Infinity Systems US-1 Floorstanding Speakers

US-1

Satelite Speakers

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
George   Casual Listener [Mar 24, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound for the value. Paid under $200 for the pair.

Weakness:

Weak imaging. Weak high freqs.

Using these in conjunction with an Infinity BU-120 sub. Combined system sounds great, even in a very large room. If you are looking for an inexpensive satellite system with a great sound, this is the way to go. They sound much better than Bose and comparable or better than Polk sats. In both cases, they are much, much cheaper.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
J W   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2001]
Strength:

Clear and clean sound. Excellent range for a speaker their size. Great mounting bracket.

Weakness:

Not the prettiest speakers in the world, but they aren't ugly.

These are really an incredible value. I wouldn't use them as mains, but as surrounds they perfectly fit the bill. They match extremely well with my Infinity IL10 mains and IL36C center.

BTW, don't pay $200 for these at retail outlets. You can easily pick them up on ebay for $100.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Art   an Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 1999]

I recently purchased a pair of these for my rear surrounds. They blew me away. I was expecting small sound from a small speaker but the 4" polycone woofer packs plenty of punch. They are also equiped with a 1/2" tweeter.
They have a really handy mounting bracket that allows for 6 different setting one they are mounted.

I can truly recommend these to anybody looking for great surrounds or even as a start-out for mains. And for the price you can't do better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Mick Barnard   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2001]
Strength:

Small, cheap, easy to mount, clear, reasonably bright, good quality binding posts

Weakness:

No low bass (obviously, given their size), modest *really* high highs (but I'm quibbling now)

These are an excellent pair of speakers for surround use. They might even work as fronts in a smallish room if the centre channel was a full range one, though I haven't tried that configuration out. They look nice, they're easy to hang up on the wall thanks to the clever built-in mounting plate thingie, they have plenty of dynamic range, they're clear and reasonably crisp, and they get the job done at the right price. I'm very satisfied with the bass output, which is better than you might expect for the size, though you won't shake the floor with them, and the top end is bright and clear as well, though I suspect that they start to roll off gently after about 7-10Khz. I'd be surprised if they put out very much over, say, 12-15Khz.... which is actually pretty respectable for a speaker of this size and cost. They also need to be driven about 3db harder than the full range speakers (Infinity Reference 30s, about 8 years old) I use at the front to match the test tone volume. This probably reflects the inevitable compromises made to build such a small speaker and I do not regard this as a fault. Overall, for the money, these are an excellent pair of speakers, particularly for surround use in a home theatre setup, which is how I am using them, and I recommend them to those on a tight budget or those wishing to spend the big bucks on the front and centre speakers, which is where your dollars will count the most.

Similar Products Used: Infinity L-MPS 5-pack, Mirage AV200s, sundry Tannoys, JBLs etc.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Aaron K   Audio Enthusiast [May 14, 2001]
Strength:

Good sound for a little speaker, cool mounting brackets right in the speaker

Weakness:

nothing really, not for this price anyways

I bought a pair of these in late 1998, and they have been used quite a bit in the last 2 and some years. I have used them as rear speakers in a Dolby Digital setup, I have used them as main L & R speakers for my PC, and they work great in both regards. I set these up as my "B" speakers on my receiver, and used them for the PC, and they worked great with MP3's, games, you name it. THey are great for as rears for movies too, allthough there are better speakers out there.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Juan Pablo   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 06, 2001]
Strength:

Good Sound in medium-Highs, doesn´t gives you a great treeble wich is not necesarily in cinemasound. great design combined with the built in bracket

Weakness:

Extremelly Noisy back Air Port, even if sound is filtred by Subwoofer crossover

When I first saw this in the store, the first idea I had was, This are a small cheap and with poor image speakers, but then I heard a pair in a friend´s home, and I ran to buy myself a pair, the bass is more than I believed, the air port is extremelly noisy with some music-movie programs, the highs are just perfect, it doesn´t gives you more or less than needed and the most important is that it doesn´t artificially modifies the sound, the built-in bracket is very usefull but in my case I don´t use it so I see the holes all the time..but who cares.
I can recomend this product to anyone who is looking for a great satelite with good "cinema sound" and a great price.

Similar Products Used: CC-1 Center Channel,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 22, 2002]

Bought these from UBid back in '99 for only $44, but then UBid charges you $25 to ship them, but was still cheap overall. Small, built-in mounting system, low cost and the logo can be rotated. I use them as rear surround sound and the range is perfect for the setup. Rain scenes, crickets, distance shooting and background crowd noise come in so clear, that you think you are actually there. Capable of handle just about anything. For some reason these are even better with the 5.1 EX mode.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard   an Audio Enthusiast [Oct 05, 1999]

i got these a few weeks ago and am also using them as rears. they are absolutely great! like the previous post said, they are unbelievably versatile in mounting. you can mount them in any orientation with three different levels of angle from the wall/ceiling.
i hooked them up as mains alone just to see what they are capable of, and they sounded great! granted, there is nothing below 80hz, but above that, they sounded very clear. perfect for rear application no matter what brand mains/center you have.

also, they have the five-way binding posts and a rotatable logo. pretty nifty.

rh

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Rob Peters   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 27, 2001]
Strength:

Compact, mounting system, clear high.

Weakness:

Bit colourated mids (female voices).

Although the speakers are small, plenty of bass in it. As in the specifications, not below 70 Hz. They give a good full sounding warm impression, and crispy high`s. Enough power to use as surround speakers (set as `small` speakers on a/v amp.). I don`t recommend using them as full range front`s. When you`re not seated right in front of them (so the sound doesn`t beam directly to your ears), there is some colouration detectable in the midrange part (female voices sometimes sound a bit overwelmed). I think it`s because of the housing material, which has lower damping than wood. That is actually not an issue for this price range. The mounting bracket is a nice feature, but bit tricky when mounting close to ceiling. As surround speakers they fit seamnessly in any midrange budget system. Good speakers, but only as surrounds.

Similar Products Used: Bose
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
David Rosenberg   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2001]
Strength:

Clean unbelievable sound from plastic speakers. Having molded speaker mounts in the cabinet a major plus

Weakness:

can't really fill a room

I am upgrading to a surround system and needed to find a decent small pair of surrounds to augment my main DCM speakers and Harman Kardon reciever. I looked at small bookshelf speakers from DCM and Polk. While they seemed higher in range, they weren't as clear as these. These satellite speakers really compliment my main DCM bookshelf speakers in clarity. I don't think these should be used as front speakers though. They just don't have the range to fill a room. It's still pretty amazing the type of sound that comes from these small plastic enclosures. Since these are molded, Infinity made a wise choice in having a folding mounting brackett attached. My only quib is that they have a hexagonal screw you have to fidget with to change the brackett's angle. They include a hexagonal bar to use with the screw that no doubt I'll lose.

Similar Products Used: DCM, Polk, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com