 8 years ago and have always been pleased with their sound. CD players and receivers/amps have come and gone, but my speakers have stayed, and I always thought they sounded good. But within the past few months I've upgraded my interconnects and speaker cables and have been blown away by the wonderful new music coming from my old JBLs. The interconnects have especially made a huge difference. The improved soundstage and detail is amazing. They're really great speakers. And I can't believe it's taken me 8 years to realize it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
t. w   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 11, 2000]
Strength:

dynamics, ability to take off,transient response, clarity in complex passages, decent base w/proper front end electronics

Weakness:

compression at high volumes, some smearing or loss of detil again at extreme volume, demands better amplification [$$$]if you consider that a weakness

I have to report that these were my first speakers I bought four plus a center channel and a psw 1200 powered sub. in a home theatre setup. Let me tell you these boys rock, plenty of detail ; due to the titanium tweeters used . One very important thing when driving these speakers is to keep in mind not to skimp on amplification. Theyre specified at 8 ohms and 91 db. sensitivity, however they sounded flat listening to Filters single "Hey Man Nice Shot" through my 600 us dollar kenwood receiver which was specd. at 100 watts per channel. Also listening to Pink Floyds album Delicate Sound Of Thunder track number six confirmed my need for purchasing a sepreate Adcom five channel amp.From the first few SECONDS these speakers transformed into dynamic , explosive speakers that revealed many subtle details in the source material such as the splashing of waves pounding at the sides of the boat and hearing the oars creaking.{Again PINK FLOYD TRACK # 1} Great value just mate with proper electronics.As for base I found them to be lacking only in the lowest octaves, hence my adding a subwoofer for a little more depth,also I feel these speakers are very responsive to the signal feeding it in other words theyre fast, I believe the use of a 10 inch woofer instead of using a 12 inch or larger helps in this regard just listening to {Lights Out} UFO "Time To Rock" CONFIRMED THAT! I have since moved this system downstairs with a much more powerful receiver that being an onkyo txds747, and moved an all seperates system w/new speakers upstairs however when I want to be injected with high spls and dynamic rock and roll concert level volume I just return to my basement with a few friends to enjoy a fine sounding mid=fi system. Really hard to beat in this price range,I paid 1000 dollars for the set of four.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jack   an Audiophile [Apr 10, 1999]

Have these speakers for 3 years with ONKYO TX-SV 414 Pro Receiver. Had Cabasse (French speakers for audiophiles) for 4 years before with a ONKYO not stereo (not surround) amplifier (not receiver).For $600 now, they trully are a great value except for those who look for Classical music only speakers. I listen to them everyday on CD (classical to rock to techno) and as part of Dolby Surround movie system.
For movie: They're perfect since the high range is fully reproduced (maybe too much) as well as the middle and the bass. The bass are strong as americans like it. Strong enough that you wouldn't need a subwoofer unless you want to shake your walls at low volume level.
For Music: that works perfectly for any modern music (especially techno). These speakers are great for techno sounds. They're less nuanced for classical but I listen a lot of it and still enjoy it. It's less warm than with $1000 speakers though. But honestly, a very few would tell unless they are audiophile buffs.

The titanium tweeter is great for giving you the finest exact details of high range sounds. The drawback is that your recording better has to be good. I can for example hear the fingers of the musicians when they reach for their instruments in a DDD concerto for example. If the receiver isn't great (mine is medium in the beginning of real Hi-Fi), you'll also hear the noise of it, like a wind blowing when you put your hear close to it or pump the volume up. Again, this is great for any artificial sounds (70% of modern sound is artificial).

For me, the case of the speaker itself is kind of cheap with the black glued wood. But you don't see it unless you put your nose on it. And 4 consecutives harsh moves of apt. didn't alter them much. They're resistant.
These speakers are heavy but BOSE especially won't reach this kind of sound even for 40% more money. LX600 must stand on the floor with its back at least 2-4 feet from the wall or it will be very loud and the bass would alter the original mix and take too much space. Same with Hardwood floor that would make them sound louder too, Then you would just have to turn bass a little down. sensitivity is high (more than 90db) and that's good. Get informed on that.

Overall, I am kind of demanding and though, I am really really happy with these speakers. Very great deal if you get them for $400 the pair. I've listen to many other more expensive speakers that don't survive the comparison for audio. As for movie, remember that JBL INVENTED the speakers to add sound in cinema a few decades ago. You can feel that.

Speakers are clear and keep faithfull to the original recordings except for the powerfull bass but it seems american love it more. This product is made by and for them. And I like it too. :-)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Jim   an Audio Enthusiast [Jul 08, 1998]

These speakers have deep bass extension, clear mids and highs. They are recommended more for rock than classical or jazz music.Now that these are discontinued, they can be had for about $600/pair
not a bad value for full range speakers. They sound much better when powered with a great amp rather than a wimpy receiver.

These speakers are definately better than JBL's newer counterparts. Build quality is higher and the drivers are better.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Jerry Philips   an Audio Enthusiast [Mar 16, 1999]

I actually own a 'old' pair of LX1000 .This makes me think about the seriousness of the LX series ! thanks for the titanium tweeter which is sooo natural.I havent got the chance to listen to the smaller models but the LX1000 has everything one would ever want.(with 92db sensivity and 27kg per pair !hum)
The bass is like a kick in your stomach and the voice is natural.I actually use it with an Arcam Alapha 7 amp and a Pioneer PDS802 cdplayer.


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Grant Mathews   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 01, 2000]
Strength:

Great lows, mids, and highs. Great speakers for the $.

Weakness:

Rear ports cause you to place at least 1.5 ft. from wall.

Picked these up 5 years ago straight from Jbl for $400. Maybe not the best for classical listening but all other music is fantastic, esp. Rock and R&B.

Similar Products Used: Carver ribbon, Polk, CV
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tim wasinger   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 13, 2000]
Strength:

speed, transient response, overall detail, seperation in sound, clarity at decent spls.

Weakness:

can sound week at higer volume with sub-par front end,demands decent amplification to open up, good front end makes these shine, can sound compressed at high volumes

ill always love these for their inate ability to show me what I truly was missing in good overall audio, home theatre sound/ 5.1 music sound. and ive moved these downstairs w/ an onkyo txds 747 receiver w/ far better amp, the base dont hit the very bottom but is decent for music I added a psw 120 sub to augment lowest octaves. Ill always be enchanted w/ these for introducing me to better sound at a high value. Ive now moved into seperates, mirage, adcom lexicon, mit cables HEY LET IT ROLL, GREAT WEB SITE!!!!!














111

Similar Products Used: pioneer, ect...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com