Infinity Systems RS-10 Floorstanding Speakers

RS-10

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Long time Audiophile   [Nov 17, 2000]
Strength:

Bass is strong, midrange is great, high end is perfect. There is *nothing* bad about these speakers.

Weakness:

Big... heavy.

Absolutely phenomenal speakers.

Similar Products Used: Other flagship series.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert Duan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 01, 2000]
Strength:

Low price from Ubid.com
Good sound and an expensive look

Weakness:

none in this price range

I too got a good deal from Ubid.com. At 287 each, it was a great deal. But as the previous posts indicated, Ubid.com did charge a heafty shipping and handling ($65 each) which makes this deal not great but still very very good. These are indeed brand new speakers and came with 1 year warrenty card included.

My home theater system is fairly up-to-date with 61 inch large screen Toshiba, Denon 3300 receiver, pioneer DVD, sony CD, JVC SVHS and all infinity speakers. For the front main speakers, I have been using the infinity RS-8 which I also bought from Ubid.com about 6 months ago at a great price of 450 dollars a pair, delivered. The RS-10 is about 4.5 inches taller and 5 inches thicker which matches with my system and living space better.

Compare with the RS-8, RS-10 has better and more defined bass from the bass speakers. I actually took the RS-8 sub amp out once and found the power supply of the RS-8 sub amp to be fairly small. The RS-10 also has a power swich on the back if you want to switch off the bass amp. The other advantage is RS-10 has larger feet which makes it more stable on the carpet.

I found the mid to be ok with my ears. Compare with the RS-8 which uses ONE 6.5 inch speakers, RS-10 uses two 5.25 inch, one for higher mid and one for the lower mid. I found this approach produced more balanced high to mid to bass transitions.

One point I noticed is that I need more power to drive the RS-10 than the RS-8. Their efficiencies are rated the same but I suspect the additional speaker require more juice to drive. This is really not a problem because my Denon has 100 watts per channel, more than enough to drive them to the volume that shakes the floor.

The overall sound improvements from the RS-8 to RS-10 is small but noticable, especially the bass and the smooth high-mid transitions. If you can find it again auction on Ubid.com, get a pair while you can. The modle is being replaced by the new infinity series. For music, these speakers can certainly do a decent job. For home theater, these speakers can really put you into the action. For the price I got, there is no competition!

Similar Products Used: Advent, Infinity RS-8, Boss, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Josh Morgan   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 1999]
Strength:

Subwoofer amplifiers provide deep and tight bass. Dual 5 1/4 midranges reproduce music and movie tracks incredibly accurately. 1 in soft dome tweeter hits the highs and keeps on going. Sensitivity is high enough where I cannot distort sound at any tolerable volume.

Weakness:

Even though the subs are powerful and clean, they still do not replace the bass that can be produced by a quality dedicated sub (I use an AudioSource 12" 150 watt sub that responds to 20 Hz)

My entire Infinity home theatre package provides incredible sound from my CD player, tuner, VCR, and especially my Dolby Digital DVD player. The RS-10's are listed for 1,600 a pair in Crutchfield (plus 100 for shipping), but I was willing to wait three weeks and purchase them from netmarket.com for 1,079 plus 50 for shipping. A great deal on a great speaker!

Similar Products Used: I currently use an Infinity CC3 for my center channel and the RS3's for my rear speaker.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Greg Moore   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2001]
Strength:

Just about any positive statement about sound quality applies.

Weakness:

Large for some applications, (never too big?) and side firing woofers limits placement a bit.

I use these for L/R in a home theater with the Overture 2's acting as rears and center.

The RS-10's really have yet to stop inpressing me after a year of hard use. I have broken a number of items from our fire place mantel (now all taped down) from the bass and have yet to push them beyond their exceptable sound range. The sound field is excellent, imaging excellent (although a clearly defined sweet spot) and base is complete and extreemly tight. They can produce the low back ground rumbles of recordings in cheap studios (or in church's like one CD I have) as easily and they can thump out the newest techno dance crap my son likes. They do justice so some of the best rock drummers shake the couch, my jeans and the dishes out in the kitchen on movies like The Matrix.

Simply an awsome speaker, especially when they can be had sooo cheap at times on eBay etc.

Similar Products Used: Infinity Overture 2's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
DB   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 14, 2001]
Strength:

tight & articulate bass.Seamless transitions through lower mids to upper treble.Deep & wide soundstage & very nice imaging.Great "feet" to decouple from floor!

Weakness:

Very heavy, but that can be a good thing too? no bi wire capability

What a great product for the money! I got these for Home Theater at first & they did a great job. Very efficient so smaller recievers can push them very well. I once even hooked a borrowed 20wpc tube amp up to them and they played flawlessly! Great design!
AS I moved on from all HT set up to more of a music based system these gems kept the pace pretty well. Infinity somehow lost it's lustre in the late 80's & early 90's as they went low end mass market. However, they made a great comeback in the 90's and still put out flagship models like these that give a great price/performance ratio. These retailed at $1895 but during close out you could find them in places like Crutchfield for $1600 & finally close out at CC for $1200.
The bass w/ these speakers is very system dependant as well as cable sensitive. If you use crappy RS wire the bass will be dull and boomy b/c you hve to have the amps up full blast. However, as I moved up in cable the bass and sound improved dramatically!! Went to MIT T2 and thought the large sub was on at first! HAd to turn amps down to half way! Ended up w/ Stealth Premier Copper which are Cardas Golden clones and now bass is even tighter and faster and must keep bass amp at quarter volume or lower! Many I suspect will never place the kind of cable on these puppies to bring out their potential. Also, friends come over and sometimes want to turn the amp volume up for that BIG bass impact sound which really bloats your room. If the right amp and cables are used PLEASE keep the amp at quarter volume or less! The bass here is very tight and fast! Extremely articulate w/ great slam and NEVER FORGET BASS IS SOURCE DEPENDENT! Some CDs just don't have it so don't force it w/ the volume! Just My Two Cents
Enough about bass, but wanted to cover it as many buy these for the subs. I moved on from HT Receiver, Denon 4800 to seperates for music. Using the Bel Canto DAC 1 w/ Theta Data Basic II transport and a nice Tube Pre amp from Anthem I really started to enjoy these speakers. Hooked things up w/ Cardas Golden Hexlink 5-C, JPS SUperconductor & Harmonic Tech Pro Silway MK II interconnects. Power cords from ESP Essence, Gutwire G-clef, & JPS POwer AC/DIgital AC. Now these speakers really SING! Great soundstage that has very good center fill as well as extending well beyond the speakers. I have had friends get up to check if the center speaker is on b/4! Mid range is very good and they seem to get Piano down fairly well which is a tough job to do. Female vocals are to die for! Very smooth and detailed w/o sibilance problems. I am now moving on to Silverline Sonatina speakers as the upgrade bug bit me hard this year. They do some things better than my faithful RS-10 but at $4,000 a pair they should! Miss the bass sometimes though. Think I may keep these for when I get another room and can totally seperate HT form music. Don't let the name fool you these are serious speakers that will perform according to what you hook them up to.

Similar Products Used: Infinity reference 2.5, Sm 80 wharfedale MFM-5, Theil 2.3 Vandersteen 2C
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sean   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2000]
Strength:

Highs

Weakness:

Bass can sound dull, Size(HUGE)

Not bad speakers for the price. I wouldn't pay the original $1200 for a set, but you can find a good price on them at UBID.
I notice distortion from time to time, but generally they sound good for both video and music.

The rest of my system is as follows:
JVC 774 reciever
JVC 334 cd player
JVC SVHS
JVC 701 DVD
Philips CDR-W

I bought every component from UBID. You can generally find products for 1/4-1/2 the price their advertised for at stores like CC and Best Buys.

Similar Products Used: Bose
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
ED CADORNIJA   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 17, 2000]
Strength:

The highs and the mids are great but with the built sub,
it the best of its kind. The sub is powerful, solid & tight.

Weakness:

Only when you compare to the likes of Martin Logans (perhaps
the Polk RT2000 has a better bass sound).

Like I said, It's probably the best of its kind. These babies are great specially for music listening. I have a nice home theater set up (QSP-1 for surround and CC3 for center and 53" TV), but I know I bought RS-10 for music
listening first then home theater. The only way I wouldn't have bought the RS-10 is if I would've bought Martin Logans(Oh yeah! I couldn't afford them). I don't want to get specific about the highs and mids, etc., but like most, the sound of the built-in sub sold me. Besides, the best way to judge speakers is listen to them.

Similar Products Used: Polk, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Byzandula   Audio Enthusiast [May 04, 2000]
Strength:

Crystal mids, nice highs that aren't overpowering. 10" Subs are very tight. GREAT PRICE

Weakness:

These monsters are LARGE.

This is the second day of ownership for me. I am still breaking these speakers in but the sound produced thus far surpasses all other speakers I have owned. I have tested a variety of music and everything sounds REALLY nice. I listen to classical voice and the amaizing mids make it seem as if we are having a live performance. I am sure to be kicked out of my apartment within the week do to loud volume levels. I purchased these giants from UBID at an amazing price of $700/pair (shipping cost me $130 [ouch]). Here is some info about my setup. I am running these off of a sherwood 8090R 100wattsx5. Not a great receiver, but it certainly does the job. This is the start of my home theater system and I couldn't be more pleased. At this price, I am considering buying another pair!

Similar Products Used: Bose, Polk, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tai   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 30, 2000]
Strength:

The powered subwoofer bass is tight, very powerful. Price is great: got them at ubid.com, for $287 each, plus $131 shipping, ouch!

Weakness:

The midrange is not that great as compared to my Infinity 155, or maybe I'm used to listening to the latter.

I have to compare it with the Infinity SM 155:

* Bass: I have to disagree with Josh Morgan's post bellow regarding to the bass: to me, I have to reduce the bass volume so that my neighbor can have some sleep. The powered 10" sub produces thunderous bass, more powerful than the bass of my 15" Infinity SM 155.
* Mid: It's clean, nice but not as dominant as the one out of my SM 155. I have them both in my room and I still like the deep and rich mid of my SM 155: maybe because it has a larger box? However, when I increase the receiver volume, I do hear enough mid tones. BTW, maybe the 103 dB sensitivity of the SM 155 allows more mid tones than the 93 dB of the RS 10? Just a guess.
* High: at low volume, the treble is more dominant than the mid. The SM 155 always generates lot of mid at any power level, which is pleasant for vocal tone. Adding more power, the mid and the treble of the RS 10 mix well together and produce wonderful sounds.

In general, I have to reduce the bass control while increasing the receiver output power to get the mid tone out. (I do use an equalizer to enhance the sound quality). I don't really see the need for using an extra sub woofer.

The SM 155 and the RS 10 both produce terrific sounds and I like them both as each one has its own "characters". Strongly recommend for picky ears.

Similar Products Used: Infinity SM 155 and JBL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Charles   Casual Listener [Jul 02, 2000]
Strength:

Powered Sub,look and name

Weakness:

Size

Sure beats my AM-5. Got it for $1200/pair CAD includes a nine year service plan if I ever blow these speakers which I doubt very much! Looks great, sound great and enough bass which allows me to delay the purchase of a subwoofer!

Similar Products Used: Bose
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com