JBL G500 Floorstanding Speakers

JBL G500 Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Oct 02, 2010]
Brownsnake
Audio Enthusiast

I came across my JBL G500 through someone in need of quick cash $60 USD to be exact.As soon as i got home i hooked them up to my Yamaha RX 485. Using monster cables and wires i got the details i was looking for.With 2 8inch woofers and a 5inch mid and 1inch tweeter what i heard was a full range punchy bass with clear highs.Also to add more high frequencies i added 2 Klipsch super tweeters (quintet) 3inch tweeters and 1 inch horns.
I am in musical heaven when i let these speakers sing. j

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 10, 2004]
Ben325e
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

jack of all trades.

Weakness:

master of none.

I love these speakers, especially for the 30 bucks I paid for them!! The sound quality is good, but they fall short of stellar performance. The bass can be somewhat lacking of clarity, and with the large port on the rear placement should be well off of the wall. I just picked em up becuase there was a man asking 35 bucks for them at a yardsale, and I just couldn't pass the deal up. The spring clip terminals are kinda cheesy, but overall sound is good.

Similar Products Used:

Definitive, polk, bose (yuck!)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 05, 2000]
Bub
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Woofers hold up well. To me, the highs are just right. Have owned JBL's for years and will continue to do so.

Weakness:

None so far!

I have had these for almost 1 year now. I recently upgraded to the awesome Onkyo TX-DS777. Massive power! The JBL's sound even better with my new receiver. I was going to replace these with some HLS-820's, but didn't know that it would really be an upgrade. I'm happy. Sounds great!

Similar Products Used:

HLS 615 (rear), JBL J-center, have also owned a pair of JBL L5's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2000]
James Flowers
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great tonal response from Hi's to Lows. Tight,reactive and responsive

Weakness:

Material used for cabinets chips easy.

Have had for 2 years, got at a half off sale at local name brand store $250 for the pair best amount of money I've spent on speakers! With yamaha 1105 head these put out as much sound as many $500 a piece speakers! If you cant afford to pay much this is where it's at.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 09, 2000]
Ed H
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound and handles power well.

Weakness:

none

These are great speakers the highs are sweet and the 2 8 inch woofers can give excellent bass response. I've used them as studio monitors for DJ gigs as well as home theatre front speakers for over 5 years still going strong. You can't go wrong with JBL.

Similar Products Used:

B&W, Cerwin vega

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 09, 2000]
DAN ESPERSEN
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

GREAT LOOKS, AWESOME BASS, CRISP HIGHS, HANDLES POWER

Weakness:

NONE

I PURCHASED THESE UNITS IF I REMEMBER RIGHT ABOUT 5 YEARS AGO. I HAVE NEVER BEEN DISAPPOINTED WITH JBL'S QUALITY. THE BASS HAS EXCEPTIONAL SOUND, SOMETIMES TOO MUCH. THE HIGHS ARE CRISP AND CLEAN. THE FINISH ON THE CABINETS IS EXCELLENT. FOR THE MONRY YOU CAN'T GO WRONG. I'VE LISTENED TO SIMILAR UNITS IN THIS PRICE RANGE AND THEY DON'T COMPARE. IF YOU CAN FIND A PAIR A THESE FOR SALE SOMEWHERE, PICK THEM UP. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED.

Similar Products Used:

AR, CERWIN VEGA, BOSE,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2000]
JimF
Casual Listener

Strength:

Decent jack of all trades.
Fairly strong and efficient reasonably strong bass.

Weakness:

Master of none.
Unpleasantly bright at times, bass not too clean.

I've used these with my audio/HT system for about 5 years, and they have served me well. I originally paid about $500-$600 for them at Best Buy. I'm upgrading much of my setup now, and am using a sub (Klipsch KSW-12) so it was time to find new speakers with sweeter highs and mids.
I'd recommend these if you can find a used pair in good shape. I really think these compare favorably to Paradigm Monitor 7's, but they don't hold a candle to the B&W or Def. Tech. in the under $1000 and under bracket. Since I paid full price, I have to take a point off for value, and 3 might be a little low for overall, but that's what I rate the Paradigms, and it reflects how much I liked the others more than the years of decent performance I've gotten from them. They will be fine in my secondary system.

Similar Products Used:

Auditioned B&W 600 series, Def. Tech. bipolars, BA, et al.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 11, 2000]
Rick Dietz
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very accurate highs, strong mids and surprisingly tight and deep bass

Weakness:

For the price, none

I picked these up in late '96 on an in store special at Best Buy. I payed $400 for the pair, which is a GREAT bargain. JBL soon discontinued this model and brought out a totally inferior model for the same price. The new model containes only one 8'' woofer compared to the G500's two. The difference in bass response was unbelievable. The G500's are a very strong speaker, great for all styles of listening. If you can find a pair, I highly recommend grabbing them without a second thought.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 16, 1999]
agung

Superb imaging, sound so real you'll think the musicians are right there! And the finishes... absolutely gorgeous! I'd rate 9 stars if such a rating were available!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com