JBL L100 Floorstanding Speakers

JBL L100 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

42 lbs of true sound on steroids

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 76  
[Jan 27, 2016]
john kovacich
AudioPhile

Bought a pair at a resale shop for $40. normally I wouldnt buy a pair of jbl but these have been on my list since high school , unfortunately for JBL my tastes have improved quit a bit since then.Over all the sound isnt too bad ,remember these are 40 years old and cant compare with modern designs.The sound: low bass is ok, it has a very noticeable peak at 75hz perhaps a badly tuned bass port, peaky uneven midrange and a very poor cheap treble.The terminal posts on the back are very small and only accept the smallest zip cord you can find,sorry no monster cable for these speakers.At high volume the bass is very solid and punchy but the midrange get s very tiring very quickly, every singer ,especially a female, has an unnatural glare to their voice, overall Id say good for background, noncritical listening, buy them only for resale later.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 12, 2013]
keith m
Audio Enthusiast

I bought a pair in 1977 new and had for 20 years. I bought another set in 2011 and sold in 2013.
Fun rock and roll speakers. But flawed. There are a lot of better speakers out there for the money. If you have an old Marantz and want to play the Who at high volume, they can't
be beat. It's what they were built for. But after round two for me, not a keeper.
Other models in the JBL line are much better speakers, but of course harder to find
and $$$. Much like those classic receivers. At the current prices, (higher every day)
you can buy modern gear used that will be truly high end.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 12, 2012]
samo
Audio Enthusiast

An absolute classic, excellent across the full sonic range! feed it good power, good cabling and of course good source music. Great fun speaker especially at it's price point! Not too many that can punch as hard as this classic oldie! Rock, Jazz, Classical it's all good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 10, 2011]
jaynole
Casual Listener

I'm 37 years old and grew up around my dad's L100's. In 1977 we lost our house to a fire. My dad's best friend from high school moved to Atlanta. His next door neighbor happened to be Steve Walsh from KANSAS. My dad and Steve never became friends but Steve did visit our house a few times in the late 70's with my dad's friend Vick. I was about 7 at the time and thought he was a girl because of the long hair. Steve recommended these at a party one evening at our house. Dad picked them up from Warehouse Sound in California the next week. For over 30 years I listened to countless artist in our living room. The Eagles, Foghat, Boston, Kansas, LRB, ELO, Bad Company, etc, etc...... Always amazed at the sound. Unfortunately I inherited them last week. My father passed away unexpectedly at 65 years of age. When my mom told me to take them home with me I immediately got rid of the crap I had been settling for, for the last 10 years. Hooked them up at home and cried the other night till 2 in the morning. I'm not sure if it was missing my dad or the beautiful sound that these speakers reproduce. Now that I have them I will cherish them. If you get a chance to acquire a set. Don't hesitate. There is no better speaker in my honest opinion for Classic Rock. Oh yea, you can listen to other music on them too. Don't think just buy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 01, 2011]
bsrichar
Audio Enthusiast

I have a pair of JBL L100 speakers. I am the original owner. I have stored them for over 26 yrs. I lost the grills in a move. These speakers and cabinet are very close to new condition. These are the one of the best speakers of all time. I was just wondering what are they worth in this condition. Does anybody have any idea want there worth.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2010]
humber-river
Casual Listener

much-a-do about nothin.
boomy bass, shreiking mids n highs. very fatiguging after a few hours listening.
trying to flip em now for 800.00
hey, theres a fool born every minute!! lol

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 19, 2010]
bigboyroy
Audio Enthusiast

I bought a pair of these in a yard sale for $10. Of course the grill foam is totally rotted off and one of the tweeters had a hole in it. I acquired a tweeter via EBAY and hooked them to my Pioneer sx-1250.......wow, nice sound to say the least. I A / B switched them between my Klipsch Heresy I and II's and thought the JBL had more base and just as much treble and mid. I have all the classic speakers, Pioneer CS-99A, Cerwin Vega D-9, Klipsch Heresy I and II, Klipsch Cornwall, Klipsch KG-4, Sansui sp-3000, Bose 901, 601, etc. etc. and these are by far the ones I listen to the most. I listen to classic rock mostly at moderate levels and the JBL's are the best in my opinion. If you can pick up a set for $400 on down I don't think you can go wrong.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 11, 2010]
vintageadict
Audio Enthusiast

I picked up a pair of JBL Century L-100's at a local vinyl shop. The owner told me they were the bomb in the 70's and one of the top selling speakers of all time. I was a little skeptical but after hearing them hooked up to my vintage Marantz receiver I knew I had found what I was looking for. They are the best rock n roll speakers I have heard yet that don't take up half of your living room. I really could not be happier. My wife loves them and so do my friends. They are a ton of fun to listen to. Some say the bass can be a little heavy and I agree. At high volumes turning off the loudness helps. Sound good at low volumes too. They have that punch you in the gut bass that you can't get from HT speakers or subs. If you want vintage speakers and like to listen to rock n roll then you will love these. They are the epitome of West Coast sound.
If you want newer speakers but want this sound then prepare to shell out some serious cash.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 25, 2009]
mudder101
Audio Enthusiast

I have two JBL Model L-100 that I am selling let me know if anyone is interested?

Jeremiah
785-383-4011

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 24, 2009]
rocknronny
Audio Enthusiast

I went into my favorite thriftstore today looking for sweatshirts and after finding none to my liking went over to the electronic section. There were a pair of jbl speakers for $49.95 and after removing the grills and much to my joy and surprise saw they were jbl l100 centurys. I checked to make sure the base, tweeter and midrange were not ruined and other than the rotting foam on the midrange the centurys are in great shape. I already purchased the surrounds on ebay today I hooked them up to my Pioneer 737 which is also driving a pair of JBL 4311s and Pioneer hpm 900s and they are just plain kickin butt. I have read of others finding great deals on jbls in the thrift stores and always wished it could happen to me. Well today my wish came true!! My system sounds absolutely fantastic But then it should with two pair of jbls. ROCK ON.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 76  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com