JBL D315 Floorstanding Speakers

D315

Speakers

User Reviews (25)

Showing 1-10 of 25  
Handyman 2000   AudioPhile [Oct 08, 2013]

Ok. So I bought these to resell. As with all my purchases I ran them thru the gamut. From classical to death metal. They have the JBL name but that's all. Inferior parts and engineering. Light bulb! I put some polyfill stuffing in the cabinet (stuffed it really). Rebuilt the crossovers and now they sound like something worthy of the JBL name. So if you find a pair cheap pick them up and do your own upgrade. You won't be disappointed. Make sure you have the room to fully appreciate these speakers (at least 20 x 20). They will make your neighbors change their taste in music!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
fallenlordz   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 02, 2002]
Strength:

Mids and bass

Weakness:

Tweeter

Big speakers, but I was expecting them to be anyway. The bass is tight considering it is a 15". The mids are very loud and stands out then any other part of the speaker. For the tweeters, the sound isnt as high or noticable.

Similar Products Used: JBL, Cerwin vega, Aiwa, Sony, Wharfedale, Aura
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Andrei   Audio Enthusiast [May 20, 2002]
Strength:

Clothes vibrate on you if you turn it a notch below distorsion.

Weakness:

Highs are lacking.

I got these a while ago for christmas. The sound has its strenghts and weaknesses. The bass over a certain volume is weak, the woofers cannot handle what a ported enclosure could do for them. The highs are just lacking. They could have used a dome tweeter or something better, this one just ain''t cutting it. The midrange is ok, maybe a bit extreme at times. For the use I got them for - Mp3s, games, some DVDs, they work great and I''ll probably get another pair (my receiver is way too powerful for just one pair, distorsion comes in at halfway).

Similar Products Used: Vega''s, KLH
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin Henkel   Audiophile [Jun 13, 2000]
Strength:

Very tight bass responce typical of full enclosures

Weakness:

poor tweeters blare at high volumes

A very good speaker for the price good tight bass responce very sensitive speakers don't take much drive. However the tweeters have some issues can blare at high volumes such as 2/3rds of my JVC 600 WATT reciever,but other than that I feel its a pretty good speaker as far as balence and stereo imaging go, I'd definitly buy them again just cause there so cheap.

Similar Products Used: tannoy studio monitors
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Presto   Audiophile [Dec 03, 1999]
Strength:

Great bass that hits hard. Strong mids, if not a bit overbearing.

Weakness:

Slightly weak high's, mid's a bit on the loud side.

For the $200 I payed for this pair of speakers, I can't think of much else that can beat their value. First of all, how many speakers can you buy for $200 with a 15" woofer? Not many, not the least the quality of JBL for that matter. The bass on these things hits EXTREMELY hard due to it's sealed enclosure. The bass is a bit on the punchy side, but still sounds great. That 15" woofer really moves with bassy music on! The mids of this speaker are clear and defined but can be a little louder than needed at times. However, the lack of a high quality tweeter or horn on this system keeps if from earning a 5-star overall rating. It is just a generic run-of-the-mill tweeter that's not special at all. I am probably going to replace them with $20 bullet horns to improve imaging but that's a little later down the road. As for looks, these speakers sure have them. At first when I saw them of the JBL website they looked ugly, but see them in person and they take on a beauty all their own. I must stress the value of these speakers. Head on over to www.jandr.com and grab these up before they're gone!

Similar Products Used: Pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jonathan Syfu   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 03, 2000]
Strength:

Decent overall sound, the sealed box produces tighter bass than ported boxes

Weakness:

I'm not really into the 3-way speakers, spring clip connectors

I got these speakers for $130/pair off ubid.com and for the money they are great. I personally favor a 2-way speaker and a subwoofer instead of a 3-way speaker. Not sure what the crossover frequencies are, but I get a lot better sound out of the system in my car than out of these speakers. I have a Ford Mustang with the Mach 460 sound system and I added a PPI 250x2 amp with 2 JL10w6 subwoofers getting 75Hz down.

I think one of the problems is that the speaker can do 250W RMS, but most receivers go around 100W RMS. Most people will not buy an amplifier to use with a speaker like this one, at least I wouldn't.

Similar Products Used: nothing of this size
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Gavin Daigle   Audiophile [May 06, 2000]
Strength:

Very loud, Low price

Weakness:

Bass

I have bought a pair of these speakers about a month and a half ago was very impressed in the sound quality and price. The bass could have been better but for the price they where pretty good. I would recomend a pair of these speakers for someone who dosent crave a lot of bass or for any anyone who has a good subwoofer. I was pleased for about a month then the bass seemed to fade out and they would slightly distort at about 70-75watts. If you plan on getting a pair of these I would recomend not using them with a receiver that goes below 40hz because they might distort at low frequencies and high power.

Similar Products Used: KLH
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Darryl Jones   Audiophile [Feb 18, 2000]
Strength:

Rock-solid bass

Weakness:

Midrange presence is a bit much at times

I bought these for use in a rec room, and thought the quality was amazing just in casual listening. I did a side-by-side with my AR's , and was amazed at the quality of sound, the overall balance, and the bass reproduction, and the imaging. So far, these speakers seem to be "bullet proof"--I'm using a 250wpc Carver power amp to drive them, and the sound has never seemed strained, nor have I over-driven them (they play LOUD without much power). What a GREAT value! I've played classical, jazz, hip-hop, and rock on them, and these speakers just refuse to disappoint. For anyone looking for a high quality sound from an efficient speaker at a low price, these are IT!

Similar Products Used: Infinity Loudspeakers, Acoustic Research Loudspeakers
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
John   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2000]
Strength:

Bass

Weakness:

Shake the walls

I love them more than anything. I live in the dorms at school. We have concrete walls, and you can feel my speakers hit all the way down the hallway. Now I'm in a house, and I can't turn them u to loud because they shake all the walls.

Similar Products Used: Very old speakers
Conventional subs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
D.J. Haslbeck   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 1999]
Strength:

Good base response. Excellent deal!

Weakness:

Plastic base speaker mounting.

Overall, I am happy with these speakers. For the money, it is an excellent deal. The base speaker frame is plastic (which I wasn't crazy about)and they COULD use a port to allow freer movement at high volume. Still, I'd buy them again.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com