Jamo Classic 10 Floorstanding Speakers

Jamo Classic 10 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Tower

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Sep 19, 2016]
Jarvis
AudioPhile

Got these new for £1850 at my favorite London audio store many moons ago. Top of the line, expensive and very well reviewed by the press back then. Jamo was a hot brand in the 90's with many good models. Well, I still have the Classic 10's. A dozen of speaker pairs, some in the zillions price range, have come and gone in my various setups, but no pair has bettered the speaker kings that the Classic 10's are. From the very very lows all the way to the very very highs these speakers are to fight for. If a pair comes in your way, don't miss the chance. They will take you many steps closer to million dollar sound that you dream of. A TRUE KING AMONG SPEAKERS.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 24, 2013]
aamer
AudioPhile

I traded recently some audio gear that were dust collectors (I gave SonoFER SF-5 + NAD S100 preamp) for a pair of these gorgeous JAMO CLASSIC 10 spekers. They were well worth the investment. The bass is very soft and dynamic while mids and twits are not squiky and anoying like many other floorstanding and bookshelf speakers I have heard during past years. The only ones that I find better looking are JAMO D 870 (JAMO Concert 11). Other than that these are well worth the investment as I got them for next to nothing.
Most recommended for audio enthusiasts who seek for a fine speaker set, even audiophiles out there. Cheers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 07, 2012]
Nik
Audio Enthusiast

Hi,
Just got very lucky I got this bril speakers I was looking for them over 3 years very hard to get this days,they sound wonderful y can hear any detail sure y need to have good source,they perform the best with stereo amp biwire good cables at list 12£ per meter very important plus airloc banana plugs,sure they will be fine with receivers,good part you will never need it subs the base of them is fantastic.
I do own in the past diffrent floor standers but this are really special noting can stand to them in the price range below 2000£ believe me they are that good,the same class like monitor audio platinum.
Hope this will help somebody looking for this speakers,just to let you know only concert 11 are better from all jamo range.Thanks Nik.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 2012]
newmannuman
Audio Enthusiast

Have these classic 10's since they were released around 1998 and had no problems with them.The bass is deep thanks to the front ports and drives well with most amps.Stage affect is good and playing them loud for a party or playing them low volume is also good.I have cherry wood which makes the appearence look more expensive(don't like black speakers).I would highly recommend these speakers if you can pick them up.I am currently using marantz PM 80 amp and have used Yamaha DSP-A2070.Before I got these speakers I was and sometime still do use celestion ditton 44's had them for over 30 years had to raise them a little so the twitter was at ear level stage affect was fantastic on these speakers better than classic 10's but the dittion 44's were louder and although the bass was there jamos were deeper with more detail.hope this helps someone,once again highly recommended.Bi wiring even better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 16, 2007]
bevan
Casual Listener

Strength:

Sound ,bass weight ,looks

Weakness:

NONE

I was after a new pr of speakers bought these hooked them up and was like WOW the sound was that awesome.Nice bass down to ther lower registers sweet mids and treble.
these speakers replaced my mission 760ise as i was looking for a bit more bass,I got that + more .Speakers were driven by parasound hca 750ll ?? power amp ,

Sold due to lack of funds ,would buy another pr tommorow if I could find a pair for sale

Similar Products Used:

MISSION 760,BOSE ,JPW SONATA,CYRUS780

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2005]
bitstreamstudios
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very FULL-RANGE sound. Bass response with wonderfully deep tones and not out of control. Mids are fantastic and clear. The high end is not overly coloured and smooth. Very full range sound with little or no frequency gaps is a testiment to Jamo's crossover design.

Weakness:

Speaker cabinets not fitted with isolation spikes. I think this would help tighten up the bass even more.

FANTASTIC Loudspeakers! I purchased these speakers just based on some reviews and comments on the Jamo brand - and some research into the Classic series drivers and crossovers. I am a recording engineer in Toronto with over 13 years experience mixing and editing voice and music. (http://www.bitstreamstudios.net) Basically, I was searching for a larger 2-way or 3-way system to judge my mastering and mixes on. I wanted a full range loudspeaker - BUT I didn't want to spend thousands. Yes, I wanted it all... My search started with Magnepan MMG's. I was very pleased with their sound and fantastic "air" quality. However, they were SOOO particular with placement that I could not trust them for imaging and bass balance. Next came PSB Platinum M2's. PSB's Platinum series are truly, truly wonderful, but far, far overpriced. From there, I moved on to Acoustic Energy AESPIRIT 309's. Another great set of loudspeakers - very flat in their response. I kept those for over a month before deciding to look elsewhere. Finally came the Jamo Classic 10's. They put a smile on my face on every listen (and still do)! The Jamo Classic 10's are the finest sounding speakers of the bunch I tested - and among the best I have ever heard. (The BEST I have EVER heard were Duntech Sovereign's, followed by a nicely broken in pair of PSB Platinum T8s -- good job, Paul ; ) But I digress... The Jamo Classic 10's have an incredibly open soundstage. A real 3-dimensional quality that allows the loudspeakers to disappear, revealing just the music. The bass response is far reaching, but does not feel loose. Using my NAD T753 I get the response of a sub without the loose bottom of some powered subs. Bi-wiring with top quality speaker cables really helped with these speakers. Jamo definitely did a great job on their crossover. The mid drivers sing with beautiful detail while the clarity of the tweeters and richness of the 8" bass drivers full in any gaps. Actually, the lack of "gap" is what impressed me most about these loudspeakers - especially from a 3-way design. Since Jamo does not make them anymore, the only current speakers I can compare them to are the PSB Platinum T6. Yes, they sound that good! If you disagree with my assessment of these speakers, then please let me know (admin at bitstreamstudios dot net). I'll probably buy your pair of Classic 10's from you. : )

Similar Products Used:

Event 20/20 Monitors, Acoustic Energy Aesprit 309, PSB Stratus Silver, PSB Platinum M2, ProAc Tablette Reference 8, Paradigm Studio 60, Magnepan MMG.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 09, 2003]
khoinguyen_do
AudioPhile

Strength:

The tight bass, sharp treble and clear mid with a good price. Also has nice design.

Weakness:

Hmmmm... nothing.

Got this pair for 4 months now, and never been disappointed yet. From a 12 hours party with hip hop to a quiet night listening to some jazz, it always please my ears, even with mp3s. For those that say it has muddy bass or just too sharp, try to bi-wire it, you will see the different. Strongly recommend to anyone.

Similar Products Used:

JBL S412, B&W 602, Jamo E850

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 09, 2001]
Saulius Simkus
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound is clear from low to high frequency. Powerfull inought. Nice looking.

Weakness:

Little bit sharp.

I can hear the music and separate sounds on the same moment. It's a good choise for a price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 26, 2001]
Evren
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautiful low frequency bass, non disturbing tweeters, nice finish

Weakness:

Does not like too much power, but has enough power..

I just love the bass and clear sound it produces. No other speakers can give as low frequency as this speaker does, you hear every detail of the bass in the music, which gives you a very good pleasure.. You'll like it very much, you won't believe your eyes...

Similar Products Used:

There was a Classic 8 in one of my friends..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 21, 1999]
Berk Dogan
a Casual Listener

This pair of JAMO speakers are good enough when listening to low volume music or movie. But When you decide to recieve more volume or steady bass sound the jamos are boosted a little Ý use this pair of speakers with an amplifier YAMAHA rxv-795 rds
DTS DOLBY DÝGÝTAL
Good for money but not perfect
600$ @ Turkey

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com