Infinity Systems IL60 Floorstanding Speakers

IL60

video-shielded frequency response 28-22,000 Hz (±3dB) 8-ohm impedance sensitivity 89 dB handles up to 175 watts 500-watt subwoofer amp with adjustable Bass Optimization System vinyl finish

User Reviews (26)

Showing 1-10 of 26  
john bagley   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 23, 2016]

Bought my Infinity IL 60's in the solid pine cabinets from Ubid for 600 apiece ...love at first sight and marriage with the first note so to speak...just had to trade them for a ride one day and the guy certainly got the better deal...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
john   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 21, 2006]

the il60 is the best speakers i ever owned i had many speakers before even polks but the il60 is the best clear and crisp i also use denon 4802r reciver they realy rock

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 05, 2003]
Strength:

Sound, Looks

Weakness:

NONE

Two Words: ABSOLUTELY UNBELEIVEABLE!

Similar Products Used: Klipsch, Polk, Infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bruce M   AudioPhile [Dec 13, 2002]
Strength:

Great mid and highs ,lots of bass.very nice cherry finish

Weakness:

At times they do sound chesty with poor cd's.Not impressed with the feet seem a little flimsy for the size of these speaks

I have had these speakers for about a year,right out of the box they sound terrible,boomy.These speakers definitey require some tweaking and the rabos kit is a must,a very nice tool used to tame the bass.After taming these speakers and a decent amp they sound incredible very detailed highs and tight bass.I give them a 5 for ht and a 4 musically.At times they do sound a bit chesty as one reviewer put it. A steal for under a $1000.The rabos kit is a must if you want good bass response it takes into consideration the layout of the room they're in.Good luck trying to do it yourself.I will enjoy these speakers for a long while.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Deoxy   AudioPhile [Nov 28, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent Highs Excellent Mid's Excellent Bass

Weakness:

Very Very Very Heavy and stands out alot taking up space and turning your room into a sound lab. Overpriced!

Infinty's Interlude line of loudspeakers has proven to be a great comfort for the ears but a bit heavy on the wallet. This speaker sounds amazing in all ranges not just good in one and bad in the other. Infinity is known for its mid's and highs because of the CMMD drivers that it uses (unlike paper or cardboard for most). The the built in subwoofer in this speaker is the reason why it is so expensive . The built in CMMD subwoofer is about 600 dollars each just on their own not including the mids and highs. If you have the money than these are for you but for those with a lower budget should go with a pair of il-30's and for the bass just get a seperate subwoofer which will save you a lot of money and sound the same as the il-60's.

Similar Products Used: Bose 901, JBL, Cerwn Wega, B&W
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Adam Grace   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 25, 2002]
Strength:

They look great. The flame maple...ive gotten so many compliments. The bass is substantial. I really hate boomy bass from sub woofers and i kinda resent how everyone uses them and thinks they are gods gift...also...way to much cash for the Interlude sub...why pay that much...what are we supposed to be supporting Aerosmith's live concerts?

Weakness:

They are heavy, but i like heavy things i dunno, makes me feel like they are made well. but some people might not like that...but they are not hard to move, seriously, just a couple pounds.

I kinda feel bad reading what everyone paid for these...i picked mine up as floor models for 200 a pop. I had originally bought the il30s...but after 9 days, the tweeters stopped working and all I could hear were mids. So i took them back and all they had left were the 60's. I took them home and hooked them up to my sub par Sony HT reciever(which is soon to be replaced) They sounded amazing. The lows were great and all of the music was clear. I used them at my last party where i pretty much pushed them as loud as they would go with my amp and there was barely any distortion. Totally amazing speakers.

Similar Products Used: If you are looking for just a stereo system and not some under used HT set up that will break your wallet in two, then go get the IL60's. Those and a solid amp and that is all you will ever need to bu
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 02, 2002]
Strength:

great overall sound

Weakness:

a little bulky/heavy

this speaker is really nice, good choices for colors, and overall a beast of a speaker.

Similar Products Used: il36,il30,il50
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
arnd   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2002]
Weakness:

Quality problems with IL60's. Support from Infinity.

I heard the rumors that the speakers sold as 'refurbished' may have wiring problems, but too late: I allready bought 2 IL60's 2 IL50's. One of the 60's started to get very hot (Amp) after a short time, and the woofer stopped working. Yes, they are under warranty. But try to get these heavy speakers to a Infinity approved repair shop ... and wait: until now, they are gone 125 days and still not repaired - 'parts problems' at Infinity I was told.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Jarrod   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 10, 2002]
Strength:

Heavy, terrific highs, built in sub, brings out Home Theater

Weakness:

Not good for music, heavy, disappointing lows (haven't had them that long and still working on it)

I got these bad boys on ebay "cosmetically damaged" never used. For only a couple nicks and scratches (and everthing works perfectly) I got a terrific deal. Setting these things up is a pain because of their weight, but overall I am more than extremely pleased with their performance. These speakers are definately better for Home Theater as they just sound too hollow for music, IMO. But since I'm using them 95% of the time for HT, I'm extremely pleased. I am a little disappointed in the bass, but I haven't messed too much with the Bass Optimization yet, and I'm confident it will get better as I get use to fine tuning it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
kcooke   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 26, 2002]
Strength:

Before bidding I listened to them at Circuit City (they were listed at $2000 there but they guy offered them to me for $1400). I thought they were powerful, clean, and a great bang for your buck now a days online . Let's see what happens when I set them up.

Weakness:

$2998 original MSRP...

I haven't received the speakers yet, just curious about the other prices people have paid, such as Steve. $658 is without shipping. Shipping cost me $154.95. Has anyone beat this price? I'll be able to sleep at night if someone was just as lucky as me...because what I paid is still damn cheap for some sweet speaks. I have a feeling that Ubid bought out Inifinity's Interlude line for dirt cheap prices so Infinity can make room for the new line coming out. They were advertised as refurbished, but I have my doubts, as did another poster who bought Infinity's.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com