Infinity Systems Overture 2 Floorstanding Speakers

Overture 2

3-Way Floorstanding Speaker with Built-in 150-Watt Powered Subwoofer. Dual 6-1/2" bass drivers. Dual 5-1/2" midrange drivers. 1" High Frequency Driver.

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
kbethune   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2005]
Strength:

Incredible mid's and high's. Good construction. Well-balanced construction. Very handsome speaker. Matches well w/ other Overture and RS speaker lines. In my opinion, the RS & Overture lines exceed the quality of today's Infinity speakers.

Weakness:

none

I absolutely love these speakers. The sound is absolutely amazing. I had RS-5's before, which offered a great bang for the buck. But, these blow them away. I use them for both audio & home theater applications. The high & mid frequencies come to life. The bass is very tight (not boomy, but extremely tight). I also use a Velodyne sub w/ them, so the low end is well covered and exceptional. These were a great deal, and I hope I can maintain them for another 10 years. They are beautiful as well (suits my contemporary decor). The RS-5's are now my rears. I just purchased a CC-3 on eBay to replace my older CC-1. Now, I'll have those grey & black little woofers all around me. I'm happy w/ a "dream system" without the "dream price"

Similar Products Used: RS-5 (now moved to the back as rears) CC-1 (now being replaced w/ CC-3 US-1 (replaced w/ RS-5's) Velodyne CT-80 HK DPR 1001 Digital Path Receiver HK DVD 22
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
drewby   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2000]
Strength:

mids and highs are crystal clear

Weakness:

lows and placement of bass control

I purchased these from UBID for $320 each + shipping argghhh! noticed that tehe speaker felt very solid out of the box. Couldnt wait to fire them out on my denon d50 receiver. At first I was pissed that when you put the grille on these speakers you cannot access the subwoofer control...Bad, bad design and the grilles aint the easiest to take off and on. Overall the quality of these speakers seem pretty good though with all the hype on the bass, it wasnt as tight as expected. I think this is a good overall speaker

Similar Products Used: JBL
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Bernie   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 08, 2000]
Strength:

A very accurate speaker. They sound great for any type of music.

Weakness:

The bass adjust is in an awakward position.

I thought these speakers sound great. I see alot of people complain about the bass response. What you need to realize is they're only 6.5 inch woofers. If you want that deep bass response you buy a 12 or 15 inch sub. Notice the difference, woofer and sub-woofer. These speakers are an all around speaker that will sound good no matter what you listen to. And for the prices you're paying for these speakers on ubid you can't beat them. I use them with a Harmon Kardon receiver/amplifier.

Similar Products Used: Sony 3-way speaker
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim H   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2000]
Strength:

Solid build Sound quality

Weakness:

cheap grills

I bought 4 from webid at 310 each. And, they are well worth the money!! They do sound a lot better in my home than they did in the store. If you aren't getting enough base from these speakers try changing their room placement. They are very sesitive with the rear firing 6.5" sub speaker. I use mine by themselves for most music and they sound great. For some musical pieces I like the very low bass that I get from my 12" Velodyne. It costs a little more but, it is very versatile and accurate. I turn it down for music and up for video special effects and let it run all the time. I would not pair a cheap sub with these speakers. You will hear the distortion right away. You may not notice it during movies but you will with a good audio recording. These speakers are not audiophile but they produce great sound at a bargain if you can get them for under 450.

Similar Products Used: many
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gordon Pfannenstiel   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 25, 2000]
Strength:

Very nice, smooth mids and highs. Sleek, attractive design. fairly efficientg.

Weakness:

The bass is very inconsistant; sounds muddy on many recordings. Also, the drums just do not have the presence, particularly the snare and toms. However, other percussion, like cymbals, tambourine and other "higher end" percussion devices sound great

I sold my Bose 901s and looked around for quite a while before settling on Infinity. Unfortunately, bought them last January from Audio Direct $550 each. The week after I bought them, I saw them going for $200 less at Ubid. I called Audio Direct, but got no satisfaction from them. I felt (and still feel) ripped off.

I have to say, if you can buy these speakers new for $350 or under, you'd be a fool not to go for it. They are, overall, an excellent speaker. They are a bit weak on the low end; would probabaly perform better with a sub. I don't believe in subs, so I am sometimes disappointed with the bass. Also, the drums lack definition on material where they are not prominant in the mix; they sound a bit muddy. But, put against the overall sound of the speaker, they are small critcisms. They really sound like $2000 speakers. My value rating is based on being able to buy them for around $350 each.

Similar Products Used: Bose 901; Harman Kardon pre-amp and amp; Technics CD player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dennis Baldwin   Audio Enthusiast [May 14, 2001]
Strength:

Clear sound, crisp base, life-like reproduction using home theatre

Weakness:

Flimsy Grill

I have had these speakers for about 6 months and I am still amazed at what they can do. Listening to Journeys greatest hits is awesome. I would highly reccomend these for home theatre use also. I am looking to upgrade my A/V reciever soon.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robb   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2000]
Strength:

Great mid and high end sound.
Very clean and crisp response.

Weakness:

Sub control behind grille.
Not wired for separate mid and sub inputs.

Powered by Kenwood VR-3090.
Great sound for the price (I got mine on uBid for $07 each).
Modern, sleek look.
The bass may be a little weak due to the small size of the subs but I'm not a big bass fan anyway.
These are a must purchase if you can get them for under $350 each.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mick Scott   Audiophile [Sep 08, 2000]
Strength:

Sounds very well, not like cans like the most people say. Even when the speakers aren't placed in a corner the bass sounds very well, when you have a wooden floor the bass rolls over the floor. By the way, are the most people def or something like that. It seems not to be normal when you are pumping the volume up till 10 when you have neighboors next door.

Weakness:

Clicking when the power is off.

When you can affort a Overture 1 en 2, you buy a copple of good speakers. One of the best in his class.

Similar Products Used: I listened to a lot of speakers in a good store with good drooling stuff but the Infinity are one of the best of the allround class. I got now no a whole range of infinity's Overture 1 and 2 plus the frontspeaker. And it sounds great, music or video and dvd. Always splendid and clear sounds.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris B.   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 20, 2001]
Strength:

Sound, and appearance

Weakness:

Not made any more

I was just blown away when I listened to these speakers. I owned a pair of Bose 301s for about seven years, and really became accustomed to their sound. I never realized how much of the audio frequency spectrum i was truly missing. Its like going to a concert in person after having only listened to your favorite music on the radio. The clarity of voices, and individual instruments is amazing. I personally cannot tell that the sound of these speakers is "colored" in any way. They're loud too. These things just sing when you pour on the power. I'm driving them with a JVC 9010, 120W/ch. They'll overload the amp, and show *NO* signs of distortion. If you get the opportunity to buy them. Do so. You'll never look back...

I got these used, their previous owner brought them back on Circuit City's upgrade plan. What a sucker. ;-)

Similar Products Used: None. I had some Bose 301s, but they hardly compare.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brad   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 24, 2000]
Strength:

Absolutely uncanny mids and highs. Great clean slender look for floor speaks when placed in a room. No distortion when playing at high levels for extending periods. Very clean crisp bass when placed in a corner.

Weakness:

Subwoofer control not conveniently located. Cheap wiring. Speakers are no longer in production.

Fantastic speaker for the price. I would choose this speakers over any others in their price range and past to $1,000/per. A little soft on the bass, if you are a big bass fan. I picked up my on ubid for $347/each. + shipping. If you can buy these for under $600/each. you would missing out if you didn't.

Others tested: Polk, JBL, Bose (all sucked. Overpriced), Boston Acustics., Infinity Reference.

Overtures best bag for the buck!

Similar Products Used: Receiver: Onkyo 838
Center: Infinity CC3
Sub: Infinity HPS 500
Surrounds: Bose AM5
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com