Infinity Systems Kappa 7.1 series 2 Floorstanding Speakers

Infinity Systems Kappa 7.1 series 2 Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Feb 17, 2019]
Kappa man


Strength:

Review for the Infinity Kappa 7.1 Series II. This speaker is just awesome, is one of the very best speakers under $2000 The highs are clean, soft and precise. The mids are beautifull, due to the kappa Polydome the voices are incredible detailled. Basically everything from 500hz to 36000hz is rich an adjustable by turning up and down two knobs, each one per device (tweeter and midrange), you can adjust + or - 2db i believe. The bass is beyond the word "potent". In my room i need no sub in order to increase the bass, thanks partially the crossover and the woofer itself, it can drive even to 39hz! amplified by the type of room you have. The design gives it a plus... always that i bring friends to listen to music they tell me that the baffles are bautifull, in sound and design. The crossover has very good design and construction, having at least four Polypropilene capacitors, sweeting the mids and highs even more. Also, there's a music that match this kind of audophile baffles, and that's Vangelis. Listening Vangelis whith the Kappa 7.1 it's beyond words

Weakness:

Ok, weaknesses: the great Emit-R tweeter (Electromagnetic Inducted Tweeter-Radial) tends to crack or even blow itself if you turn the volume up to 100db (what a shame). It's ultra delicate. The kappa Polydome tends to crack with time, depending on temperature, use, humidity and other things, but first the diaphragm becomes yellow and dusty (ugly). The IMG Woofer, like in any speaker, its surround foam tends to break or to stiffen, making the movement harsh and the sound a bit synthetic. The parts of the crossover, like in any baffle, tends to get ruined by the passing of time. Lacks a litlle bit of Midbass, imho. The sensitivity of this speaker is 89db at 2.8Volts at 1 meter, that means 87.5db at 1Watt at 1 meter (very poor sensitivity). With 250 watts in RMS (few amplifiers give that much power, and mostly its amplifications are bad [refering to pro amplifiers] and those who do not, cost an eye and half the other) can give 110.3db approx at maximum volume level before all the entire baffle blows up (The Emit-R blows with less volume) That's too few volume for such a great speaker, designed by Cary Christie (Co-founder of Infinity) All in all i higly recommend that if you have a pair of such beauties, accompany with an amplifier worthy of them, an audiophile amp. I personally recommend the PS-Audio Stellar S-300, because it gives 220 watts (+ - 10%) at 6ohms and its reliability lies on Paul Mc-Gowan, pupile of Arnie Nudell, the man who designed all the devices of Infinity (The Emit-R, the Polydome, the Emim, L-Emim, the IMG Watkins Woofer, the Infinity IRS, etc)

Price Paid:
1700
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
1995
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 08, 2012]
Audiophile
AudioPhile

Infinity Kappa 7 speakers are OUTSTANDING. Best speaker I have ever owned. They embarrass anything sold out there today that is $2k (each) or less. Music is fantastic sounding on these speakers. The mids and highs are so outstanding you can hear every little sound/instrument. They are power hungry so they sound best with a HIGH CURRENT AMP. The more power/current you feed them, the better they sound. Just can't say enough good things about these speakers!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 10, 2010]
Power2Spare
Audio Enthusiast

This review is for the Kappa7. Awesome speaker that embarrasses the new Infinity speakers. Beats many of the so called high end speakers of nowadays. Nice smooth highs, good mids, and bass that you can feel. The more power you feed them, the better they sound. Good sound-stage and a 3d like sound. Only weakness (aside from being so power hungry) is the woofer surrounds that deteriorate every few years.

Strengths:
Terrific low end, Smooth highs, Furniture grade cabinets, huge siund-stage

Weaknesses
Tremendous appetite for power, woofer surrounds

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 17, 2008]
Chris
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound!

Weakness:

Big and my wife thinks they are ugly.

This is a review of the Kappa 7's not the 7.1. They sound great but my wife hates the look of them. She wants me to find a replacement. At first I thought..great chance to up grade until I started looking. So far I have not had much luck. They sound like Stevey Ray is playing in my room! Smooth mids and crystal clear highs. Once you get used to Emit-K's, no dome tweeter will sound good. The B&W's (683) I listed to sounded like a cheap box comparied to the Kappa 7's. I was not impressed. About the only thing to come close was Magnepan but then I would have to buy a sub because I could not affard the ones the produce good bass ($3500-11,000). The Kappa 7 has it all. Good bass clear natural sounding midrange and one of the best tweeters on the planet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 27, 2003]
John Kinnick
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very musical. You will feel a warm feeling but still has punch. Great for all music tasts extreme volumn.

Weakness:

Not quite enough speaker to blow out walls, but who would want to do that?

I use these great speakers for my rear with my surround sound system. I use the Kappa 9's for the front. These speakers would be fantastic for 99.9% of the people with high end equipment. They have a great neutral musical sound, but can handle the volumn of a suround sound system being driven by a McIntosh 7270 amplifier which has 270+ watts.

Similar Products Used:

The larger Kappa 9's for the front of my surround sound system.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 31, 2003]
Hans
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Warme diepe bas en goede plaatsing van de instumenten. Warm en zeer analoog klankbeeld. Warm and very analoque sound. Great sound stage. Dept of bass.

Weakness:

Soms mis ik wat midden gebied, maar ik denk dat dat aan mijn versterker ligt. In de winkel viel mij dat niet op. Sometimes a slightly lack of mid-range. (solved by a powerfull amplier i think). Need to be placed at least 2 feed of the wall

Ik heb de speaker (7.2)nu zo'n twee jaar. Als versterker gebruik ik een Rotel RA840 BX3. Verbazingwekkend is de stage van deze speaker. Ik ging eigenlijk voor de KEF Q6 en de Mission 780, maar de konden niet in de schaduw staan van de KAPPA 7.2. Wel denk ik een zwaardere versterker nodig te hebben. De Rotel heeft zelf al een diepe bas en dat overheerst soms nog extra op de Kappa. En eigenlijk moeten ze een flink eind van de muur af staan, maar ik heb dat opgelost door de basreflex poort te filteren. Ik denk niet dat er voor dit geld een mooiere speaker is. Ik wil er zekerr nog een paar bij hebben om in te zetten in een nog aan te schaffen home theater. Ik heb de nieuwe serie (600) gehoord, maar de viel erg tegen.

Similar Products Used:

Rotel RA-840BX3 (45W and 15 years old) Rotel RCD-971

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 27, 2002]
BillLloyd
AudioPhile

Strength:

The speakers "disappear" leaving you with simply the music source, including all the bass (with no "boom"). Best I've heard for opera, for example [no "edge"]. And a fine "sound-stage" to boot.

Weakness:

None, except that they require big power amps [mine are B & K Monoblocks].

I am TRYING to review the Infinity 7 Kappa speakers [acoustic suspension], NOT the later ported things. The 7 Kappa is one of the best, most musical speakers ever made. I've had them at least 10 years now, still great. Smooth across the audio spectrum, no shrillness, no boom. [Hint: Expensive fancy cables make no difference, folks! -- see old article by "Doc" Greiner, former chair of U.of Wis. Electical Engineering Dept., in ... Stereo Review?]

Similar Products Used:

AR-3a, AR-11, Altec "Segovias," others [nothing anywhere near as good as these!]

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2002]
Rich Steinberg
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean powerful sound!

Weakness:

A little too much bass for my taste.

The best of the best... these speakers are awesome!! I guess, you get what you pay for and @ 1/2 of what these speakers retailed for new, I am sooooo happy - Great VALUE! Great sound for listening to radio or CDs and especially music DVDs. Also, for wathing movies - sounds similar to surround. Highly recommend for under $1000 even if a few years old.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 25, 2000]
Rusel Barroso
Audiophile

Strength:

Give them a good amp and you will be amazed with "treble"

Weakness:

They can't be used in small rooms. Bass is very powerful.

Unfortunately "Infinity" isn't making so good products as before. Infinity lovers are claiming for something really high-end but with a possible price.

Similar Products Used:

Kappa 7.1i, B&Ws P6 and Matrix 805

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 30, 2001]
Steven Venter
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound, clarity, power, looks, build quality. Versatility.

Weakness:

None. Will reveal weaknesses in other equipment, and needs to be used in a fair-sized room, but that is not a weakness of the speaker.

I bought a pair of Kappa 70 speakers 2nd hand for R7000 (about R8 to the US dollar). They are still in excellent condition. I originally used them with a small Rotel integrated amp and they sounded pretty good, but not worth that amount of money. Next I bought a Sony STRDB930 AV amp and used them for music and Home Theater. I bi-wired the speakers and the improvement was quite dramatic. I was using them in a small room with bare walls and tiled floor, so the sound was a bit bright, probably also due to the poor cables. To cut a long story short, over time I have changed to using these purely for music, upgraded the listening area to a larger room with better acoustics. Also got hold of a decent Hi-fi stand, Audioquest Copperhead interconnects, Cable Talk speaker cable. Upgraded the source to a NAD C540 CD player, bi-amped the suckers with a Rotel RB981 (treble) and Rotel RB990 for bass, using an old Rotel RC971? pre-amp. My point is that with each upgrade I throw at these speakers, they just keep sounding better and better. I'm sure that I could spend huge amounts of money to upgrade my other equipment before I came close to reaching the limits of these fantastic speakers. The treble is clear, sweet and smooth. Mid-range is powerful but doesn't dominate, everything blends in beautifully. The bass is strong clear and punchy. I have heard better bass, but only from really expensive demo systems. Bass can be a problem in small rooms, but position them carefully and the 'problem' disappears. I recommend that these speakers be bi-amped, it really gives the Infinity's the space and power they crave. They throw a wide and deep soundstage, with excellent imaging and position. I cannot say enough good things about these speakers. Give them space, power and decent signals, and they sing!! I have really never heard anything close to them for the money. I have heard good things about the new Mission 782's etc. but can't as yet compare the two. The kappa's are a safe bet for anyone wanting to upgrade (in a big way) an entry-level system. Worth every sweat-soaked cent.

Similar Products Used:

Mission 704. Old AR bookshelf speakers. Mission 700.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com