Infinity Systems rs-325 Floorstanding Speakers

rs-325

2-way bookshelf speaker

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
mike mcsweeney   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 15, 2014]

I picked up a pair of these in the box like new at a garage sale for $50. I figured I would flip them for $80-$100 because of their vintage and mint condition.
I plugged them in to make sure they worked, and OMG! they were amazing. Great mids and highs like i hvaen't heard before and even the bass out of the small 5-6" driver was amazing.
I sold my cherry $400 polk rti-a3s that i loved.

What a find!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Don Bagley   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 20, 2008]
Strength:

Finish clean all around enclosure. Resale price ridiculously low for performance. High quality drivers. Polite for neighbors. Sweet looking grill and logos.

Weakness:

Why don't they make these any more?

As a dweller in attached housing, I have learned how to avoid annoying the neighbors while playing back music at decently loud levels. Front-ported speakers direct more of the bass frequencies to the listener, and if you can find a pair of bookshelf speakers that don't need a subwoofer, all the better. I had a pair of floor-standing Bostons that shook the walls, and I had to turn them down so far as to make them useless--the Boston cr95 were good speakers, but they were too boomy for common walls. I have a classic pair of EPI 70's that have an incredible liquid midrange--wow! But they have no bass response to speak of, and are only really useful for light jazz (how sweeet they are with that!).

So anyway, to get on point here, I bought these Infinity 325's on ebay for eighty bucks plus shipping--about one thirty in all. Good Lord they sound awesome! They are double ported on the front so the listener gets all the bass, which is substantial with the six and a half inch mid-woofers. These are musical speakers, and I love the treble too. I think soft fabric tweets usually perform better than metal, and these babies make the argument for me. These can rock and roll, and lay out smooth jazz and classical as well. If you're a speaker freak like me, who doesn't want to annoy his neighbors, try these out!

Similar Products Used: Boston cr95, Bose 301, 100, EPI 70, Image 100, JBL L40
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ScottM015   AudioPhile [Dec 09, 2006]
Strength:

Very clear and capable of producing extended frequencies in the upper end. High quality drivers not available in present day.

Weakness:

Buy them for musical detail not to rock the house. They sound best at low to medium volumes. Only weakness is you cannot really crank them but most quality music is heard at normal volumes and these are superb.

I have gone through a lot of speakers in my life time. I had a unique child hood seeing that my Father and Grand Father were Manufacturer reps for audio equipment companies with lines such as Rotel, HK, Pioneer, Technics, and many other very good companies of past eras. I should mention that all of the companies have gone down hill in the last 20 years so you can presume that most things are I listened to all of this equipment since a very early age and have built and designed speakers also for the last 20 years or so. My grandfather owned a speaker company for many years (Christy Speakers) named after his Grand daughter (my sister).

I have the ear for sound and can tell very small differences in frequencies especially the higher frequencies. I like the RS 325 because of their ability to produce very clean and precise high frequencies. If I had to put a number on where they shine it would be the 10 KHz and above. Every one hears differently and many cannot tell the difference from one speaker to the next but I can tell you these are very good quality and the phase plug design of the woofer is unique as well. Only very high quality drivers use this design. I believe it aids in giving a very clear mid frequency response (admitting I do not know the exact science on this design). Do not pass up the chance to have these if you want good quality. I consider the price I paid to be fair for a great condition set. I also have a set of the RS 425 and RS 525 which are similar but better on the lower frequencies. You should do well to pick up any of these for the $200 - $500 range on Ebay or other sources.

Customer Service

None needed to this point. If you buy a good product it is normally not needed.

Similar Products Used: B&W, Infinity, Polk, Talon, Altec, BSR, Denon, Nakamichi, Athena, Magnapan, JBL, EV, Peavey, Sansui, Technics, Martin Logan, KEF, Von, Klipsch, Bose, Boston Acoustics, Peerless, Audax, NHT, BIC Venturi, Fisher, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, ETC...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
glennsmga   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 22, 2006]
Strength:

Very good bass, excellent midrange, and brilliant highs. Little or no colouration or artificial enhancement of sound. Replacement rubber woofer surrounds are available if and when these parts ever wear out.

Weakness:

No longer available new. Cost when new was around $250.00 per pair, US. Bass performance deteriorates a bit at very high volume levels

I bought a used set of Infinity RS 325 loudspeakers from Ebay for my secondary sound system. After listening to these two way bass reflex speakers for just a few minutes, I was astonished to realize that they were exceptional, and vastly superior to my primary system's expensive paradigms! Needless to say the infinity speakers are now hooked up for use with my primary sound system!
I have owned these infinity speakers for just over three months now. The more I listen to them, the better I like them! In short, they are some of the best sounding loudspeakers that I have ever heard, and they easily outperform many much larger and more expensive name brand speakers! These speakers produce very tight, very clean crisp, natural sound. They pump out very clean, surprisingly deep bass, if it actually exists on the recorded media being played. They do not "artificially" create extra or boomy unnatural bass like some speakers do. These speakers can generate more than adequate volume with even low powered amps, but can handle up to 150 watts RMS each! These speakers are keepers, and I can highly recommend them to anyone looking for excellent natural sounding speakers!

Similar Products Used: Nothing in this size or original price range that I have seen can compare!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lancesmith1   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2002]
Strength:

Clean, crisp, clear and tight sound.

Weakness:

They will wear out (some day).

If you love nice crisp, tight sounding audio you can't beat these speakers. I have these RS-325's in the front with a pair of RS-125's for the rears. I am looking to add a CC-3 Center for balance. I tried to cut corners on the center (CV) and learned a lesson. You might compare it to looking at a Sony Wega next to a Sansui. If you can get a pair of these or RS-125's on Ebay jump on it!

Similar Products Used: I'm just an old country boy, I've honestly never heard a cleaner more crisp sounding speaker. I can't wait to get an Infinity center to match.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
William Locke   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2000]
Strength:

Wonderful dynamic range.

I use these as the surround speakers in a Dolby Digital setup along with RS-625s as the front units. They add a tremendous amount of ambiance, and truly show their colors on the Video Essentials test disc.

We also have the RS-225s, which my son uses as "color' in his stereo set-up. He is very pleased with their durability.

Since they are discontinued, a very good deal could be had for the $ if you can find them.

Similar Products Used: Radio Shack Nova-7s.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ashish Mishra   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2000]
Strength:

Durability & sound quality

Weakness:

high volume bass handling

I've bought my Infinity RS-325s over 7 years ago just because they were affordable at the Price club. However, after shopping for new speakers for the last 2 years, I'm convinced that these are some of the best speakers you can find -- period. Especially in the price range they originally sold.

They faithfully reproduce sound, and have amazing clarity. I've got an older receiver, (about 8 years old), and even with those the sound is much warmer and clear than alot of the new setups I've heard. I've just ordered a Sony DB930, and I can't wait to hear my speakers on them.

Too bad Infinity doesn't make them anymore, because I'd buy another pair on the spot.

Similar Products Used: Sony Active Speakers, RS-125s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jp   an Audio Enthusiast [Aug 12, 1999]

I have been pleasantly surprised by these speakers- I am currently using them asthe second set of speakers in the same room on a stereo amp, sort of "fake" surround sound..this gave a strong and noticable improvement to the soundstage and overall sound of my system.the best part was the price ($37/ea at ubid.com) they are nearly identical to the rs-2 unit that go for like 250. my front speakers are Advent Legacy's and these 325's match up excellently. Of course the lowest bass is not quite there, but that's physics for ya. overall I'm really impressed and excited- for the price
they are out of this world. ps, you can put together a really good sounding system for LOW dollars if you work at it-now im waiting for my h-k avr40 to replace my non dolby sony 315 reciever....mmmmm

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Clarke W. Johnston   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 13, 1999]

I have a friend in Vallejo who needed a large number of smallish but good quality speakers to fill up all the jacks on his Yamaha DSP-1070 amplifier. This amp has dual centers as well as the proprietary Yamaha front effects channels. My friend Mike was very concerned about "timbre" matching, which some folks place great stock in. Thus he wanted the same speakers at all corners. We found the RS-325's at both Circuit City and Pearson's Audio Video in our area. These speakers have several interesting features. Most significant, they were one of the first to utillize a conical cap on the woofer to reduce distortion and buzzing as the woofer gets to the upper end of its operating range. Fancier brands like Monitor Audio are now doing the same thing. Also, these speakers have dual ports on the front, not unlike what Polk later used on their RT series. Rather astonishing is these speakers rating of 150 watts power handling capacity, which is a lot for a 6&1/2" two way system in this price range. The 325's have a very good polycell tweeter for clear highs, and not bad bass, due to the ports and pretty good size cabinet for the driver compliment. Mike has five pairs working on the amp, with dual powered subs, which gives a nice and powerful sound field, provided the delay times and volumne levels are set right, which takes some attention on the big Yamahas. This is a great speaker for the price, made while Infinity was turning out good speakers, and not the plastic stuff produced since the Harmon International takeover/assimilation. If you can find a pair on the used market and need a very good speaker either by themselves or when combined with a good sub, will fill a reasonable-sized room. The quality is good for the price, with a clear and defined sound. If you are looking for a more current product in this category, try Paradigm Titans, or NHT models or similar, as the lower end of the new Infinity line has suffered considerably in quality/design/performance. For more pricey models, the B&W 602 (3?) series and the Monitor Audio will nicely fill the ticket. Enjoy!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Adam Shiffman   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 2000]
Strength:

Frequency Response, Natural Sound, Power Handling

Weakness:

No longer available. Otherwise, none that I can think of now.

I have to agree with you all on the RS325's, they are a great speaker for the money. I purchased these about 7 or 8 years ago at the Good Guys. I compared them to speakers that were quite a bit more expensive and the Infinity's came out on top. Imagine my surprise when I hooked them up to my new A/V receiver and got terrific sound from them. I wasn't happy with the cheap speakers that came with my home theater system - the RS325 are a great improvement. Power handling is great and they produce a full, rich sound. I had been using the JBL 2600's and the JBL's really fall short in comparison. The Infinity's have much better base response and a more natural sounding midrange. The JBL's were a bit "edgy or tinny" sounding in the midrange. I'm very happy with these speakers.

Similar Products Used: JBL 2600
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com