Infinity Systems RS 6000 Floorstanding Speakers

RS 6000

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Matt J   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 03, 2017]

I bought a pair years ago, approx. 1998. Excellent sound quality, with very good imaging when properly set up with good source material. Very good bass with the 2 10" woofers per cabinet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim ODonnell   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 17, 2015]

Bought RS 6000 and RS 1000 with NEC AVR 1000 surround sound receiver at a yard sale for $35.00 total. I had to re-foam all the speakers $60.00. Replaced 1 cross over unit in 1 of the 6000's $25.00 for a pair, got a spare. Now the speakers sound and work like new. I have had different Infinity's before and loved them. These really thump the base with the 2, 10" woofers. Mids and tweets are excellent. I have replaced the NEC with a Teac AG-V2050, awesome. It pays to look at yard/garage sales.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom K   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 20, 2014]

Bought these with a Yamaha R-9 receiver in the 80's and were fairly expensive for the time. Repurchased in 2014 used and they are as awesome as they were in the 80's . What speakers can you name that are viable 30 years later?

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
magic_ears   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 13, 2007]
Strength:

super treble particularly for jazz, vocal, strings
accurate sound, great imaging
made for delicate listening...not to rattle your fillings
reliable after 15 years of trouble free use

Weakness:

can be a bit boomy
speaker placement is criticle
heavy as hell
these are not PARTY speakers
reconing expensive for four woofers
stopping wife from putting plants on the top of them

I bought these new around 1990. Fantastic speakers…audio bliss. The woofers are over 15 years old and have to be re-coned. There are 2 woofers for each speaker, the shop wanted around 400$CAN to do the job. I decided to buy new speakers. Now I am testing out new speakers. I have to say that I am disappointed with the new gear out there. The only speakers that come close to moved my soul (for the price) were the magnepan mg12 and paradigm monitors 11. Although they both have different kinds of sound.


For jazz and strings these infinities are soooo sweet, the clarity and sharpness are superior to the speakers that I heard. The base of these speakers adds warmth to the sound that when you compare to others; they sound thin. I can only afford to spend around $1000 so that limits my choices. I can’t believe how these speakers sound compared to contemporary gear. 15 years has made a big difference in my other gear, i.e. upgraded to better sounding CD player, and receiver. Noticeable differences and improvement in sound quality from my original source equipment (particularly price : sound qulaity ratio). Not so with these speakers. I am going to keep them and when I have the time and courage I will try to re-cone them myself.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm phantoms
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
pangl   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 20, 2002]
Strength:

Bass.

Weakness:

Mids are dull, highs are rough. Poor imaging and soundstage.

I purchased this pair purely out of curiousity. I drove them using my Mark Levinson #26 preamp and #23 power amp. I think they sounded good back then, not now. May be my pair's need some serious part replacements due to its age. I don't know. The bass is very impressively fast and deep and plenty. But the mids and highs are disappointing. Imaging is poor, soundstage is narrow. They do sound much better than those Wharfedales.

Similar Products Used: Revel F30, B&W 801 Matrrix Series 2, Alon IV, Newform Research, B&W 605 S2, cheap Wharedales (SP97, Modus 8, Modus 1.6)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian   AudioPhile [Jun 11, 2002]
Strength:

Incredible speakers! I've always enjoyed them

Weakness:

None- but 60 lbs. heavy.

I've owned these speakers since new. Don't remember the exact year but it's pre 1995! Still play and sound like new! My greyhound one day knocked one of the speakers over splitting open and cracking the enclosure. If anyone knows how to repair them please email me @ keeferseven@hotmail.com.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
schaapje   Audio Enthusiast [May 26, 2002]
Strength:

incredible high,low and midrange. don't need a dolby digital or dolby surround amplifier. At low volume there is also a lot of base in the room.

Weakness:

none

these speakers are exactly the one's i've been searching for.I bought them on the internet for only 300 euro.the sound from high to low is perfect.My infinity's are powered by a SONY amp. type TA-FA30-ES.120W+120W by 4 ohm.I'm the only one who likes the speakers.My neighbours doesn't like it because it's extreme sound.The reason that i write this review is because i'm looking for the technical specifications.If you think you've some information for me ,please E-mail me. johnny_lisette@hotmail.com

Similar Products Used: Mission 734i
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
WR Jones   [Jan 28, 2001]
Strength:

All around great sound.

Weakness:

To heavy to move. No longer for sale.

These are from a time when Infinty used to make acoustic suspension speakers with fantastic sound. The bass is incredible, many listeners were amazed to learn I did not have a sub-woofer. The mid-range is very crisp making this an ideal speaker for jazz and acoustic music. The tweeter is an Emit which provides all the highs you could desire and then some... I have used these speakers with a 150watt Carver amp for 8 years and now added them to a Sony STR845 DTS 5.1 receiver in the front, Cerwin Vega VS100 in rear, JBL S-CTR center channel, no sub-woofer. I have found the DTS CD's sound so good with this system I find it hard to play a normal stereo CD, and movies in Dolby 5.1 or DTS are a real treat too.

Config:
Each Speaker is 3 feet tall, has two 8" woofers, 5" midrange, and 3" Emit tweeter, all in a acoustic suspension cabinet.

Similar Products Used: Cerwin Vega Earthshakers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Al blake   an Audio Enthusiast [Jul 09, 1999]

I picked up a pair of these used from a friend that had no real appreciation for them. Although they are not offered as new any longer they are great speakers. The dual 10" woofers produce enough volume on thier own that I had to turn my sub down to avoid damaging the walls. If you can find these used at a fair price <$300, they are worth your money.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
len parent   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 17, 2001]
Strength:

seems to me these speakers rock quite well. I'm using a carver amp and nad pre through pbj's. audioquest indigos are the speaker cables. I actually just refoamed them and they sound great. we're not talking big bucks here so value for the dollar is a definite 5!! oh yeah these are 6000a's if that makes a difference let me know please

Weakness:

none

as above

Similar Products Used: cerwin vega L9
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com