Infinity Systems RS-1B Floorstanding Speakers

RS-1B

Electrostatic Type Mid-Range Tweeter Panels with twin Tower Bass columns

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
x   AudioPhile [Jan 19, 2011]

Ear sex. 'Nuff said.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rgraham57   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 02, 2003]
Strength:

Sound stage. Craftsmanship is first rate. They are what speakers should be now. If the new ones are so good, why is it that every one wants these? Hmmmmmmm? That should say enough

Weakness:

Infinity has discontinued support for these wonderful behemoths. Emits are pretty ready available but those emims are a real challenge to find. If you are serious about having these, buy a couple of emims when you can. "Just in case you fry one"

If you have enough power to really make them work, they are absolutely awe inspiring. I drove half way cross the country to get them as they are difficult to ship. I would do it again. The lows are as low as you can hear and the highs are pure crystal clear. Remember, these are "old" technology. I would stand them against anything near their price range. There's a real 3d soundstage here. Until you get them in your listening room, you cannot appreciate their size. In our living room they how shall I say it? They stand out. Be sure your significant other can tolerate big looking, but absolutely stunning sounding speakers. They are still out there, but they are getting harder to find. Buy them

Similar Products Used: Infinity qe's and rs 5001's slightly modified.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rgraham57   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 02, 2003]
Strength:

Sound stage. Craftsmanship is first rate. They are what speakers should be now. If the new ones are so good, why is it that every one wants these? Hmmmmmmm? That should say enough

Weakness:

Infinity has discontinued support for these wonderful behemoths. Emits are pretty ready available but those emims are a real challenge to find. If you are serious about having these, buy a couple of emims when you can. "Just in case you fry one"

If you have enough power to really make them work, they are absolutely awe inspiring. I drove half way cross the country to get them as they are difficult to ship. I would do it again. The lows are as low as you can hear and the highs are pure crystal clear. Remember, these are "old" technology. I would stand them against anything near their price range. There's a real 3d soundstage here. Until you get them in your listening room, you cannot appreciate their size. In our living room they how shall I say it? They stand out. Be sure your significant other can tolerate big looking, but absolutely stunning sounding speakers. They are still out there, but they are getting harder to find. Buy them

Similar Products Used: Infinity qe's and rs 5001's slightly modified.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dgordonl   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 27, 2002]
Strength:

Looks,Imaging,Realistic sound reproduction from the Mid/Twt columns,fantastic tight bass.

Weakness:

NONE

I had purchased these speakers used in the late 80's.A friend of mine had a pair of RS1A's and I loved the way they sounded,and started the search.Nothing can explain how these speakers sound.They are FANTASTIC,and I will never part with them.All-though I almost did when Infinity came out with the BETA'S ,BUT listing over 10,000.00 and selling new for 8500.00 I couldn't justify trading my RS1B's and comming up with the extra cash for them.Mine are Medium Oak and I use Denon POA6600 mono blocks for the Bass columns.On the top end I run a Conrad-Johnson MV45 tube amp and let me tell you it is sweet.I do not crank the audio so there is no clipping in my system.My pre-amp is a Bryston .5b no phono section.I always wanted to put Class A mono amps on the Mid/Twt columns and since I am addicted to WWW.AUDIOGON.COM used mono amps are in my price range.I also have to give credit to my wife who polishes them every month.They look brand new.I suggest anyone that has a chance to buy a pair DON'T HESITATE.You would have to pay at least 30,000.00 for todays speakers to duplicate the sound.

Similar Products Used: before the RS1B's I used Infinity's RS10's with two (2) M&K sub woofers
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
iwan salim   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 19, 2002]
Strength:

good looking,great sound,the best speaker evermade.

Weakness:

need big PA if installed NFB system.

should bundled wirh RS1''s active crossover. installed the NFB system from the RS1''s active crossover and you will heared the incrredible low level sound, but need up to 250 watts/channel PA. to produced clear sound use tube. my system:sonic frontier SFL-2,manley reference 200 (mid high),hafler 500 (low)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
LARRY MEGUGORAC   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 10, 1999]

A former Audiophile when I purchased this system, it requires a sacrifice to own. The system consists on two Mid-Range/Tweeter Panels with Infinity's EMIT and ENIM Drivers. These are their famous Electro-Magnetic Induced Mids & Tweeters. Then there are two Woofer towers which contain 6 8" drivers in each tower. They not only need a big room to play in but require huge amounts of Bi-Amplification to satisfy their power hungry nature. The entire system weighs over 350 lbs!
If you can satisfy their requirements, then you are in for a treat. They are one the the most accurate speakers you can own and will give that "being there" feeling like almost no other specker can( except for their big brothers that go for more than $50,000.00).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Mark G. Anderson   Audiophile [Jun 11, 2001]
Strength:

Imaging, Highs, Lows, Mids, Looks

Weakness:

Need lots of Refined Power

If you see them ..... buy them. Unparalled imaging and sound reproduction for the price. These speakers require require biamplification and your amps should be able to deliver large loads comfortably down to 2 ohms. Mine run on twin Threshold S-500 Series II amps. All my friends simply say they have never heard music reproduced so accurately and detailed. These twin towers deliver bass punch which is so tight it will bring the hair on your arms up. The highs are accurate and float like they should. Can't say enough about these baby's. IF YOU SEE THEM .... BUY THEM. When new these were a bargain. Now it would cost in excess of 30K to deliver sound reproduction like this.

Similar Products Used: Polk SDA-SRS T1.2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tracy Jensen   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2001]
Strength:

Full realistic accurate sound.

Weakness:

Haven't found any yet.

I Brought these units home and to my wifes surprise they took up half of our living room. They are wonderful to look at (at least I think so, but my wife can't see the TV any more)and even more wonderful to listen to. Once I hooked them up (in my temperary location) and started to play them I now had my wifes attention. They sound fantastic and I can't wait to finish my home theater in my basement, where they will be better suited. They are a dream come true for me. I listened to these speakers 15 years ago in a Audio shop and was blown away then. So when I saw these for sale in a local buy & sell I knew I had to have them. I'm not sorry with my purchase at all. My friends can't beleive that speakers could sound so real. Wait till they hear them in my Theater. I am currently driving the bass towers with a Bryston 4B NRB and the Mid/High towers with a Caver M500T. My pre amp is actually an Onkyo 989 7.1 Ultra THX Reciever. Maybe not audiophile equipment, but they sure sound great and will make great main channels for my 7.1 system. Too sum things up, I love the way these things sound in my living room which is far from an ideal setting and my wife and I can't wait to hear them in the new room down stairs. I guess I had better hurry and get things done down there.

Similar Products Used: Polk Audio SDA SRS2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com