Jamo 707i Floorstanding Speakers

707i

full range with push/pull system

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
Exacto   Audio Enthusiast [May 19, 2013]

This review is for the original 707 which has the dual 8" push pull configuration inside the cabinet and dual 5" woofers. 5 drivers total in each cabinet...Bar none the most incredible sounding speaker I have ever heard and I'm one to upgrade every other month! I've owned hundreds of speakers under $2,000 and even more under $1,000 and these Jamo's by far are a step up in sound quality. I would compare the sound very similar to my next favorite speaker, the Kappa 8. Clean full sound with nothing lacking whatsoever! Bass vocals and highs are all there in abundance and blend seamlessly. I'm a new fan!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mecineman   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 16, 2009]

Hi,I don't know if anyone is still reading reviews on these amazing speakers, but here goes: I've mine for 16 years, and they have outperformed speakers worth twice the price! They never struggle with complex passages of music and, when correctly wired and positioned, present a large open soundstage with true front to back 3D sound. There is a price to be paid, they run more accurately with huge power amps outputting at least 250w/ch@8ohms then you'll hear the real reason audiophiles world wide have great respect for these and other higher end JAMO speakers . If you can afford to Bi-Amp each speaker the sound opens up beyond the confines of your listening room. The bass tightens up but gains a touch more extension, the mid-range clarity comes to the fore and the silk dome tweeter reveals treble frequencies you may not have noticed previously. The whole sound merges perfectly & when used in a 7.1 set-up(i finally bought another pair) with a JAMO CENTRE 200 you will be stunned.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Justin Heard   AudioPhile [Dec 03, 2002]
Strength:

The music is never the same, it changes with each recording. Oval shape kills distortion. Limited only by your equipment.

Weakness:

Poor equipment and power make them play poor. And pleasing people who have never heard live music played naturaly with-out amps and mic's.

Un-pluged and very private. The 707i Jamo loudspeakers transports one into the event on a personal leval. Thay are greedy. Thay are not for everyone. And are not ment to be shared. Thay are ment for that person who says....shhhhhh shut up! Listen damn it! Did you hear that?!! Thay are for thoughs who peer into sound with ears that have a memory of live music experiences and judge from that. Thay are not good at sound processing or rendering computer chip generated bass. The Jamo 707i's simply play music in perfectly imperfect way that brings chills and emotion to the one who dosent like to share. Thay hate cheep power, wires and cheep music material; thay are not for everyone.

Similar Products Used: OHM, Accustats,ATC,ProAc and Ess.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
franco   a Casual Listener [Sep 08, 1999]

I have the upgraded version of Jamo 707i, called Jamo 7.7. These are excellent speakers. Great dynamic sound. I use them both for music and HT. My recomendation is you listen to these speakers before making a decision.


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Aaron   Audiophile [Dec 18, 2001]
Strength:

Follow up from earlier post

Weakness:

Follow up from earlier post

This is a follow up post from my earlier review
well I have had the chance to compare several of the above speakers and overall the JBl,s are the hands down winners
IMHO it's just really depressing to think that with all the latest computer aided design out there now days that
25 year old speakers still sound better than a lot of
high priced wanna be's that will tell you they are the best speakers out there but IMHO if you want to know what you are missing out on go find yourself any vintage JBL/Altec speaker and you will immediately know what you have not been hearing from most(not all) other speakers
but I have to say that I will not be getting rid of the Jamo,s any time soon they just wont be in the main listening/HT room the 4312c,s & L100 will be the speakers
I will be using in that room will be all JBL now I just have to find a good Center speaker that can hold it's own against
the vintage JBL,s

but on the other hand the vintage JBl,s is an aquired taste
that some poeple just dont like ( I Love it ) probably the best way to describe the sound is that the best and worst thing about these JBL,s is that you here everything good recordings will sound better than ever and bad recordings will sound worse than ever and with any speaker to get the best sound do yourself a favor and use a good amp and by
good I dont mean anything out of japan in the last 10 years
I mean most any quality equipment from the 1970,s will pretty much kick anythings ass that is coming out now days
sure you can go down to your local mass market electronics store and purchase a supposed 500 watts of power reciever
what they dont tell you is that that is probably the most that the thing can put out for about 100000 of a millisecond the accual real working power is maybe 25 watts if yor lucky one word here folks RMS if you dont know what it is don't ask if you do enough said and if you think I am lying to you just dont ever buy vintage amps for cheap and hook them to your system or you will be really pissed off at what you spent for what the salesman told you was the lastest greatest thing since buttered toast trust I learned that lesson the hard way
every one have a Merry Christmas

I am still giving the Jamos the same ratings as before because they are still one of the better speakers out there
I just think you could save a lot of money and get as good
and better speaker with vintage JBL/Altec stuff

Similar Products Used: JBL 4312c & L100 Magnepan SMGa, Bose 901, Advent Large
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
lecianut   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2001]
Strength:

unique design, solid construction, glass-topped design a very functional tabletop.

Weakness:

a "forward" treble, Bass from a hole in the back.

These speakers were short-lived in Jamo production, quickly replaced by a single bottom-firing woofer unit 7.7i and current incarnation D590. Although they were referred to as "award-winning" I've never been able to locate a test of their performance.

I use these in a 6.1 with a klipsch sp-1 as center channel/subwoofer, Jamo 407i's for side surrounds and a Bose 101 for back surround.

They belong in a large room. My room is small, live, and in conjunction with the the forward nature of the treble, the sound tends to cause early ear fatigue.

Best if listened to outside the room. I've got to admit that the Bose 901 (main) theater setup is my most used one. My wife likes the little theater with the JBL's, and my study where this system resides gets the least amount of use.

I've read where replacing the biamp strips with speaker wire between the terminals can improve the sound of biamp terminaled speakers. I also plan to change out the speaker wire to monster cable, to change the cd unit to a high end product, and to use an acurus mondial external amp (already in transit) for more power.

as you can see, this is my tinker system. Not perfect yet, but I aim to tweak it to that level.



Similar Products Used: a bose 901 theater system, a JBL/Polk theater system
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Aaron   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 18, 2001]
Strength:

good sound stage, good looking and quality construction

Weakness:

bass port exits out of the rear of the speaker which makes
placement a challenge would much rather have it out of the front so you could place them a little closer to the back walls

I have had these for about 6 months and they are impressive speakers but you do need a good amp to drive them anything under 20 pounds and forget it you wont be happy I tried to drive them with the internal amp of a yamaha rx692(80 watts)
and they sounded like &@$#%%@@ so I ran the outputs from the yamaha to an old sansui au919(at least 50 pounds and capaciters the size of a beer can you know the kind they just dont make anymore) well this did the trick they now shine and hurt my chest at high volumes but never distort
it is truly a joy to listen to them and for what I paid for them makes it that much sweeter

I recently got a pair of old JBL 4312c control monitors
and am looking forward to putting these up against the
jamo,s I really like the old jbl speakers (before the Harmon
kardon) years of course but I am sure I will probably keep these around for awhile
as far as the Magnaplanars they are really to much of a different speaker to compair them you know the whole dynamic vs planar issue but for the purist I still like the maggies better for all around music listening except for rock/rap
of course the voices/midrange of magnaplanars really takes the winning spot IMHO I still here things in the maggies
that I dont here in the jamo,s It will be interesting to compair these three sets of speakers but I will do a followup and let every one know IMHO which speakers are best

For the money I paid I am giving a five star If I had to pay over $750 I dont think I would buy them
For an overall rating I will give 4 stars only for the fact of the rear firing bass port causes some problem at high sound pressure levels they should try something like polks
power port I can put my RT55 right up against a back wall and they still sound as good as 2 feet out which is where I have to put the jamo,s but other than that they are very
good speakers (with a good amp only)

Similar Products Used: jbl L80, Polk RT55 Magnapan SMGa, Bose 301
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Sidney Hui   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2001]
Strength:

Stong Bass, Solid mid-range, High grade furnishing, Good Style

I have used this pair of 707i for 4 years. It served me well. I like strong bass sound. It can dive deep in the low frequency range. It makes me has no compelling reason to buy a sub-woofer. Listen to it when a good DVD disc or CD with drums then you'll know how capable its twin 8 inches woofer are.

Similar Products Used: Jamo 303
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter Bager   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 25, 2001]
Strength:

Powerful bass, beautiful finish, good for both dance/pop/classic music, and as front speakers for a surround sound system

Weakness:

Needs a powerful amplifier, the treble can feel a bit powerful

These Jamo's are my first pair of floorstanding speakers. I've been having a pair of Jamo shelf speakers before, but needed new speakers when I changed from Dolby surround to Dolby Digital.
That was in 1997, and my experience in audio equipment wasen't very big. I went to sereval store where they where selling audio equipment, before I was pursuaded to bye the Jamo's (all the speakers listed below). With the Jamo speakers I bought a Technics receiver(SA-TX30), this was a good receiver, but the Jamo 707i's where a challenge for it. The receiver had a 60 watt output in surround, and about 100 watt in stereo.
Over the last years my knowledge in audio equipment has grown, and last year I decided to change the Technics receiver with a more powerful one, I bought the Yamaha RX-V2095 receiver(approx. twice the Technics' output), and it changed the sound from the Jamo 707i's a lot.
Earlier when I turned the music up to a "serious" level, you could hear the receiver loosing it's breath. Those problems are over, now it's just the limit to my ears, that keeps me from turning up the volume. The only thing I still needs to trim on the system is the treble, it can feel a bit strong(maybe it's just me), but I think this can be solved with some new and better cables(the are 5 years old, and not expensive Monster cables).


Overall I can say that the speakers have served me well these 4 years, and with the right equipment, the Jamo 707i will not only look good but sound that way too.


My system:

- Front speakers: Jamo 707i
- Center speaker: Jamo Concert Center
- Surround speakers: Jamo Surround 300
- Subwoofer: Jamo 505E
- A/V Receiver: Yamaha RX-V2095
- DVD player: Panasonic A-310
- Speaker cables: Monster

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
an audiophile   an Audiophile [May 09, 1999]

jamo 707i speakers have a very balanced sound. The bass goes down quite low and extended. I like these speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com