JBL CF120 Floorstanding Speakers

CF120

12in woofer,4.5in mid, 5/8th in titanium-laminate tweeter

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
andy   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 10, 2017]

my jbl-cf120 speakers are with a carver 100 watt amp and a carver preamp.speakers kick.it was a nice find , for the price of $45.00 in great shape.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
william   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2015]

These speakers are really pretty good you can get them for basically nothing any more and all you have to do is add a little bit of sound deadening to the box glue a couple braces in there and they become great speakers

The foam surrounds seem to be very durable as well mine are all original and feal like brand new still

Alll in all I think they are the best sounding speakers I have ever owned with very little work

My system
Nad pre amp
onkyo 508 amp
Jbl cf 120
Cerwin vega vs 120
Sansui 7500x
infinity mk II
Heath kit set
And many others

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Juan Pablo Arís   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 05, 2013]

I bought these amazing speakers in 2000, best speakers ever had, clear frecuency response, best in high and strong bass, ideal for any kind of music and extraordinary experience on DTS blue ray movies.
My friends envy my system, but mainly because these JBL's are better than most of the Hi End tower and flat new lines in the market.
Do not doubt to buy them even very used...
Regards from Chile, South America

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
danny   AudioPhile [Jan 21, 2013]

wow...Im a 55 year old that missed out on the 1970-80's home stereo set-ups. I was never home sitting on the couch. Back then I was too occupied driving fresh muscle cars with only 10 to 20,000 miles on the 400 hp motor. Suckers!!! you youngbloods with the tuner cars really missed out. Anyhow this weekend I picked up some these speakers called JBL CF120's and they rock......Goota go I have 30 years of catching up to do.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
skree   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2004]
Strength:

Ground-shaking bass, and you don't need a large, high-powered amplifier to use this speaker!

Weakness:

The mid can be a little "tube-like", when playing soft rock and classical, but this is not an issue!

This is an amazing speaker. At the price, it must be the best buy!! I listen to a lot of music, but mostly Dance/techno, and the CF 120 is perfekt for that purpose! DEEEEP bass and precise treble. I've had some speakers over the years but this is just much better than anything I've previously owned! Though the bass is "merely" 12", it works clearly and efficient at any volume - never had a problem with 'em. I can only advice people to buy this speaker if they're looking for at reasonably-priced, well-playing speaker! Well done JBL!!

Similar Products Used: 1. Wharfedale Modus 7 2. Eltax Linear Response LT 10 Mk. II 3. Cerwin Vega AL1002
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
vc2002   Casual Listener [Apr 10, 2002]
Strength:

A lot of counter top space for my CDs. Don''t break. sound acceptable.

Weakness:

Look traditional. Can''t think of them to go along with my future HDTV.

This is my first pair of speakers. I have been using them for almost 4 years now and I’m not complaining. About two years ago, I got bored of them (because their look) and went to Ubid bad for a pair of Infinity MK-II (about $280 at the time). In my opinion, the MK-II is just a little better than the JBL. Eventually, I wired both of them to Speaker A & B and play them together. They sound pretty good together and I am satisfied with them. I know there are speakers that sound better than Infinity and JBL, but they would cost me much more. Until I’m willing to spend in thousands, I’ll stick with my JBL and Infinity.

Similar Products Used: Infinity Mk-II and other cheap stuff.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Rockie Dyck   an Audio Enthusiast [Nov 25, 1997]

Allthough the CF-150 were not rated here, I would agre on the most part with the previous review. The 150,s though, have an enormous bottom end and should be compared with the Cerwin Vega series with the same size components. An outstanding speaker for 'heavy music'.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Dan The Man   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 1999]
Strength:

Best Bang for the Buck

Weakness:

Don't Expect Audiophile-Quality Imaging

I bought these from J&R Music World for $259/pair and I don't believe there's a better value out there. I listen to 70% music (Sublime, Dire Straits, Morphine, Police, et al) and 30% DVD home theater. I wanted full-range speakers and these definitely bring home the bacon with my Onkyo TX-DS575 blasting DTS Saving Private Ryan. When I listen to well-recorded music (like the Notting Hillbillies) with my eyes closed I can tell that the spatial imaging is not up to par with Celestions and KEF's, but what the heck--they cost $259. They are dynamic, a little light on treble, and big--especially when you give them 12" free space behind the rear ports. A Best Buy.

Similar Products Used: Polk satellites, Klipsch towers, JBL satellites
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Troy Fitzpatrick   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 27, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent all around speaker.

Weakness:

Size and Weight

I have owned my JBL CF120's for about 4 years now and I have nothing but good things to say about them.

The bass and mid bass production is outstanding. I just recently purchased a Sub (Klipsch KSW-15) and I must admit that the JBLs can keep up with the sub no questions asked.

As a matter of fact I find it real hard to tell if the sub is even turned on a lot of the time as the JBLs are just so powerful.

Not only do they produce great bass but they can really handle the highs and trebles with grace too.

I have no regrets in purchasing these speakers (other than I wish I could have afforded the CF150's).

Up here in Canada the CF120's retial for about 800 bucks, 4 years ago when I bought mine I got them for 800 dollars.

I used to have an older Sony 715 receiver and thought that the JBL's were great with that... boy oh boy did I learn something else. I recently purchased a Nakamichi AV-10 and now with this receiver, the JBL's sound like totally different speakers.

My System:

Nakamichi AV-10
JBL CF120's
JBL Flix 2 Center and Surround
Klipsch KSW-15

Overall I am very pleased with my system and have the JBLS to thank for the majority of that.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paulo Mendes   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 29, 2000]
Strength:

Great power 250W, titanium tweeters,great bass

Weakness:

none at all i think

I would have to start by saying that these are dream speakers, they sound perfect great bass and great treble, i only listen to rock, blues, hard rock, so this review is based in listening to that type of music.
I've had them for 3 years now and i'm still to hear better sound.
If i was to buy a new set i'd do it again and buy 2 set of pairs.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer 300W, and Kenwood 450W
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com