Infinity Systems Overture 3 Floorstanding Speakers

Infinity Systems Overture 3 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

3-Way Floorstanding Speaker with Built-in 300-Watt Powered Subwoofer. 4 6-1/2" Bass Drivers. 2 5-1/4" Midrange Drivers. 1" High Frequency Driver.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Apr 11, 2019]
miken62


Strength:

I have owned these speakers since new circa 2000, and have been delighted with the quality of the sound

Weakness:

Unfortunately the circuit board driving the sub-woofer has failed on one of the speakers, and I have been unable to find/source a replacement board. If anyone knows where I can buy a replacement board, I would be most grateful.

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Jul 31, 2018]
marcosponce


Strength:

Haven't heard any speakers that can re create the sound of string instruments like these incredible master piece these speakers even though old still compete with today's high end speakers which says something about there build quality! 5 stars early.

Weakness:

One weakness I can speak of is the built in amp is known to fail but is easily replaced

Price Paid:
2400.00
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2004
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 13, 2013]
NC Audiophile
AudioPhile

I have owned these speakers for over 10 years. I live and breathe audio and have owned McIntosh xr-14s, Klipsch Forte, Cornwall, Heresy, kg 5.2, Pioneer CS-99A, CS-63DX, Infinity Kappa 7.1, Polk SDA and many many more. Musical taste is a personal thing, I realize but these speakers have among the very best midrange and treble responses I have heard. I have bought and sold dozens of speakers, amps, preamps etc trying to unseat these with something better and just can't find a better speaker. Sure there are brighter speakers but I don't like listening fatigue, sure there are bassier speakers but if I wanted a ton of bass for rap, I have a 2000W 16" sub for that. If one word describes the sound of these speakers it is "liquid".

Another reviewer described the bass in these speakers as "boomy". I would guess there was something wrong with his speakers because if anything these could use a bit more boom. These speakers hit 24hz cleanly and below that, they drop off sharply. I recommend putting the sub dial at about 3/10. Higher volume levels give almost no additional db's and only increase distortion levels.

Another reviewer described that the treble in these speakers wasn't as harsh as his Polks because it cuts off at 20khz. This person does not understand the sound spectrum. The human ear can't hear above 20k and most adults can only hear to 13-15k max. What people describe as harsh treble is in the 4k-8k range, far below the 20k.

The last thing I love about these speakers is the incredibly wide sound stage. Almost no sound variation in my 26 foot by 21 foot room. If you can score a pair of these, I highly recommend them. You will be shocked. I have since bought a second pair and a bunch of extra parts. I don't see these being unseated any time soon. I am still trying though.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 14, 2009]
s schwenk
Audio Enthusiast

great clean sound.plenty of bass,but be careful driving them,parts r harde to come by .i blew both tweeters and 1 midrange,have replacement parts,but still looking 4 orignial parts.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 2002]
DC
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent sound imaging with true, accurate sound reproduction. Clean bass with built in amp/sub. Great price/performance ratio.

Weakness:

No significant weaknesses

I've had these speakers for about 3 years and I still am impressed with them. Excellent sound imaging for classical, jazz, blues with very clear mids/highs. The built in amp/sub is more than adaquate for anything other than heavy bass pounding rock/house music and provides nice, clean bass. It works well in my home theater setup as well. I've thought of getting a dedicated sub (perhaps a Hsu research cylindrical sub) but everytime I sit down with a nice DVD movie, I think "it would be a nice toy, but I really don't need it." If you can find a pair, don't hesitate as I haven't heard anything in the <$2000 per speaker range that can touch these.

Similar Products Used:

AR, Mirage, Bose, Klipsch

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 16, 2002]
DC
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent sound imaging with true, accurate sound reproduction. Clean bass with built in amp/sub. Great price/performance ratio.

Weakness:

No significant weaknesses

I've had these speakers for about 3 years and I still am impressed with them. Excellent sound imaging for classical, jazz, blues with very clear mids/highs. The built in amp/sub is more than adaquate for anything other than heavy bass pounding rock/house music and provides nice, clean bass. It works well in my home theater setup as well. I've thought of getting a dedicated sub (perhaps a Hsu research cylindrical sub) but everytime I sit down with a nice DVD movie, I think "it would be a nice toy, but I really don't need it." If you can find a pair, don't hesitate as I haven't heard anything in the <$2000 per speaker range that can touch these.

Similar Products Used:

AR, Mirage, Bose, Klipsch

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 23, 2002]
Chris Brand
AudioPhile

Strength:

Articulate soundstage

Weakness:

Absolutely none

Incredible detail is what I here. The bass is present but not boomy. They blow my Acoustic Research AR-1'S away!

Similar Products Used:

Acoustic Research AR-1'S

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 27, 2002]
Dairybeats
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power, good for Rock music.

Weakness:

Boomy bass, in-box character.

These speakers were with me for about 3 years, which is quite a long time for me! I liked the powerful sound, but the bass was to boomy though. I turned the setting down to zero, and used a REL Strata II subwoofer for the low-end, with much better results. The middle & high sound was clear and bright, but I found that the overall sound wasn't coming out of the speakers enough. 6 Month ago I sold them, and bought the Infinity Kappa 100; but again the bass was to prominent and over-shadowed the overall sound. So I traded them in for the Klipsch RF-7 (still USA...). For the first time in my life, I'm 54, I can say that I'm totally happy with my speakers. They're truly magnificent, with a fantastic 'out of the box' sound. I'm sorry Infinity, you've lost me for good! Amp.: Yamaha DSP-A1 (5x110 & 2x35W RMS). SACD player: Sony SCD-555ES (brilliant, also on CD-playback). DVD Player: Pioneer DV/545 (very good picture). TV: Philips 36". Speakercable: v.d. Hul CS-122. Audio Interconnects: v.d. Hul The Ultimate First and Thunderline. Digital cable: QED Qunex P75. Scart: QED (RGB only). Centre speaker: Klipsch RC-7. Surrounds: Klipsch RS-3 MK II.

Similar Products Used:

Infinity Kappa 100 Klipsch RF-7

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Mar 14, 2000]
mike
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sounding mid range and highs. Very natural sounding speaker. High sensitivity rating. Best looking speaker available.

Weakness:

Cheapy connectors and internal wiring. Disappointing auto sensing mechanism for amp.

Went looking for a tower speaker with built in sub. DT too expensive. AR 960's not available in my area for sound evaluation. Purchased Overture 3's for one-third of original list price. Purchased 2 pairs for large living area. Sounded more neutral and balanced than my second choice speaker, the Polk's 2000p.

Terrific sounding mids and highs. Although highs only extend to 20k and is evident when compared to the Polk's. Highs are neutral and not harsh sounding. Adequate bass extension when properly positioned into a corner. Mid range clarity is this speakers reason for being. Great for violin and piano solo's. Natural sounding vocals. Very easy to drive to high volumes using only a quarter of the amps power.

Disappointed at the wire connectors. Understandable that the speaker was created in 1997. But at original list price of 1400.00/speaker you would expect sturdier connectors.

One of the best looking speakers around. Very impotant factor for tower speakers.

Similar Products Used:

Advent, Canton and B&W speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 13, 2000]
bill
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great fluid sounding mids and highs. Decent bass when positioned properly from wall.

Weakness:

Highs only reaching 20K, noticable when comparing to Polks 2000p.

High sensitivity rating requires little amplifier power. Built in 300 watt amps take load off the amplifier. Excellent speaker for new age, r&b, classical and vocals. Not ideal for rap or rock. Very natural sounding, excellent fluidity. Did not need sub woofer when positioned properly. Performed better than Polk 2000p's in vocal and mid range intensive mediums. Sounded more natural than polks' over powering bass.

Recommended at new price of 1000/pr. Did not consider speakers at previous selling price. Out perform any speaker at this new price.

Similar Products Used:

Hartley speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com