JBL 4430 Floorstanding Speakers

JBL 4430 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

2-Way Large Format Studio Monitor

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Sep 08, 2018]
Thud


Strength:

Sound great LOUD. Look kinda cool. They have tunable crossovers. Cabinets are furniture grade. Spec.’s are awesome up to 16K Hz. Really good dispersion; both horizontally and vertically. Can handle power and sound great LOUD. Virtually distortion free. Acoustically aligned. I bought mine new in 1982. I have replaced the foam on the woofers twice- once around 1999 and again in 2018. They still sound great.

Weakness:

They sound anemic at low to moderate listening levels. You have to turn them UP to appreciate them, which requires a lot of (clean) power. I first tried to run them with 90W/channel stereo amp. That was not nearly enough power. So, I bought a second amp (both Crown PS 200). The Crowns are easily bridged mono, which yields 280W into 8 Ohms. That is enough power. They have a pretty flat frequency response curve at factory neutral setting. You will want an equalizer.

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1982
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jun 29, 2017]
H Joseph
Audio Enthusiast

Wanted some full-range speakers of quality that can move some air! JBL came to mind. I auditioned a new professional-grade JBL monitor and was not overly impressed. By chance, the next day, a pristine pair of 4430's came up on the local hifi buy& sell site. Price was a bit high, but compared to the new JBL's, a third of the price.
Hooked them up to a 70w amp until my Macintosh MC2105 was back from repair.
The outputs on the 70w amp were 8ohm even though the speakers are 6ohm.
There was a bit of a honk at around 2kHz that was a bit annoying, and bottom end was lighter than I hoped for a 15" woofer.
When I got my McIntosh back, I hooked the 4430's up to the 4ohm tap on the MC2105 and what a difference! The bottom end had the Slam I was yearning for since the 80's and the honk in the upper mids was gone. The speakers go up to 16kHz, but as I listen more, I don't feel like I'm missing much in the top end. I did order some stand-alone diy super tweeters to experiment with for above 16kHz, just to see.
The soundstage and image accuracy is scary good! These speakers are so far beyond my expectations -they are addictive. Talk about AUTHORITY! It's hard to stop grinning and gawking in disbelief!
I don't need to run them as loud as my previous speakers to hear the details and feel the music, but with the lack of distortion, they don't seem so loud, but when my wife says something to me, I can't hear what she's saying! (maybe psychological!) So I guess they are louder than I realize, but don't seem to be.
To sum up, I am enthralled and very impressed with these 4430's. The guy in another review who said to drop them in the middle of a lake surely must not have had them set up properly.
I bet there are "better" speakers out there, but to paraphrase another fan of these, I would be happy if these were the last speakers I ever owned.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 20, 2012]
Paul
Casual Listener

Sorry but this is really a question. I am looking at buying a pair of these used. I have a pair of JBL century 100s that I really love - and they are great. But the question I have for the 4430s is what do I look for in a pair of used ones, and how do I set them up with a simple amp?

Thanks much

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 01, 2008]
jbl_pro
Audio Enthusiast



For all you die-hard JBL fans wanting to revisit the golden era of JBL speakers, www.jblmonitors.com is the place to be. This website has a unique collection of vintage studio monitors. With a simple mouse-click, you can open the doorway to a virtual world, step out into the musical highway, and drive down the memory lane. Buckle up then and take to the wheels. Decades ago, sound engineers have hit top speed on the musical autobahn with their favorite JBLs. It’s your turn to test drive the different models and experience the power of JBL. Step on the accelerator and let the JBL take you places.

JBLmonitors.com is as much about successful mixing and mastering as it is about vintage JBL studio monitors, woofers and subs, their unique features and specifications, and awards and recognitions they have amassed over the years. Take a virtual tour of the site and you’ll realize the reason behind why a JBL toolkit is considered as a leader in its class. Budding sound engineers can seek enlightenment here while the experts from the old world would find it difficult to rein in the nostalgia. You’ll certainly find out what makes JBLs of “their” times so special.

The website has a collection of the most popular JBLs from the 1970s and beyond, including the best sellers of that time. Most of the studio monitors featured in these pages is described at length along with a list of key features. You can quickly navigate from page to page, comparing the various models, and take your pick based on your specific needs – be it recording, post-production, or broadcasting. You can also download high-resolution images and user manuals of every JBL product that you visit. By the way, if you wish to know why your uncle swears by the 4300 or MPro Series each time you bring up the topic of “acoustic treatment of the studio room”, the website may have some clues for you.

JBLmonitors.com is where the action is. And JBL reference monitors are the face behind the action. Sixty years of research and development paved the way for innovative technology and patented component design. The cumulative experience at JBL has helped boost product performance further and to create masterpieces every time. When some of the models were launched nearly four decades ago, they were much ahead of the times. JBL recognized early on that for exceptional mix down and mastering, the monitors should diffuse the effects of the room. The focus of development soon shifted to linear spatial reference technology that made JBL Pro the first choice of studio monitors for home and project studios. Even today JBL is the first choice for live sound reinforcements and installations. A quick stroll through the website will convince you that JBL offerings cut across all echelons of the music world.

JBLmonitors.com is not only about studio monitors. The web site features an exhaustive article on how to create a good mix. The article explores the means of transforming a finished song into the final output at the end of which you’ll be able to use an analog mixer to create a uniform stereo mix from a multi-track recording.

When you are on the website, do not forget to bookmark it. Also, make a mental note to revisit the site often and be part of the audio revolution that has gripped the world.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 16, 2007]
audioisi
AudioPhile

Strength:

Neutral Frequency Response. Quality Components and Cabinet. One of the Top 5 Monitors used accross the world for over 20 years. Emotional and Impact from Top to Bottom. Detail Detail and More Detail. Smooth, Transparent, Huge Soundstage with All the Impact you could ever want. Best of all....Emotion!!!!!!!!

Weakness:

These are not really weakness but more required for the Best Sound. Upstream Components need to be top notch. Need quality Class A Power!! Proper Placement is also very critical.

Best Speakers I have ever owned and probably ever will. I could not afford to upgrade from these speakers because I would have to spend thousands to do so.
My system included a Sony ES S9000 Universal Player, Parasound HCA-1500A, and a Carver CT-7 Preamp. I also have various headphones for comparison listening (Koss Electrostatic/Sennheiser HD-650/Sony CD-3000). The JBL 4430's are Neutral and Accurate as Headphones, but Musical at the same time. There is no higher praise....And...with impact from Top to Bottom. Any reviewer that does not like these speakers does not have them set up properly or have the right associated equpment. Of course we all hear different and have various types of listening rooms. These JBL's need a large room with a solid back wall. My back wall is 3ft thick concrete and my ceiling is 15 foot high. So I do have an advantage with space. Keep this in mind when you are looking for BIG speakers like these. They are 127lbs each and built to last a lifetime. And the rest of my lifetime I will be
listening to these!! If you have the space for them and an understanding wife and family and you want off the high end merry-go-round, go for these and no others.

Customer Service

THE BEST!

Similar Products Used:

Magnepan SMG,MG 11B,2.7qr,1.5qr,1.6qr. JBL L-1, L-5. Klipsch Epic CF-2,CF-4,Heresy,KLF-30. Infinity SM-155,Apogee Centure,Gallo Nucleus Solo's,Norh 6.9,Paradigm Studio 20's,100's. Monitor Audio S-6, RS-8. Sony SS-M3, SS-M7,
Jbl Tlx, Ess Electrostatic, Nht 2.9,1.5, Joseph Audio Rm-7,Boston Acoustics and various others...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 11, 2003]
Kirk
AudioPhile

Strength:

Flat, true, good furniture....lol

Weakness:

Just a bit more glass would have done......and a few less bucks........but

While work'en at the MGM studios and hav'en fun sett'en up for the "scoring" stage, Dan the man (great mix'en dan)..........showed me the back up monitors at the rear of the mixing room. I liked the ole 4430's so much I just had ta get a set of em for the living room..............lol thanks dan! After a stunning expierence at the many bus board dan commanded (at that time) and with JBL's flawless instalation of all the crystal and lenses I was moved as we scored many flicks. If ya like color and distortion these aren't for ya.......you may want Missions.......lol 30's are flat true and you add the rest at the knobs...........I use david hafflers gear bi amped and bridged w 4 amps rnn'en these puppys the ole 4430's just plane kick ass. If your ear can handle davids tweaks (gear included with amps) pink noise the heck out of em........as a pipe organ voicer I find em NICE....to those who don't .............s_ _t who cares.......feels nice to hear the bow go across the ole violin........and the rubbers haven't worn out yet after 15. but then again I keep my S _ _ T clean......lol

Similar Products Used:

mission,bose,AR,voice of the theatre,

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
[Apr 10, 2000]
Ismael Alvarez
Audiophile

Strength:

I love the way they look and sound.

Weakness:

Super-heavy and expensive.

I bought my 4430's new over 5 years ago for the front left and right speakers in my theater. They sounded spectacular then and they sound spectacular today! They are extremely robust and can literally dish out pain if you so desire.
The 4430's also have incredible imaging.

I cannot think of a better home theater speaker.

Similar Products Used:

JBL 4425's, 4406's, Control 28's, Cerwin Vega Q1's.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 07, 2001]
spencer
Audiophile

The 4430 need to be set up correctly to demonstrate there abilities. A larger room, with heavy carpeting will help reduce the reflected sound. These speakers have very wide dispersion, causing the reflected sound to be the dominate effect. I have mine place in the corner of the room with the mid-range control set to –4db, the high freq. is set to 0db. In this situation they rock the room and image like a mini monitor.

When listening to classical, I found that the 4430’s needed to be cranked to perceive the impact of a large assembly, This observation was made when evaluating some DVD audio disk. It took research to understand theses speaker. But given good program material they can recreate a pop image as if they were in your living room. They just plane disappear.

For the price they "KILL any thing at circuit city", Theses are real "STUDIO MONITORS" not some facsimile

Spencer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 14, 2001]
Jerome Nagel
Audiophile

Strength:

Very well made drivers.

Weakness:

Lousy crossover, and cabinet designed incorrectly. Made to sell.

Big nasal sounding midrange no bass. Throw the crossover in the trash, and bi-amp it with electonic crossover, and you may stand a chance of getting a sembalance of some kind of sound. I would like to know how JBL couls sell this speaker with that lousy foam edge that you have to replace every 3-5 years. Could have used a nice cloth edge? I've done an extensive re-design of the crossover, and using monster cable instead of the string that JBL used. I have almost been able to achieve a decent sound. Still trying, and frustrated. Does anyone have any info, let me know..

Similar Products Used:

B&W 801

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 18, 2001]
Spencer
Audiophile

Strength:

High efficiency, extended dynamic range, rock solid imaging, 100*100 dispersion pattern, The ability to reproduce sq. waves. Very high quality drivers.

Weakness:

Lacking in the very deep bass, 35hz and below.

With millions of dollars on the line a recording studio will choose the best product to represent the artist’s abilities.
The 4430’s was used in this application. If you desire accuracy and a presentation that far exceeds the over hyped High end speaker.. Give them a try. They are available on ebay for between 700 –1500 depending on the condition .
These speaker play music with passion and W/O the horn distortion of the past In my opinion the L300 don’t even compare.

Similar Products Used:

L300, Nelson Reeds, etc,etc

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com