Innovative Sound Systems Millennium Theatren System 2012 Floorstanding Speakers

Millennium Theatren System 2012

User Reviews (167)

Showing 1-10 of 167  
dan   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2011]

mts 3200 sounds great, i've had it and my neighbor has one as well for over 3 years no problems. very frequent use at max levels because i host a lot of parties and it sounds the same as when i got it. i hook it up to my pc and blast music or watch movies in surround sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
another soft touch   AudioPhile [Jun 09, 2009]

Got scared when saw the review about the smoke/fire hazard. Had just paid $600 for them and and took them right down to the building basement without ever hooking them up... figure my super is hooking them up as I type this... and the serious irony is that it's possible, according to some of the other reviews, that they'll sound great and look great... just not worth even the remote possibility of losing my pets to smoke inhalation. Have been feeling pretty stupid all day about having fallen for the van scam... somehow never occurred to me that they were knock offs. And that here in the city of knock offs. The story and salesmanship were damn good, is why. So those who have fallen, including myself, should stop feeling so badly. We all love being sold by a good salesman. Wasn't even looking for something for nothing. $600 certainly isn't nothing, in my book. Sad thing is I didn't even want a home theatre system. More interested in music than surround sound and my old JBLs that ROCKED are, after 16 years of hard labor, nearly shot... thought I'd give these a try as don't even know where to go looking for serious audio speakers in NYC because the stores I've found sell only surround sound systems... figured could always give these to a friend once I got some really great audio speakers that could handle both audio and surround sound, like my old JBLs ...I'd be helping out some down and out installers and getting something to tide me over until (if and when) I found what I really wanted. Feel like a dope... Unfortunately am now a dope who is out a lot of money. Damn.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Lucinda   Casual Listener [Feb 15, 2009]

This is very scary! My husband purchased the same system. We set up the sytem earlier during the day and at night time while watching TV we noticed smoke coming from the speaker. Thank God we were at home to see the smoke and we acted quickly. I think the people who are scamming others are horrible because they are putting others at risk. I hope they get caught ASAP!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
RED   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2009]
Strength:

sound is nice looks good

Weakness:

hardware sucks on subwoofer

LMAO I tell ya, that good old white van strikes again , you can add me to the list of those that have been had, after seeing these guys on a couples occasions i finally gave in and paid $200 for system,,and i also heard the beer line which i said no too, system was sounds decent but connections are crappy for the most part...monster cable wire pulled off several input connections after a week or 2 of losing sound by itself went totally dead..using phone number 1 of the guys gave me(never answers....i left message stating how good system was and that i wanted 5 more hoping to get a response and meet up to get money back...im sure ill run into them again and it will be money back or a short vacation with pretty bars for them).only good is dvd works fine and hoping when i go out to buy a new subwoofer system will work fine, once again a lesson learned....so much for thinking i had a steal lmao..it's all good ill get some use out of it and the subwoofer will make a good step stool....

Customer Service

HA

Similar Products Used: HA
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
rasally1   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 07, 2008]
Strength:

I have conneted in my amplifier and it has a decent sound and good base and is ok to drive a hose party.

Weakness:

After used on its maxima capacity the low frecuency shout down and when I opened to do a check up I did notice that the 2 ohms capacitor was burn. I think this is the problem and I will replace it when I get the new capacitor.

As the other guys who bought this system I get it in a parking lot on my way to a chinesse food restaurant. The Same white van with two guys in a hurry to sell the speakers before they return to their work place. When they came down from 1200 to 500 and then to 200 I new something was going on so I offer 100 for both and make sure the real speaker were inside the boxes and olso I did check and opened the face of the speaker and make sure at least that the bocins were in the box.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
mbnesenger112   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 08, 2008]

honestly i forgot what i paid for them but i plugged them into a reciever that my friend had when i first baught them and they sounded fine i just need a reciever for myself to use them with so IF ANYONE OUT THERE HAS THE SAME SYSTEM AND I GUESS IS NOT HAPPY WITH IT THEN ILL BUY THE RECIEVER FROM YOU AND YOU CAN GO OUT THE MONEY TOWARDS A 2500 DOLLAR SYSTEM CAUSE THATS WHAT YOUR GONNA PAY SO PLEASE LEMME KNO I REALLY NEED A RECIEVER FOR THEM THANKS 631-655-3109

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Donna   Casual Listener [May 12, 2008]
Strength:

I have no idea

Weakness:

well the fact that its a rip off is a weakness

Same scam down to the letter except it was my boyfriend that got the screwing....I went into Shaws and by the time I came out he had bought the 3200 system for 440.00 when we got home I looked up the site and knew something was wrong, I called the number for service and all you get is a voice recording asking you to leave your name and number...The book they show you, the website its all FAKE.
Id like to say I told ya so to him ...but Im just keeping my mouth shut....buyers beware

Customer Service

There is none

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
electrophobe   Casual Listener [Nov 18, 2007]
Strength:

As for the product, I don't know. It's still packaged up.

As for a lesson learned, I'm sure I paid a lot less than others, but I still took a "ding", and learned from it. No more "big ticket" items from the back of a van in a parking lot.

Some of the reviews here state that the product isn't all that bad. I'm hoping that's the case with what I bought, and that it performs like it's worth at least $200.

Weakness:

The potential fire hazard really concerns me.

When I give this to my nephew, I'm going to have to disclose how I came about this item, and what I learned about it. Going to refer him to this site.

Cause for further embarassment.

Count me in! I was scammed by the guys in the white van too.

I bought the Millennium 3200 DVD Home Theatre System (it has 9 pieces including karaoke).

I first ran into these guys last week in the parking lot (conspicuously parked next to the bank ATM). They tried to sell me the system for $700. I wasn't really in a receptive mood so I kept telling them I didn't have any money. They showed me a pic in a magazine that showed the system retailing at $2900 (I got a little impressed). I told them that all I could spare was $200. They told me that was way too low. We couldn't come to a deal, so I went about my business in the market.

Well, I ran into the same dudes night before last. They scoped me out! They used the same high-pressure sell on me, going so far as to tell me that their "boss" from the "store" was pressuring them to get rid of this overstock. They even had a receipt pad with the name of the store. This time, I was a little more receptive, but I still stuck with the $200 story. They hemmed and hawed and said they would accept $250. I told them that I only had $40 in my purse, and could only get $200 out of the ATM (I could really get $300...but why tell them that?).

So as I was getting the money out of the ATM, one of the guys was loading the "loot" into my car. They even gave me a receipt that had "warranty" written on it...whatever that means.

I'm not into "systems" or electronics by any means. This was going to be a Christmas gift for my nephew.

Well, I decided to get on the internet to see what kind great deal I got. And I ended up here! Man...do I feel silly.

If it's too good to be true...it usually is. That's not just a cliche...it's the truth.

Customer Service

They were a couple of engaging guys. Even used the "how about an extra $20 for beer" line on me. Me, being as "shrewed" as I am...didn't fall for it! lol

Heck...all I can do is chuckle at myself and take this as a lesson learned.

Similar Products Used: None. I'm not electronics savvy.

OBVIOUSLY!!!
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
electrophobe   Casual Listener [Nov 18, 2007]
Strength:

As far as the product goes...I have no idea. It's still all packaged up in the box.

As far as a "lesson learned", I guess I didn't pay as much as some, but I still took a "ding" and learned from this experience.

Weakness:

What concerns me most is the potential fire hazard that I read about here.

Before I give this to my nephew as a gift...I'm certainly going to have to disclose how I came about it, and what I found out about this product, and a link to this site.

After reading the reviews here, I got a sinking feeling. I too, was scammed by two dudes in a white van just the other night.

I had seen the same guys in the parking lot last week (conspicuously parked very near a bank ATM machine), and they had tried to convice me to buy the Millenium Theater System for $700. That's with the dvd player, speakers etc (9 pieces total...including the remotes). It looked really impressive, and they even showed me a pic in a magazine that "showed" it's retail value at being about $2900. I offered them $200 (which they said was way too low). I let them talk for a while, but I eventually brushed them off and went about my shopping.

Well, they were there again just a couple days ago. They spotted me, and proceeded to give me some story about it being in "overstock" and their "boss" at the store they "worked for" was pressuring them to get rid of them.

This time, they wore me down. I told them the best I could do was $200. They said they would accept $250 for it. I explained that I only had $40 in my wallet, and could only get $200 from the ATM. I could really get $300 out, but why tell them that? They reluctantly agreed to the $240. They even showed me their receipt pad with the name of the store on it (which they gave me after they pocketed my money and lugged it to my car). They wrote "warranty" on the receipt. I wonder if that's any good.

They even gave me the "how about an extra $20 for beer" line. I, thinking I was being shrewed, told them "no can do".

The system was/is going to be a Christmas gift for my nephew, as I'm not really into electronics at all. I'm a total novice when it comes to these things.

I decided to look up this brand on the internet, to see what kind of "deal" I got, and this site is what I found.

After reading the reviews here, it's been pretty much established that this is a country wide scam, con, ripoff. And yes...I feel like a fool. If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is. That's more than a cliche...it's the truth.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Prime Target   Casual Listener [Oct 14, 2007]
Strength:

Decent volume. They made great plant stands over the years. No fires!

Weakness:

A little tinny sounding. The knobs inside really adjust any sound effects. From the reviews, it appears I paid $150 more than their worth.

I fell for this scam back in '99. I was in an Albertson's grocery story parking lot when the white van approached me. The guys were twentysomethings and looked like punk thugs, but the boxes of new speakers looked legit. I figured what the hell, and walked over to the ATM. They're story about the great deal on teh speakers and needing money for beer and lapdances that night convinced me to give them an extra $50.
I'm not too bothered by the scam because the speakers have lasted nine years and still sound pretty good. No fires, either!
Since I was on a skateboard, the guys gave me a lift back to my girl's pad and helped me carry the boxes inside.
Honestly, the story has been worth $350 for the number of times I told it. When I bought the speakers, I figured they were hot, and my moral standards are questionable. Good for the sales guys. I hope they had smashed and had a good time on Sniffers' Row with my money.

Customer Service

Hey, the scammers did carry the speakers into the house!

Similar Products Used: This was the one and only time I purchased stereo equipment from an anonymous white van in a parking lot.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 167  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com