Infinity Systems Compositions Overture 1 Floorstanding Speakers

Infinity Systems Compositions Overture 1 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

3 way spkr/powered sub.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 64  
[Dec 29, 2016]
Musicman
Audio Enthusiast

I have used these Infinity "Overture " 1 for more than two years. After reading the posts I have to (very willing) move them. They are currently used as front stereo powered by a Luxman M-02
Very good sound, I wish I could get another pair at the same price ( Goodwill-$90 ).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 05, 2014]
Rick Turner
Audio Enthusiast

I bought these new back when they first came out in 98-99 I guess. Sadly, the divorce decree gave them to my former wife. The good news is that I have liberated them from a life of rust, it came at a heavy price, but I wont get into that. I bought a pair of Klipsch RB-61's, but there is no way they compare, even today after 15 years of use. The point I'm trying to make here is that that these speakers made me get back into my love affair with music and sound. You can buy these for a song today at around $200 a piece and that may sound pricey for 15 year old speakers, but just give them a listen.
The only challenge is the subwoofer and distance to a reflective wall. These really need to be placed no less than 3 ft from a solid wall to reap the full benefits of the 30 Hz they are capable of delivering from the 150w Amp. You really don't need a sup with these.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 2010]
bill
Audio Enthusiast

i was given the over 1 by a friend.let me tell you these are fantastic.i replaced a pair of sonus Faber with these,and I'm impressed with how well they sound.they don't sound as good ,but they hold up well.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 22, 2009]
Figaro
AudioPhile

I bought these when they first came out. They are extremely precise speakers which is why they are so heavy. The magnets and drivers are outstanding. Hi Fi magazine published the result of side by side lab tests for the Infinity Overture series 1,2 &3s . The 1's actually tested and sounded better than the more expensive 2 & 3s. These speakers were so good that they left audio techs scratching their heads trying to figure out why. One theory is that your room becomes the speaker enclosure when these are positioned at room corners 3 feet from each wall. With very precise amps, connects and room placement these will make great sources sound real, good sources sound great and average sources sound good. Infinity stopped production of the Overture series because the 1's were so good, and because of a design flaw in the powered woofer circuitry. Infinity was repairing the woofer shut off circuit for retail customers. Apparently the woofer would shut off after 3 minutes if the bass level stayed below a set threshold. For classical music lovers it was the kiss of death. The repair was warrantied and changed the shut off time to 15 minutes. Without the repair these speakers could be very annoying. The ones selling cheap on EBay are the unmodified speakers. These are the best speakers I have ever heard. for the money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 14, 2003]
lakers
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great Highs good Mids very good bass for 8 inch subs.

Weakness:

The only weakness I have to complain about is I wished the powercord was a little longer for the powered subs but that is only my opinion.

I have used the overture1 for less than a month. And I am very pleased with them. I have been useing them with a proton D1200 amplifier,and NAD preamp. I have owned many different brands of stereo speakers,such as Klipsch Bells,Polk Audio SDA-2A monitors,Bose 601s and 301s Klipsch KG 2.5,Realistic Shure Concert speakers, Peaveys, and currently have a set of Infinity RS-10s that are wonderful.I will get on with the overture1 now,I bought these from ebay for $450.00 and was completely blown away with the volume and sound for a speaker the size of the ovtr they have great Highs very good bass for a powered 8 inch sub the Mid,s are very good but not as good as the RS-10 if you are looking for a great speaker that you can use for Home theater fronts,rears,or for center channel look no farther I thank you will be pleased with these,For any price under $800.00 dollars a set.

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch,polk,sony,denon,pioneer,infinity rs-10,infinity cc-3,proton,nad,kenwood,jvc,and bose

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 1997]
Robert Poole
an Audiophile

As a follow-up to my previous review of the Compositions Overture 1, I discovered that setup is everything. I found a store which had a much better setup featuring the Overtures. Soundstaging was a lot better; it seems that spacing them farther apart and angling them more (i.e., toeing them in more) makes a huge difference.I also listened to them attached to a high-end Onkyo preamp/power-amp combo, and to my Rotel 970 integrated amp. These little speakers really sing! And they're incredible sensitive -- even modest volume settings make them play really loud. A 40 Wpc integrated amp would be just fine powering these.
I haven't noticed any nasty cabinet resonances. It's as dead as anything I've seen made from MDF.
All in all, I'd heartily recommend them. Make sure, though, that you use shielded speaker cables with them if possible, and plug them into a clean outlet, preferably on a power line conditioner. (They have powered subwoofers built in to them.) Also, when handling them, be careful: these speakers are much heavier than they appear! Aside from these caveats, any amp will love them because they present a fairly even 8 Ohm load (never drops below 6, Infinity claims).
If you want a compact bookshelf (1/3 cubic foot), look no further!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[Jan 19, 2000]
Orson Bradford
Casual Listener

I use these as the back speakers in a 5 channel stereo system (Denon AVR-2800 receiver) to round out the sound of my front speakers, B&W 602 S2's. I have a small, square, brick apartment with a high ceiling, so the bass tends to resonate. I solved the problem by padding the wall behind the OVTR-1s and facing the powered bass driver UP instead of to the side. I don't really have anything to compare them to as back speakers. I didn't audition any others, I liked these so much at first listen. Yes it is slightly annoying when I put on some music after they have switched to low energy mode and a couple of seconds into the music they come on with an audible 'pop'. It saves power. I can live with it.

I had to return my first set the same day I bought them because one blew out immediately, with sparks and black smoke! This gave me some doubts about their quality but my second set have been fine for 5 months, now. They were missing a pair of their plastic feet though. Sloppy packaging.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 28, 2000]
matt g

Strength:

size, and everything that comes with it. Great response for the size too. Just don't over-drive the woofer.

Weakness:

Remember, use these with a Sub. Without one, you just ruined you Infinities. They are getting harder to find too.

Provided you know how to use these speakers, they are awesome. Set them up with a nice sub from Infinity, Velodyne, or your favorite brand, get positioning spot on, and you are in musical or cinematic heaven

Similar Products Used:

JBL, Klipsch, Polk, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 22, 2000]
Todd
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound quality, versatilty, nice price..AWESOME performance overall.

Weakness:

a little sharp on some types of music. Bass is nice in certain range, past that somewhat muddy.

I bought a pair of Overture-1's as an open-box demo from Circuit City as a replacement to my really cumbersome floor standing speakrs with 12" woofers and they more than fit the bill. These speakers are not only compact, but feature a much, MUCH better sound than the predessors I owned. They sound even better on my Sony 777ES reciever than my Onkyo 575. I have auditionedmany speakers, but as far as price goes these are some of the better. There are two things I do not like about them..1) The sound is a bit too sharp for me on some music and 2) the side-firing woofer gets muddy when played too hard on really low stuff. I fixed the second problem bvy turning the bass control almost all the way down and added a nice FSR12 Velodyne Sub. I love the fact that they are small, which means less movement, especially since I am both in the military and in school. I just won an auction for another Overture-1, which I will use as my CC. Anyone know where I can purchase more of these awesome speakers?? Please feel free to e-mail me with any questions regarding these speakers, more speakers available, or my system which is as follows:

Sony 777ES reciever
Nakamichi 5-disc
Sony 530 DVD
(2) Overture-1's as fronts and one more on the way as CC
FSR-12 Velodyne Subwoofer (servo controlled)
Monster Cable Powercenter HTS 3500 line conditioner/surge
All Monster Cable connections.


Todd

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 14, 2000]
lee welstead
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Compact size

Weakness:

Side firing woofer limits placemant adjacent to obsticals

Excellent value at price paid ($550/pr). Very nice large sound, compact design. Must choose location to accomadate the side firing woofer. Also have bass leave response controls on rear. The speakers accept bananna plugs on rear. The power cord is another wire that you must hide. The bottom line is you can't loose at the closeout prices.

Similar Products Used:

I have owned many pairs of Infinity bbokshelf and floor standing speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 64  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com