Infinity Systems IL10 Floorstanding Speakers

Infinity Systems IL10 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

2 way bookshelf loudspeaker using CMMD cones

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 58  
[Aug 01, 2019]
my3sons90


Strength:

Clean natural sounding speakers, make music sound like music. Crisp highs, natural vocals decent bass for a speaker their size. I've had mine since 2003, with a pair of Il 50s and Il25c. Powered by a Carver av705x , 125w channel and a Rotel RTC 965 pre amp processor. Having good electronics driving these speakers is a must. At one point I even bi-amplified the IL10 using 4 channels of the Carver. 250w per speaker and they sounded great.

Weakness:

As part of a music or theater system need a sub , but otherwise have performed flawlessly for 16 years and I wouldn't trade them.

Price Paid:
175
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 05, 2015]
blazeaglory
Audio Enthusiast

I just want to add another GREAT review for these speakers...

First, I want to say I have owned and listened to MANY home and car audio systems. I know what sounds good and what doesnt. I know distortion when I hear it. I know crappy equipment when I hear it. Anyways, I know everyone thinks they know what they are doing but they dont, myself included (in my youth anyways but now I KNOW what I am doing ;-) haha

So with that said, these speakers are very good. You put the right wattage/amp to them and they will sound AWESOME. I do not know all the technical blah bi di blah but I do know what a good system sounds like and these speakers paired with my DENON 3805 hit hard (for 6.5 inch woofers) and the highs are amazing. Mids are ok. These speakers "bang" lol

I bought these speakers along with the center IL25c and the pair of IL40 towers a Velodyne CHT12 and a DENON 3805. All for a low price that I will not mention because it will upset some people (under $100)

I didnt even hook up the towers, I just hooked up the center and bookshelves and I was blown away. Right now I am pushing them with 120 watts(each) and I cannot get them to cut out or distort and that is with rock and roll, hip hop, classical, house, etc...They can handle much more I would guess. They sound better than the towers but I am thinking that the towers are just really under powered because if the bookshelves sound this good than the towers should sound amazing with another 50w per channel on top of the 120w.

Anyways, I just want to let people know that these speakers, the IL10, matched with the right amp, at least 120 watts, setup correct and certain distance from the wall, they will sound better than you could imagine. You just have to power them with enough juice. They are rated to 150 SO DO THE MATH.

I would pay $200 or more for these (pair) all day. Just dont complain if you use an amp that you "think" is powerful but really isnt and you dont get great sound. At least 120w-175w and you will be blown away.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 14, 2009]
superfastkyle
Audio Enthusiast

These are amazing speakers. They are more capable speakers than most people will ever need. Right now they can be found on ebay for around $150 or less so they are a bargain. Bass is great and tight as long as you don't shove them up against the wall. The midrange on these is very accurate. I've used these for home theater and music listening. When I was living with a roommate, constantly she was answering the phone or looking out the window, because she heard a telephone ring or fire/police siren coming out of these speakers. These probably won't sound good with a cheap $100 surround receiver. The better amp the more they come alive. If your trying to save bucks I'd buy an old marantz 22xx series and prepare to be amazed. Also get some good speaker stands

Now the con for these speakers. If you are a serious listener you will find they have a small sweet spot left/right. They also should not be on too high of stands.. For ideal sound these speakers should be at minimum 1 foot away from the wall. Otherwise they sound boomy. A large listening room will be prefereble. I find 9-10 feet away from speakers gives the best imaging means your looking at probably at least a 15ft long room. Now all that said this is the ideal situation for music listening. Home theater is a little more forgiving because of the center channel

if you happen to be disappointed in these speakers MOVE them it will make all the difference. Stereo Review (I believe) did an article on these and compared them to much more expensive speakers and gave very good review.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 19, 2007]
Lovin these speakers
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

flat response

Weakness:

none for 20 bucks

I just got these speakers and I just love them... that's right folks, tell me if you can get speakers of this quality for less than 20 bucks.... all of you people that want to gripe about them, think of those who would not be able to afford even this quality! I absolutely love these speakers! I love the higs and the mids and the lows. they are in balance with each other. good flat response.

Similar Products Used:

roland studio monitors

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 18, 2003]
Jeff
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Jazz Blues great sound range

Weakness:

thin speaker grill but can order replacements fact. direct

great speak one of the best bookshelfs for the money very detailed sound . has a goo low level for being a book shelf . great finish . Once broken in sounds even better ....

Similar Products Used:

Polk RTI38 book shelf

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 08, 2003]
James K
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

These speakers feel pretty heavy duty.. and I think the way they are designed (being extra deep for their size) gives them their strong bass.. Great high's as well and gold plater connectors..

Weakness:

I'm not an audiophile perfectionist who needs to hear the 60million-hz sounds that dont even exist, So these speakers LACK a weakness.. Sorry.. if anything i'd have to say i wish they were cheaper so i could buy more for surround..

I bought these at circuit city a while ago, I was supposed to pay 175 a peice but for some reason he had rang them up at 150 a peice so i paid a total of 300.. Anyways I spent a few days reading reviews and trying out speakers.. after returning some BOSE that were just too big for my desk, I ended up with these.. The thing that struck me so well about them was the NICE bass response they had in the store, we fired up some dvd movies (like SW episode one) and the bass response during the pod racing scene was very rumbly and great.. I dont know if its becuase they were up against the walls or not, but i have them up near my walls too, and the bass is FANTASTIC.. I recently come to learn your receiver plays a large part in this.. I have them hooked up to an old vintage fisher 180 receiver.. (this receiver puts out a strong warm fat bassy signal) coming from my sb audigy 2.. I get really really great bass.. No sub woofer here.. not needed.. i almost have too much bass as it is.. These speakers really punch.. you just gotta use the right receiver.. I am super happy with these speakers and have never looked back.. The highs are perfect mids are great and bass is fantastic! I listen to alot of rock (new and old) and watch DVD movies on my computer as well as record music (these make excellent moniters for me too!) and games.. Perfect speakers for my desk.. I like the nice finish too..(the ones i have are have more of a heavey WOOD feeling to the wood they had another set there that were more vynilly-plasticy like..

Similar Products Used:

I tried the BOSE something or other model bookshelf speakers they were larger than this and i gotta say the BOSE were just like BASS And treble, these are nice mids and trebles with very very nice bas

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 19, 2003]
krazycar
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

solid build quality.beautiful to look at.excelent frequency responce.

Weakness:

maybe could be a little more eficient.

i have owned these speakers for about 1 year now so this is a perfect time for a review.let me first say that i am a person who gets the upgrade bug all the time changing speakers and components frequently.now that i own the infinity IL 10 they are here to stay.people should wait for atleast 50 hours of breakin before rating these speakers as they have the cmmd cones.once the speakers break in the sound is downright excelent.frequency responce is almost ruler flat except for the lower octaves from about 45 hz and below.this is a bookshelf speaker so no one should expect it to play the lower frequencies like a subwoofer.the midbass is awesome and the speed is great the treble is smooth, but maybe a tad bright, but by no means edgy.the vocals are spot on acurate.i listen to both music and ht and the infinitys are great at doing both.

Similar Products Used:

polk audio,boston acoustics,ads,klipshe,jbl, etc..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 22, 2003]
palsgraff
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear, detailed mid range and highs. Nice styling and apparent good build quality.

Weakness:

None of consequence.

I have been using these IL10s in a stereo only setup with a Harman Kardan 3370 receiver and an Acoustic Research 10" subwoofer. They replaced a pair of Wharfedale Sapphire 83 speakers, which were slightly larger, but had the same size drivers. So that is the frame of reference. I have noticed an improvement in the mid and high ranges. The sound is very tight. Some would call it bright, but that implies fatiguing, which I don't think would be a fair description of these speakers. "Detailed" would probably be a better, and more complimentary description. Modern jazz, and acoustim music seem to be the best suited to these speakers. Bass is adequate, but no more than one would expect from a small two-way speaker. Overall, I have been pleased with the performance for this price point.

Similar Products Used:

Wharfedale and Klipsch

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 31, 2003]
benchhammer
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

the build quality seems pretty good.

Weakness:

sound is never quite seamless.

the price shown included shipping from ubid. i'm real happy i didn't pay retail since i don't think they're worth it. i am so puzzled by the reviews here. these speakers have a lack of midrange. the highs are not clean. the bass is pretty fair in depth but not all that defined. i know tastes differ, but unless you are strictly a jazz fan. stay clear of these. vocals are never quite right on these. i have a good amp, and bi-wired them with omc. mine will go in the box and collect dust.

Similar Products Used:

klipsch,paradigm,ar,jbl,polk audio

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 13, 2003]
evangelosk
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

-Soft, clear and warm sound -Not "harsh" highs, but definitely pesent and clear -Excellent Mids -Good+ bass for bookshelf (if close to wall) -Great imaging, speakers sounds bigger than its size

Weakness:

Well, bass is good but not "enough." Is this a weakness for bookshelf?

I bought the IL10 to go as front speakers in my Home Theater setup, but I wanted a pair that would do exeptionally in music (stereo) too. I am happy I went with the IL10. Awesome speakers, "soft and warm" sound (which is what I like), and if placed close to the wall, full bodied sound too. I have combined them with a Polk Audio sub too which complements the IL10's sound perfectly. IL15c is used as center channel, and it matches the speakers perfectly too. One piece of advice: Use bi-wiring! I am serious, the highs will improve vastly! (I use monster cable, Amp. is Onkyo 787).

Similar Products Used:

Polk Audio

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 58  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com