JBL L112 Floorstanding Speakers

JBL L112 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

3 way bookshelf 12" woofer

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 25  
[Oct 02, 2018]
new_old


Strength:

Amazing sound and scattering of sound in the room An very good combination for maranz receivers and tube amplifier

Weakness:

Age does its part and rings should be replaced every 10 years but it's worth it

Price Paid:
3500
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 14, 2017]
John
Casual Listener

I was 13 when my dad bought these for the family in 1979. They were the ultimate disco speakers. I was listening to the l100 in the jBL dealer sound,showroom with him but we chose the l112 they were twice the price of the l100. He gave them to me in 2000 when he needed hearing aids. They are the best speakers I've seen, heard for the price seen them at chuck e cheeses in the 70s, and various nightclubs, they sound better in public. I think my amp is not powerful enough 90 watts denon, these speakers are rated 300 watts rms. Can't believe that my dad paid 1000 for these brandnew in 1979 saw used ones for 2000-4000. I guess these are going to be kept in the family they're almost 40 yrs old nothing made today comes close to these speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 28, 2016]
Randy McCall
AudioPhile

I recall the late 80's going to all the high end audio shops in Toronto with my favorite vinyl under arm auditioning speakers to buy. Nothing under $2000 came close to the JBL's for my ears.I still have them. I replaced the foam woofer surrounds and even the capacitors recently. I have them paired with a bulldozer 200 WPC cont. 800WPC peak Perreaux amp that turns these into a concert hall experience. They are simply an excellant bass reflex speaker that plays loud well and can pump out the bottom end as well as high end detail and stereo imaging. JBL have made better speakers with better tweeter/midrange perhaps, however these are hard to come by, expensive and too large for my home. When it comes to speakers, the L 112's were my first love and will do just fine for me. They are like an old friend and one of my few favorite possessions.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 10, 2016]
Jesse
Audio Enthusiast

I bought my JBL L112s when I lived in Japan (1986-1990) and the base had their annual Cherry Blossom Sale (Camp Zama). I had my eye on the JBLs for some time but when they went on sale I grabbed them. They followed me from Japan to Seattle to Germany to DC to Italy and back to the USA. At one point I gave them to my son and just forgot about them but one day we were talking and I mentioned that I miss the old JBLs and he said he still had them. Totally surprised I got them back and rebuilt the crossovers and put in new tweeters (got off eBay), redid the surrounds and they now sound totally amazing!!! I've run a number of amps/receivers through them over the years but right now running an OUTLAW RR2150/iMac through them and they just light up the house. The sound is just like the day I purchased them. Glad I got them back and they look and sound great. I have some B&Ws 602 S3 that I enjoy but when I want to rock I have to go back to the JBLs. They were and are still awesome! Truly an audio Legend in the speaker world.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 05, 2015]
DanoRoo
Audio Enthusiast

I have owned several pairs of JBL loudspeakers over the years. Athena 99s, L86s, L-100s and the L-112s, which I bought new in 1982. They all sounded pretty good, but the L-112s stand out among them. Very balanced and built like a tank. They will reproduce any type of music faithfully, but if you like to ROCK, I can think of no other vintage bookshelf speaker that does it better. L-112s are efficient and will play at decent volume levels with even a modest tube amp of say, 20 watts. Pair these loudspeakers with a robust solid state amp of 120 to 200 watts and they will put you front and center at the concert venue! I sold mine about 4 or 5 years ago. Sure, the audio industry has made strides in fidelity since those days, but the JBL L-112 was ahead of it's time. I am nostalgic. I miss mine.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2014]
joebair
AudioPhile

JBL-L112 are awesome! I had my pair since the 80's and
had the woofers re-coned. They are fantastic! I've had offers
to sell, but can't give them up. I think I paid around $800.
back then and could probably get triple that now, but won't
give them up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 28, 2013]
Dennis impallomeni
AudioPhile

I bought my JBL L-112 Speakers 1982 at bitburg airbase and I am still listening and enjoying
Them that year they won best speaker of the year award by stereo review mag. And the rest of world was amazed at the quality of sound they put out the display showed them cut in half the cabinet and all speakers and showing you the technology of these speakers they can handle
300 watts of continuos clean power I had also saw them at a fancy dance club in NY and I could not believe how they sounded there they have theses 300watt per channel amps and
They were in incredible now I got surround sound Yamaha aventage a pair of L112 a pair of
J 216 from 1983 pair of J 2060 1992 center LC1 all JBL plus a JBL ES240P .
I am now at full theater THX performance and night club sound !

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 31, 2013]
Butch
Audio Enthusiast

What can I say I hit the audio lottery! Hope everyone is sitting! I had four JBL L112's given to me. I had to do the standard repair to the woofer surround foams. The cabinets where left in a damp area and did suffer some damage. As soon as I saw them I decided to stack two lefts together and two rights together. I bolted them together and sanded and painted them a flat gun metal gray.
Hooked them up do a 350 watt Peavey power amp turned them half way up and WOOOOOOW! The air moving through the speaker darn near parted my hair! I was testing them out and they where thumping real good when the Fed ex guy came to my door. He was very surprised when a late 50's man greeted him at the door with speakers cranked at that volume.
I have alot of speakers two vintage altec Lansing's two vintage peavey T-300 and two vintage EMC columns and let me say these can dance with the best of them. I have four of them and have less than $50.00 total in all of them that's after replacing one bad mid range.
I use them in a 60 x 100 building and they are paired with Altec Lansing and it's like I live concert! I think I will have them buried with me!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 21, 2011]
Monte@HB,CA.
Audio Enthusiast

I first must admit that I love the JBL sound. But also understand the JBL 4311 and L100 have there shortcomings regarding the audiophile sound quality which is very little. With that out of the way a pair of l112's managed to not be bought and shipped to the Asian market and find their way to my house in California. They have a real crossover circuit and play very nice with all types of music. They play nice with
most amps and receivers unlike the modern audiophile speakers which have to be carefully matched. No
special cables or cables needed, just hook them up with some Monster speaker wire and away you go.
The L 112's also play very good hooked up to tube amps which gives you more detail. Get a pair and
own a piece of history.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 05, 2010]
sharpeman
Audio Enthusiast

I have owned a number of JBLs L100 l36 4311 etc these top them all. Fantastic sound great highs and mids Base is very tight . A joy to listen to ..Handles rock blues jazz any thing you toss at them . Even makes classical sound wonderful . Get a chance buy them

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com